We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked to stay at this hotel for our wedding weekend; my husband stayed the night before and we both stayed the night of our wedding. There is no doubt that the hotel is a lovely building in beautiful grounds but we were disappointed by the service.

The staff members were polite but the level of customer service was not what we had expected from a hotel of this quality. There was a certain feeling of rules not customer comes first, for example, the morning of our wedding my husband and his best man arrived for breakfast 15 minutes before it was due to finish to be told that they were too late - apparently the kitchen was busy because of the show they had on that day. They then asked a waiter if they could have a G&T to ease their pre-wedding nerves to be told that it wasn’t that waiters job to serve drinks & to go to the bar. They went to the bar but there was no-one to been seen; over half an hour later they were served with a drink. The day after our wedding as we were packing up our wedding clothes, presents etc we received a phonecall telling us that we were late checking out (by 5 minutes), we said that we were just packing & would be down in a couple of minutes, only to be reminded that we were already late for check out.

Obviously none of these are major issues, and if we had been staying at an “ordinary” hotel I wouldn’t have been so disappointed. However, for the real sting in the tail… I left comments similar to the above on the card provided in the room, imagine my surprise when I received a letter a week or so ago thanking me for my kind comments and saying how glad the management were that we had enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JobethUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 998 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a night in Sept 2012. Arrived a little early as wanted to enjoy the grounds, managed a quick walk before the heavens opened - ouldn't have picked a worse weekend!! The grounds are beautiful an am sure are even more delightful when the sun is shining. We had a light lunch in the lounge and then checked in. We had a garden room which was absolutely tranquil and relaxing couldn't have asked for more. Spotlesssly clean and a pleasure to stay. We dined i n the orangery where the food was delicious. Breakfast is wonderful, everything you could ask for. Next time we are going to book into the Wordsworth for our evening meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constructive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want to experience the luxury and ambiance of country house living, this is a good place to do it. "House" is probably the wrong word, as the place is very large. Parkland setting is wonderful (although you need a car) and the on-ground theatre is splendid. Nothing negative that we can say about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I visit and stay at this beautiful hotel about 12 times per year and have nothing but praise for this lovely hotel which as soon as you walk through the door has the perfect ambiance of a large freindly country house. The staff are always very obliging. the food is excellent . The total deco and furnishings, including the bedrooms are of the higest standard. The hotel has a theatre in the woods and produce "west end " quality shows and to book on of these packages, including meal and overnight accommodation is a fantastic experience. We come to every production and would not miss them . Also extrmely good value for money. It is a privately owned hotel and the love and dedication of the owners definately resonates throughout the hotel

Room Tip: They are all large and well furnished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireRatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had never been to Kilworth House before, primarily because it's absolutely in the middle of nowhere and only accessible by taxi to those without a car. However, a friend kindly drove me there and we went to see The Sound of Music. As we arrived before the theatre doors were open, we went to the hotel for a drink in the lounge (we would have dined there, but they were fully booked), which was very pleasant indeed and we were served by friendly staff, although they could have been slightly more attentive. The drinks were at usual hotel prices, which were not excessive. The theatre was nice and as we were sitting in the middle of the row, the canopy kept us dry in the pouring rain (we were glad not to be sitting on the uncovered ends f rows though). The actors weren't so lucky, as not all the stage was covered by the canopy, so was wet at the edges when it rained (how nobody had an accident was a miracle) and they must have got soaked when making entrances and exits across the open parkland. The production was nicely staged, and well performed by some great actors, supported by local kids and amateurs, though it seemed to have been staged more for the look of the show, lacking feeling and emotional depth in places from the leads when telling the story. The set and production values were far from West End, but weren't village hall either. The seats were described on the website as comfortable, which they were for the first hour of each act, but then got increasingly bum-numbing (perhaps this is a theatre for short shows only?). The leg room however was very spacious - more business class than economy! It gets very cold, so make sure you take suitable warm layers to put on as the evening progresses. Altogether an enjoyable evening, but much of me wished the theatre had been in Meditteranean climes, rather than a cold, rainy village during the Great British summer!

Room Tip: Sit as far in towards the middle of the rows as you can and avoid the front few rows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thestayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've just got back from Kilworth house hotel, and I've got to say it was absolutely brilliant from the minute we walked in, from the staff being very attentive, food was delicious, show ( Sound of Music) was brilliant , it brought a tear to a glass eye, just to say thanks once again Kilworth, oh got to mention we stayed in The Tennerson room fandabby- dosy, it's a must, see u soon Kilworth.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bignel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, absolutely everything was atrocious ... the service, cleanliness, rooms. This hotel is ONLY interested in weddings.. DO NOT GO unless you are part of a wedding as they will treat you like an inconvenience and overcharge you. ALWAYS check your bill as they often overcharge. DO NOT stay if a wedding is taking place. Actually I wouldn't recommend that anyone stays there at all. Before writing this review I spoke at length to the GM about my complaints but they really don't care. Biggest waste of money ever. Go somewhere like Cliveden instead..at least its clean and they care about hospitality. In fact a holiday would provide better service.

Room Tip: dont stay there, there is no privacy as housekeeping come in whenever they want and you are woken up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilworthHouseHotel, General Manager at Kilworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I was extremely sorry to read your recent review.
I have not spoken to you regarding your stay as stated in your comments. If you would like to discuss your visit then I would be very pleased to talk to you about it.
I hope that you will take the time to phone me to enable a two way communication of your stay.
Elizabeth Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kilworth
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
12.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,064 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
16.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilworth House Hotel

Address: Lutterworth Road | North Kilworth, North Kilworth LE17 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > North Kilworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kilworth
Price Range: $181 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilworth House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Four Red Star Country House Hotel set in 38 acres of rural Leicestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from J20 M1. A grade II listed house with two unique features- the stunning award winning Theatre set in a wooded glade beside the lake and the Hotel's ornate Victorian Orangery overlooking the parkland. Guests are invited to enjoy the opportunity to enjoy the delightful details of the fine period rooms together with the modern comforts and amenities. At the end of the tree lined approach you are welcomed by the graceful surroundings. It's natural timeless elegance draws in a broad range of business and leisure guests who come for the modern conference facilities, beauty treatment rooms, and fitness room:for the forty four charming bedrooms , private dining rooms and imaginative menus. Attentive staff, country walks and individuality make Kilworth House feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilworth Hotel North
Kilworth House Hotel North Kilworth, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing