We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor all round”
Review of Harboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harboro Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The outside of this establishment is the same as the inside ,food was very basic and was poor quality, service was poor, struggle to get to the bar, bar had some customers that were not very sociable, will not bother again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cheap and cheerful.

Could do with a major refit upstairs, but bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Had a little difficulty in getting the temperature right on the (aged) shower, but it was ok in the end. No hairdryer that I could find.

Would stay again if I was in the area

Room Tip: I had a quiet room at the back (118)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandieCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This little hotel is situated near the station in Melton Mowbray. Comfortable bar with sports on the TV if you fancy that and a lovely little restaurant with more formal seating.

Food was excellent, homely pub fare, great portions and keen prices. Service fast and friendly, perfect!

If you're looking for a great pub lunch spot this will do the job nicely ;0)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Largescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had an enjoyable and comfortable overnight stay at Harboro Hotel. The location is fantastic, a few mins walk from train station and central for central sights of Melton Mowbary. Check in and out was simple, and staff friendly. Rooms are basic yet comfortable, and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, TV and large bed. Bathroom had a good hot shower. The attached bar was a good place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkonline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

have had a short stay here for the past 3 years, although the hotel & decor is "dated" the location is spot on, and i have found the staff very friendly. good value, and good location within the town center. okay you ain't gonna find any "bells and whistles", but the overall experiance for us has been very enjoyable. i will be coming back to stay again this summer for a few days, and am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewardrobemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent serviee, they are very pleasant. Rooms are dated but very comfortable. Good value with no frills, my kind of place.
They gave me good directions to places of interest and let me use the free carpark all day even though I had booked out. Other hotels in the area are twice the price. You can have a perfectly good stay here as long as you live in the real world

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchell o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First things first: how on earth is this hotel still in business?! It has clearly never been updated/re-furnished since before I was born, and upon entering you feel like you have somehow been transported to the early 80s. The bathroom was murky green and the carpet was dusty brown with lingering old man grey hairs. The skirting boards were splattered in tea and coffee stains that had possibly been there since 1995. The room smelt of fusty old age pensioners. However the worst thing of all was the headboard, which was clearly once bought white in the mid 80s. It had 2 big brown patches from countless customers heads from the past however many decades. It was so gross I couldn't bear to look at it and had to cover it up with a towel.

Good points? I guess the room was cheap but for around £55 a night, I still think it was complete rip off due to the fact it was so grim. Downstairs there is a pub area which some deranged/desperate couple were holding their wedding reception in. I hope to God they hadn't booked the hotel for their first night of married life. Unfortunately you don't know exactly what you've let yourself in for until you've paid, agreed to have the breakfast and walked up to view the room. The whole place needs gutting and the owners clearly need to retire, get some standards and realise their hotel is a complete and utter DIVE. There are hostels a hundred times better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.7 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
0.5 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
984 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
#1 of 1 in Thrussington
53 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#20 of 41 in Leicester
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harboro Hotel

Address: 49 Burton Street, Melton Mowbray LE13 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harboro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Harboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing