We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The deal that was not such a deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scalford Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
s.south yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The deal that was not such a deal”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked the hotel on a 2014 deal that I received via an Email having previously stay twice before and leaving my contact details ,the deal was £20.14 for a one night stay b&b for two people + a meal deal rate of £20 p/p three courses. With such an offer we decided to book 3 rooms and go there as it was my sister 60th birthday. All is fine with the hotel the staff brilliant the young Portuguese waitress is very attentive an absolute gem and so are the others I would not want to pull any of them down . In the newly built section the walls and ceiling are a bit thin and you wouldn't be the first to think that the people in the upper floor were about to join you on the lower all that said the rooms are clean warm and adequate for a short stay or long one for that matter. The problem that I have is the price that I got stung on top of my deal rate. Which was £15 extra per night for a 2yr old in a travel cot in the same room and the same for a 4yr old in a fold up bed in one of the other rooms + £10 each child for the evening meal now lets face it the 2yr old had a sausage a few chips and ice cream hardly £10 the 4yr old a burger and ice cream again £10 but in one of our rooms my sisters she was the only adult as she had took her two grandchildren the meal rate was £20 for one of them but he only ordered from the children's menu . When I queried this with the helpful receptionist who kept going to see the faceless manager who you would have thought after having the receptionist nip backwards and forwards several times would have come out to address my problems but no such luck in a summary two adult could stay b&b for £20.14 but an extra fold up bed & travel cot cost each room £15 per night 50% more than an adult in short the 2 adults in the room with a 3 course meal deal paid £80.28 the other 2 rooms paid £110 each for the privilege of having a travel cot and a fold away bed and an adult meal price the best bit none of this extra cost was mention at the time of booking or in the confirmation Email food was expected to be extra but not a child's meal at adult price and not £10 for toddlers we had looked at the Easter egg hunt deal but I am a bit cautious about it as to what hidden costs may be lurking which is a shame really because that was our third visit and it put a bit of a black cloud over the 60th treat. I spoke to a mature gentleman whilst the receptionist was with the manager he told me that the new owners were taking over on the Friday and some changes would be taking place I would like to make a suggestion look after your kitchen and waitresses they are an asset and give your management a lesson on how to get up and see if the by showing their face when a customer has been at the reception desk 20 minutes with a problem a speedier result could be found instead of the customer leaving broken and unhappy. For the extra £80 we could have had another room for 2night and 2 adult meals I tried doing the maths on site but they weren't having it hence THE DEAL NOT SUCH A DEAL so beware if you take children now you know make sure you get the cost of children up front out of them

Room Tip: If you get put in the new section and can manage stairs go for it or you will be looking up thinking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogetgofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    226
    155
    83
    92
See reviews for
114
379
7
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Location is country and I would suggest approaching from Melton mowbray centre rather than cross country. Reception is a desk in a shared office and very much like attending an interview, the evening menu being dispayed on a A board in the same office. The room I had was in an annexe which was an adventure trying to find and involved several corridors, stairs and a walk across an open yard. Not a problem to myself but should you be lacking mobility then this probably is not the place for you. It does seem that rooms have been squeezed in every available space, I guess for the corporate team building days and even the receptionist joked that bunk beds may be next. Room was clean, with tea/coffee facilities, shower. Heating was interesting,, radiators were hot on arrival but obviously the heating is on a time switch somewhere as by the time I had gone out to eat and returned late evening the room was cold. Warm again in the morning . Breakfast was included and offered a very good selection, The breakfast staff were helpful and attentive and there was a good atmosphere in the breakfast room.. All in value for money yes I wuld stop again but I know what to expect next time.

Room Tip: If they are available then in the main building saves one hell of a hike. Lifts did not seem to exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't say it was incredibly excellent but served it purpose for a night as I grabbed it on a late deal, travelling down from Liverpool to Spalding.
It has a retro feel as many would love it i.e. Manual room keys, individual radiators etc etc. It is indeed set in the countryside and a bit of a trek to find it although with lovely grounds, a huge building with several rooms.
Only downside I found was how difficult it was to find my room 76 and then no signs on the walls as to how to get back to the reception or the main bar area. I found a couple of mid aged women in the same situation as me in the morning struggling to find their way to the breakfast hall. We followed and helped each other until we found the BF hall travelling through various rooms and opening doors. Mind you if you have a bit of a luggage then this could be a difficult task.
Breakfast was ok, served it purpose with a good selection.
Staff were good and friendly.
If you are used to staying in modern hotel rooms then this is totally different but in a better way.
It's a mixed bag!! definitely worth a 4star review.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DesiB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

stayed 3 nights.friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in Cottesmore wing.nice room and clean.buffet breakfast hot and a filling start to the day. Out of town but with lovely grounds and countryside.would return. Had dinner on 2 nights good service and cooked well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel has great potential but it lets itself down with minor issues. Set in the middle of the countryside with pleasant views it had great potential. We booked at a very reasonable rate for the weekend and were allocated room 30. When we entered our room we were surprised how cold it was even though the radiator was full on and then how small the bed was for a double. This room was quite large compared to the average, but very poorly laid out. The desk dressing table at one end the mirror at the other, the bed central with only one table lamp, and a wardrobe that was not deep enough to hang your clothes straight.on the rail. Our bed was very small and the minimum width for a double and unbelievable spongy.so much so that we found ourselves meeting in the middle for more reasons than space ! Why have such a small bed when the room could easily accommodate a king or a queen size. On the plus side, the room was very clean, tidy and of a reasonable decor.
Breakfast was super, full english available with great bacon, but let down by the poor quality sausages. Finally the foyer area was sparse and uninviting and there was no information available on the local area, attractions etc.
So to conclude, a clean hotel, good value for money but let down by the bed and the poor room planning,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large bed if you need a double!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t16tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend break at Scalford Hall. A beautiful old building, fantastic staff and a lovely good sized room with a beautiful view of the gardens! Would highly recommend a stay here, granted its not the Ritz but its historic building, the grounds and staff more than make up for this! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalford_GM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at our hotel.

It is always pleasing to receive such a positive review of Scalford Hall, and I am glad that you had a lovely weekend.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Scalford Hall again soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed one night but could easily have stayed longer thanks to the wonderful setting and lovely features of this historic building. Yes it is a bit tired in places and the shower cubicle was tiny and bordering on dangerous due to the high step but the rooms are clean and well presented overall.
I have never stayed in a room so HOT!!! but to be fair the radiators doe have thermostats so you can turn it down if you want.
The roaring log fire is great and a walk around the grounds is a nice way to unwind after a busy week. Breakfast was superb, a good quality full English based on a buffet so you could eat as much as you liked.
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, although the new owner has big plans so it can only get even better!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalford_GM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear NBD1966,

Thank you for your review following your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.5 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
2.7 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
245 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
224 reviews
11.8 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#4 of 7 in Grantham
869 reviews
13.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalford Hall Hotel

Property: Scalford Hall Hotel
Address: Scalford Road, Melton Mowbray LE14 4UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalford Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scalford Hall cater for weddings and have a range of set packages along with the option to create a tailor made package just for you. We also hold a civil ceremony and civil partnership licence, enabling you to hold both your ceremony and reception here at Scalford Hall Hotel. Here at Scalford Hall Hotel we also have our very own Gym and Games Room, which is free of charge exclusively for residents. Scalford Hall Hotel has 80 bedrooms, 9 meeting rooms, 10 syndicate rooms and large event room catering for up to 500 guests. In addition there are 2 private dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Scalford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalford Hall Hotel Melton Mowbray
Scalford Hall Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing