We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Six Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Six Hills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

What a grim place. Cobwebs on the ceiling in the bedroom, mould covering the bathroom walls, ceiling and window frames. Couldn't turn the hot tap off which meant it ran all night resulting in a horrible mouldy smell. Filthy walls and carpets. Didn't want to unpack and left my clothes in my bag for the 2 days. Hair dryer didn't work. On the plus side, sheets were clean and the bed, although had clearly seen better days was actually comfortable for me. My dealings with the staff were all good and much of the grimness of the hotel wasn't attributed to them but to dreadful management. Ghastly place - wouldn't touch it again with a barge pole.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bee003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    27
    25
    46
See reviews for
15
35
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

this has to be the most unfriendly biker place in the buisness.

Staff pushing one of my friends, abusing my friends and then covering up and lying when I attempted to resolve this situation in the morning.

We had arranged to stop, carried out the traditional bikers minute silence (as agreed by managment) to then be verbally abused and threatened.

My advice stay away

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shooeysbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melton Mowbray hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Rude, obnoxious, arrogant, Un-friendly and disrespectful are words that only just begin to explain how bad this place is, the owner will not remain so for very long if he continues to behave in the manner we experienced at the weekend, he will go out business due to lack of customers.
Also to lie when we complained and the staff to spout the lies is clearly not the way to run a hospitality business, amazing that these people believe this is customer service.
Stay well clear of this place and tell everyone you know exactly the same.

Room Tip: go somewher else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kemittheflyingbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel owner was very rude and very agressive, he had a six year old girl in floods of tears after physically assaulting her mother who was trying to calm a situation where he (the owner) was 'squaring up' to a customer and threatening violence.
You have seen Fawlty Towers on TV - Basil Fawlty does not even compare to this hotel owner.
!!!AVOID!!! !!!AVOID!!! !!!AVOID!!! !!!AVOID!!! !!!AVOID!!! !!!AVOID!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank screamsbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Decided not to stay here after reading reviews on TA however this was the venue for our conference so attended during the day. The satff were very friendly & helpful, all food/drinks were served hot, fresh & on time. The hotel is somewhat dated but plenty of car parking & ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

I stayed at Six Hills having been unable to get into the Best Western nearby. I wish I had slept in my car!! Staff at reception were friendly enough, but got to my room to find it small, in serious need of re-decoration, paint peeling off the window frame, hard bed, only 1 small towel... but worst of all was the smell, it smelt of stale cigarettes and damp!!
The clue should have been the fact that the large car park only had 3 cars ( probably staff ) Went to the bar at 9pm and it was completely deserted. Went to bed, but was kept awake by the sound of rushing water.......... Breakfast was awful and served in a smelly bar with chipbaord on the floor. All this for £65!!! The whole place was tired and should really be closed. Don't stay there.... you have been warned.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SurreyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesstershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Don't expect anything upmarket here. For £55 a night it is VERY basic to say the least, a half decent bed in a small room and a tiny tv in the far corner, (which only had 4 channels), a tap on the bath did not stop dripping the whole time I was there. luckily I only used the room to sleep in and didn't really care if the bed was comfy or not as I'd had a few to drink, talking of which, with the cost of drinks here you should be drinking from crystal the prices were ridiculas, almost £7 for two drinks, thats the prices of London not a small Leicestershire town. The chef was given the day off when I was there so no-one could get any food on the Saturday after upto 4 hours of travelling! In the breakfast hall on the Sunday morning there was still chips on the floor and no food was served throughout the Saturday so they had been there for at least 48 hours!!! As for the breaky itself, it wasn't really worth the extra £5 per person that I paid, (1 small peice of bacon, 1 tomato, 1 sausage,and a few luke warm beans), and the tea is terrible, but the were at least generous with the toast.

On the up side though, the function room we used was of a good size, our room was clean and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k3vpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.6 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
6.9 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Hills Hotel

Property: Six Hills Hotel
Address: Fosse Way | Six Hills, Melton Mowbray LE14 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Six Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Six Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing