We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filoxenia”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melton Mowbray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Ranked #14 of 14 Melton Mowbray B&B and Inns
Coventry
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Filoxenia”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I use the Greek word because the English 'hospitality' doesn't do justice to the warmth and friendliness of the Kings Arms. We only stayed for one night to meet friends who live locally, but we could not have been made more welcome. We stayed in the Paddock View room which was lovely and had everything you could wish for. It's quite small, but then this is a village pub! The bed is large and comfortable and the towels are the thickest I've ever seen.
Mark's food is seriously good, fabulous flavours nicely presented and at a reasonable price. Everything is homemade and delicious.
The service at dinner from the young waiters was polite, friendly and efficient, and Mark personally made sure that we had everything we needed at breakfast.
We had drinks before and after dinner in the Snug, and it was just that, warm and friendly with a good selection of drinks.
We had such a lovely time, we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Called in to the Pub on Saturday evening October 12th for a hopefully relaxing drink.... walking in to the Lounge area it was soon apparent that Michael and Mark the Publicans were not in residence. We ordered respective drinks and had no sooner sat down than foul language was coming from the bar and the passage adjacent the Lounge area thick and fast......we are not prudes but it isn't very pleasant to listen to men using four letter words constantly in their conversation and getting louder and louder so we decided to down our drinks quickly and leave. The barmaid must have taken an earful of all this because she came over to us and asked if we had any Paracetamol and when we mentioned the language her comment was "I think they are going into town soon"........so if you don't want to listen to 'gutter language' make sure you visit when the owners are at home as it is a lovely relaxing atmosphere when the house is in order.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Arms S, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We can only apologise unreservedly for what you experienced in our absence.

Both Mark & I are absolutely mortified by the events that unfolded on in our absence. We have spent the last 7 years creating a cosy & welcoming (to all) country pub, we work tirelessly on our food, accommodation & bar, to the extent that we only actually have 1 holiday a year. Whilst we are away we do not serve food for two reasons; one being to have the kitchen & equipment serviced and secondly, we do not wish for Marks reputation for food to be jeopardised by a stand-in chef. We never thought that whilst we were away our reputation as a cosy, welcoming country pub would be brought into question. We thank you for your feedback and we will now be reviewing what happens to the pub in our absence, and appreciate that you recognise that this is not how The Kings Arms is run 51 weeks of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent two nights at the Kings Arms with my wife and I sharing the Double and my Daughters the Twin. The furnishings and décor are of excellent quality and both rooms have a modern en-suite bathroom. An excellent Breakfast is included in the rate. Michael and Mark are most welcoming and helpful hosts, and Jonjo and the other locals give the place a real Village quality. The extensively stocked bar boasts three real ales plus everything else you could wish for. The lunch and dinner menus exceed expectations in terms of both variety and quality although despite Michael's appearance on Come Dine With Me, it is Mark who does the cooking!

An excellent covered seating area outside caters for al fresco diners, drinkers, and smokers.

Highly recommended and looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The Twin and the Double are the only rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lederz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the night at the Kings Arms recently and to say we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement! Both Michael and Mark were excellent hosts, they looked after us wonderfully and made us both feel extremely welcome. The room was lovely, and the quality of the breakfast was superb. All in all, we loved our stay and would happily return when we visit Melton again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_Lashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Thank you to all at the Kings Arms , lovely food very reasonable prices , good service , very friendly staff, I had the two course meal at £10.95 a slow cooked shin of beef that melted in your mouth with mashed potatoes and a nice selection of veg, and a gorgeous white choc brownie with rasp meringue ice cream ,really nice night out ,I will be back:))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyeastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Well, from the street nothing is really particular about this village pub. But good surprises start to come up as soon as you pass the narrow access that leads to the ample rear car park. We passed along the garden and noticed the very nice tables and chairs that are displayed there: They are not very common furniture for a pub; they are very inviting and bring a classy touch to the beer garden. We are just here for a night in the bed and breakfast and while checking in, I note that the place is nicely decorated and that attention to details is omnipresent. Various antique tables and chairs seem to have been gathered with attention. They are all different style but they fit perfectly with the little corner they are in. My wife and I booked straight on, a table for the night in the pub based on the only good impression that the inside suggests.
Bedroom now: Mark, one of the owners, showed us to our room. The landing is even nicer than the restaurant and various brochures for local attractions are displayed there. And the bedroom is all new and absolutely lovely despite its small size. Lovely furniture, wall paper, nice coffee tray, king size bed etc... Everything here is made to bring pleasure to the eye. The en-suite has a big size rectangular shower stray and good quality 8mm glass shower enclosure (I've got something similar home, so I noticed!) after the shower you can wrap yourself in a super thick/hyper sized bath sheets without mentioning that there are two bath robes of the same material hung behind the main door! Better than most of the big hotels I've been in!!!
Coming down we met Michael the other owner at the bar for a drink before diner. During the conversation we learned that the B&B accommodation is new and lots of works are planned to bring the local Inn back to its former glory.
Diner now: I took the freshly made soup that was delicious and I note with surprise that the bread is baked on the premises!!! Missus goes for the goat cheese and beetroot salad and stayed silent while eating (very rare) so I suppose it was good. I've been unable to fully finish the very tender rib eye steak despite a strong appetite. Missus gave back an empty plate that was containing the aubergine and tomato bake. We unfortunately stored the red wine in our stomach, instead of our memory. So we gave the empty bottle back and forgot the name of it. Followed by a nice evening talking parachuting with other pub members (Langar airfield and skydive school is only 7 miles away)
Not a noise from the pub during the night I cannot tell you if it was still open or not.
Breakfast was served in a quiet dining room on this Sunday morning. We chose 2 generous English breakfasts freshly cooked to order that finished that stay with a high note. Everything was brilliant at a more than honest price (under £120 evening drinks, room and dinner plus wine). Inferior quality hotels are more expensive than that! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Only one room at the moment so book in advance!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melton Mowbray hotels
0.8 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
0.2 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Noels Arms
#11 of 14 in Melton Mowbray
3 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grange Country House
Grange Country House
#5 of 14 in Melton Mowbray
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 7 King Street | Scalford, Melton Mowbray LE14 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing