We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sysonby Knoll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find. Chose this hotel from a leaflet we had seen and we liked the four posters! On arrival we were shown to our room which was refurbished last year...wonderful. The view from the room took in the gardens and beyond. A drink and reading a book in the garden for an hour or so was very relaxing. Having already had a large lunch elsewhere, we were happy to have the lasagne and ploughmans....good value although the restaurant felt lonely..... Breakfast was just enough and the honey (made on the premises) was first rate. The staff could not have been friendlier and neither of us wanted to leave to go into Leicester for a business meeting. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thevtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    99
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
66
161
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First impressions were not particularly good! The hotel is right by the roadside and this rather surprised me as I'd expected it to be more secluded. My executive room was disappointing - it was very tired looking and in need of an urgent refurbishment. The bathroom too wasn't good. However the rest of the hotel was very well maintained and luxuriously furnished. The restaurant had a good menu and the food was excellent. The gardens were lovely and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our return, after over 30 years, to Melton and I only booked last minute.The ground floor room we had was dark,i.e. lacking in light, but when I mentioned it the receptionist coudn't have been more helpful and showed me the 2 other available rooms left and the room we changed to was bright and comfortable. The outside space at the back is lovely - a well kept and customer friendly garden with some lovely views, and plenty of seating space.Food quality was good, with excellent friendly service from start to finish. All staff went out of their way to be helpful and cheerful and we had a smashing stay.We will go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have lovely views out over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location for Melton Mowbray; the hotel is 5 minutes from the centre. Very friendly and helpful staff with great service. Excellent dining menu and value for lovely food. Nice views from the garden completing a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a week of great comfort and friendly service. Lovely rooms, and the setting of the hotel is stunning. My daughters really enjoyed the garden games. Many thanks to the staff for making us welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting.
Gardens were lovely with lots of seating areas.
Hotel was a little dated but was clean and the staff were very friendly.
Cooked breakfast was very good.
Very good value as our stay included a cooked breakfast and borrowing a meeting room.
Our room was up and down lots of corridors etc and so might not suit someone not too good on their feet, but i'm sure the hotel would be able to offer an alternative room.

Room Tip: Some of our colleagues has great showers - ours was a little trickle and so best to ask for a refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrekHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really clean friendly

Okay so not boutique but who cares a really lovely setting

Tip make sure you get to the breakfast early if you want fresh fruit

Overall a lovely place we were going to a BBQ next time we will have dinner there food sounds amazing

Well done to the family

H Essens

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshyashby365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
11.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sysonby Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Property: Best Western Sysonby Knoll Hotel
Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sysonby Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sysonby Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing