We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies who lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Epworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ladies who lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

5 of us stayed at Sysonby Knoll as part of the 'gourmet experience' offerered by 'go Leicestershire'. The staff were excellent, incredibly polite and helpful. They took care of our purchases from the pork pie shoppe and responded to our requests for tea and coffee promptly. The hotel is a nice comfortable place to be and some of us are already planning our return - this time with our 'other halves' !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    94
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
63
155
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here after hearing some good things! I heard the scenery was beautiful and placed a stones throw from the rural town, with friendly staff. I was not let down one bit, very friendly people. Peter I think his name was gave me a fantastic insight into meltdowns history, if you got some spare time on your hands listen to this guy talk with passion! I digress, the rooms were lovely and what a remarkable view. Thankyou!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djemba-djembaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

lovely hotel with nice grounds and although I was only staying for one night and didn't use restaurant I could tell the food was good and the restaurant was popular, the location is only 10 to 15 minutes walk from Melton Mowbray town centre.
I would like to give a special mention to 'Pete' who apart from being excellent at his job, delivered customer service above and beyond his call of duty when I needed assistance,
many thanks Pete

Room Tip: most rooms overlook the courtyard but there are a couple of four poster rooms looking over the lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

First of all, we went here with a small dog, after checking first that dogs were allowed, which is debateable, as I will explain later. We arrived at the hotel, to find that there has been some very clever photography going on with regards to how the hotel appears. The hotel is actually on a main road opposite a large council estate, and does not really look very appealing from the road, more like a chain hotel type appearance. The old building is actually to the rear, over looking a grass meadow, but nothing special. We checked in and the reception come bar was very well decorated and very plush, spotlessly clean, so we thought we had chosen very well by first appearance. The receptionist took us to our room at £100. The room was very small, and to be honest not mush better than such as a premier inn, just better decorated. The paint work was scuffed and paint work patchy, looking out over some tatty trellis and wheelie bins. Breakfast, was literally one sausage, one egg, one hash brown, two bacon and 32 baked beans, I am a grown man, and frankly expect more for £100. But, regarding the dog; dogs are not allowed in the room where breakfast is served, fine so I will leave the dog in the room. No this is not allowed either. So are dogs allowed or not? We ended up having breakfast away from everyone else, on a low sofa, very hard to eat. If dogs are allowed, they should be allowed in the breakfast room, no question, or at least to be left in the room. None of these were possible, so I wish they just had a no dog policy, and we could have gone elsewhere. To sum up, the room was very over priced, I have had a lot better for around the £70 mark, where I think our room should have been, and it was not like the price came from the location of the hotel, the surroundings were just normal, and the hotel happened to have a nice garden. The dog policy wants sorting, they are either allowed in full, or not........... I would like breakfast with my dog, which I was told was allowed at the hotel, and breakfast was part of the £100. I expect more once talking £100 for b&b.

Room Tip: The £100 rooms are not of £100 standard. Very small. Scuffed walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestRiding1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had our first baby four months ago and were looking for a place near my family's home for a place for a dry run of life in a holiday environment, away from home. I was a bit disappointed that it wasn't in the historic centre of Melton, but the upside was 1. stunning views over the countryside from a beautifully-kept garden, 2. easy parking and 3. no noise to keep the baby awake.

As for the hotel itself, our room (no.3, if you're interested) had the most amazing 4-poster bed, so high that you had a (beautifully polished) pedestal to help you get into it. It also had a very spacious bathroom, all immaculately kept. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, and breakfast, while nothing spectacular, didn't disappoint. The service was warm, friendly and efficient throughout.

I would recommend this place even at its full price. As we got one of their special deals, it was terrific value for money. Hats off!

Room Tip: As noted - Room 3 for the monster 4-poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nofixedabodeuntilnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely setting for a hotel. Just 15-20 min walk from Melton Mowbray town centre, the perfect position for a quiet escape. Very pleasant staff and wonderful restaurant. Breakfast, timely service which was perfect for me having limited time before going to work. I had a lovely evening meal, very generous portions which was far too much for me but would be great for a hungry guy. There is a beautiful garden to the rear with views over the grazing field. The room had everything I might need, including free wifi! Homely decor which is true to the slightly olde worlde essence of the hotel. Overall a very enjoyable visit, entirely suitable for a business trip and I will be visiting again very soon! Thank you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We met up with family at Melton Mowbray for the "Taste Leicestershire", and staying at Sysonby Knoll Hotel completed a great weekend. The hotel was convenient and comfortable, the (standard) room had everything we needed (clean and well-decorated), and the staff were extremely helpful. Dinner was excellent, and the breakfast was delicious. The garden and the views from the restaurant were lovely. We would recommend the experience and the hotel. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu7Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
12.1 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing