We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise birthday night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A surprise birthday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Even before we arrived I new that it was a family run business, only because everybody was so friendly and helpful to organises my night.
From walking in the front door, our room was amazing, lovely furniture and views,
The evening meal was lush steak .lovely choice of wine,
And even if your forgetful and leave your jacket behind, you get it back :-)
Definitely would stay again. Many thanks

Room Tip: First class
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sysonby_Knoll, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. We do pride ourselves on being a true independant friendly family run hotel. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    94
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
63
155
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

There was a lovely warm welcome at reception. The staff were very helpful and cheery. Which is Our four poster bedroom was stunning with beautiful views out the back. Breakfast in the morning was great. Would definatly recommend staying here :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Location - Roadside location, although not a main road. About 10 mins walk from Melton centre. £4 taxi ride from rail station.

Room - I was in the annex which contains about 6 rooms. I had a small double for single occupancy, a perfect size for one but would have been a little squashed for 2. Comfortable bed and large bath/shower room. Very clean and warm.The decor is a little dated being of the dark wood, maroon walls, variety. Although the room faced onto the road the double glazing eliminated road noise. An iron and ironing board in the room which was very useful.

Food- Lovely cooked breakfasts and the usual juice, cereals, etc. Served very promptly and cheerily in a restaurant overlooking the gardens. I had an evening meal one night which was tasty and good value. The restaurant appears to be well-used by non-residents, always a good sign.

Staff - All very approachable and friendly from the reception to the cleaning staff.

Public areas - Lots of space to sit with a drink in the bar/restaurant area overlooking the gardens.

I was travelling alone and never felt uncomfortable in the hotel bar or restaurant. This is a family run establishment which has obviously been extended over the years. The decor in the annex was a little dark and sombre but the public areas are much lighter and brighter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chooks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with two well behaved dogs and were made really welcome, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was amazing, great choice of menu and fast efficient service.
Room was great and although we initially had concerns about the noise from the road - there was none.
Room was bright and clean. Dogs were made welcome in all areas except food area's and really enjoyed their stay, even down to room cleaners arranging their toys in their dog beds!
Fantastic - would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've stayed at the Sysonby Knoll Hotel three times now on business...ranging from 1 night to 4 night stretches. Location is great - easy to find with big secure carpark, and despite being close to the road, not at all noisy. Best things are the friendly, family run service, clean rooms, great breakfasts served at lightening speed, and the amazing home made honey (mentioned by other reviewers, but definitely warrants another plug!). It's a 3 star hotel, therefore it's no over fancy, but as a business traveller, things such as free wi-fi are invaluable, as well as feeling really safe as a lone female. There's been many enhancements to the lounge decor over the past few weeks I've stayed there - so perhaps previous visitors who commented on the decor would now be pleasantly surprised! Shower in the one of the rooms I've used is a little fiddly to get power / temperature ratio right, and I would like a decent hairdryer in the room....but overall, it's great value for money, and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonBSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful family run hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful even had breakfast in our room. The room was very nicely decorated and very clean, I'm very particular about bathrooms but this one was great. One of the nights we ate in the hotel and again it was excellent with a good choice. Nothing too fancy just good wholesome food, great. Lovely gardens with views across the fields. This really is the best hotel to stay at in Melton and we would recommend it highly to anyone. Will be staying again in the future. Lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My dad is temporarily in a wheelchair, so as novice wheelchair propellers it is amazing how many obstacles you find. However the wheelchair friendly bedroom in the annexe (31) was ideal. Dad had his first bath in weeks. The staff were friendly and helped whenever we needed. Check in was smooth and easy, as was checkout. We arrived home to an answer phone message about the items we had forgotten. A huge thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MultitaskingGlamMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
12.1 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing