We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptiuos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dove Cottage Tea Room

Dove Cottage Tea Room
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Collingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scrumptiuos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Visited yesterday and had the best afternoon tea. Sandwiches, scones with cream & jam & cake all with as much tea you could drink. The staff are very friendly and jovial. It is next to the Grantham to Nottingham Canal which unfortunately is not in use but you can take walk next to it. The proceeds from the tea room and the charity shop, which is upstairs, go towards the up keep of the Hospice

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I don't where to start! As I walked in I was greeted by two smiley volunteers. I then ordered a jacket potato thinking its going to be bog standard 5 minutes later I was met by a jacket potato that had a beautiful salad and amazing tuna mayo on top. I then put with my younger sibling to play in the park we went up and down on the zip wire and then had a noisy in the vegetable patch. Me and my brother went to the ice cream cooler and took an ice cream each and walked along the canal with a magnum and a mr milk defiantly worth going.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommallender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little gem in the Heart of the Vale of Belvior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This delightful little tea room is a welcome site if you are a walker or cyclist. There is a cosy atmosphere and delightful welcome from the volunteers who work there, the proceeds from the tea room and the wonderful charity shop upstairs go towards the upkeep of the Hospice which lies a few yards down the lane

The home made soup was delicious and I could not resist the freshly baked scones, the food was fresh and nicely served. A lovely place to visit but leave plenty of time you won't want to leave in a hurry. There is also a play area and seating outside, so hopefully when the sun really shines I will take advantage of the wonderful setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Friendly Tea Room in lovely setting with lots of charitable goods on offer for sale. Tasty snacks (not the cheapest) but tasty and good. Always a nice atmosphere. I visit often.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dalbystorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chill time out with the children at play - or simply go with your partner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We're local and do the half-hour walk from Plungar across the Granby canal to this venue with the children - or sometimes simply the hubby. Great play area for the kids whilst I gossip with my sister or read the paper with pat. we all love a rummage around the charity shop upstairs too. double bonus is that proceeds go to charity.

Lunches are sandwiches and snacks in the main but you can get hot lite-bites ... you can get an english scone tea too! Also they catered when we were there for wheat-free.

Only draw back is the time of opening - so check them before you go ... it closed around 4pm from recollection and hot lunches stopped prompt at 2pm.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Cottage Tea Room also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 

Been to Dove Cottage Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing