We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food Great Staff”
Review of La Torre

La Torre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor Food Great Staff”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very friendly welcome and pretty good service, but very disappointing food. Fish and meat was overcooked.
Disappointing as could have been so much better.
Great atmosphere as was busy all night, but food did not live up to expectations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrekHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    81
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just turned up and although it was busy, we only had to wait 10 mins or so. Good service and food, very reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Leicestershire”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are regular visitors to La Torre and always have an absolutely brilliant meal. Every visit here is guaranteed good food. This is definitely an authentic Italian with staff that have great knowledge about the food and wine that they serve. I think that the best thing on the menu is the fillet steak, wrapped in parma ham and covered in dolcelatte cheese - its not cheap but well worth it. The cheesecake and chocolate torte are also always amazing - and come it big brilliant portions!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolly_M1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian taste in Melton Mowbray”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed an early evening dinner at this genuine Italian restaurant. It's very popular so became 'busy' very quickly. And noisy. As with many restaurants nowadays, the decor is made of hard surfaces all of which reflect sound to amazing levels.

The service was good; it seems churlish to suggest it was almost too attentive. There was a regular stream of waiters / waitresses asking us if we were happy with the meal; it all became a bit much!

The food was beautifully prepared and extremely tasty. There was also the right amount of it!!

It seemed a little pricy though this probably reflects the La Torre ambition. One tip - don't bother with a Group-On offer. There are so many exceptions, you would be hard pressed to have a full meal based on it eg 'sea food' is not included.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredPittwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asfordby
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Living in the Melton area there is not alot of choice of eateries in the town. You either have Indian Chinese or 2 Italian restaurants an Italian cafe which serves meals on weekend evenings and an english restaurant serving steaks etc. But La Torre beats the lot hands down. Even if we had other places to eat they would have to go some to beat it. The food is cooked nicely, theres a good choice, its reasonably priced and the service is excellent. Its just the right size with the right atmosphere. 6 of us ate there the other night for the wifes birthday and we all had a great night. When I say there is a good choice, you could say too much choice, I struggled to decide what I wanted. If you are in Melton looking for somewhere to eat then La Torre should be you first port of call, but bear in mind its popularity so you may need to book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsfordbyVillagefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Torre also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 

Been to La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing