We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special Cabins”
Review of Eye Kettleby Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melton Mowbray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eye Kettleby Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First of all these are very special log cabins, superbly built good enough to live in with all the comforts you would require to live from day to day. But there is so much more, a sauna, a shower that you can control from your bedside that beeps you when it is at exactly the temperature you wish. A hot tub, screened for privacy and ready for use the moment you arrive. There are chocolates or fruit and a bottle of champagne on arrival too! Oh did I mention the four poster bed, or a bed big enough for ... well however many you want, they are huge.
The ideal place to relax and do nothing much. Technology wise there is a big TV, another one in the bedroom, a dvd player, hifi, a free DVD lending library in the reception with the latest DVD's ,games, cards, books.
If you do want to go out, this site was originally built for fishing so there are 6 (I think) fishing lakes and you can actually fish from the veranda of some of the cabins.
The surrounding area is good for day trips or walks some lovely little villages nearby and also Rutland Water is quite close which is great for walks or cycling. Plenty to fill a short break or a lazy week, but really the reason to go is just to relax and this place is perfect for that.
We have been three times over three years now and will definitely go again. As with everything there are some niggles; to me it's about time they invested in wifi for the cabins, you sometimes hear the bird scarers in adjacent fields, but hey that's about it - honest. And the people that run the place, very laid back, very helpful and just plain nice hard working people. If you can book a break here do so, although they are almost always full.

Room Tip: All the lodges are very special, just book whatever is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 399 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

An excellent place for a get-together - we had three lodges between us, each with a hot tub. We were only there for a long weekend, but used the hot tubs 5 or 6 times. Each lodge's hot tub is privately screened, and lodges are orientated for maximum privacy, whilst the site still feels very open. Very comfortable lodges. Lots to see and do in the area. I have rated the hot tubs as 'swimming pool'. No children's activities: this is an adults-only party. We were there to celebrate the 18th birthday of the youngest member of our family! I am not sure, though, why Eye Kettleby Lakes is listed on Trip Advisor under 'Hotels' - I spent ages trying to find it under 'Holiday Rental', which is where I expected to find it. Service would have been excellent, if the cleaners hadn't been driving up and down the site from 9am onwards, waiting for people to leave (checkout time is 10.30am); we felt as if we were in the way.

Room Tip: Go for a lodge overlooking the lake if possible; we had the largest lodge, which is set back from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Chestnut lodge. Everything was great from the moment we arrived. The hot tub was a dream, and the lodge itself very clean and spacious. This isn't just accommodation on a Fishery, its true luxury for all the family to enjoy.
Get yourself down there, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripspy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just arrived home from a long weekend staying in the holly lodge at eye kettelby lakes. Firstly the actual lake and lodge area is stunning it helped that there was a layer of snow around to help its cause but even when the snow was gone it was still a picturesque place. The lodge itself was lovely it was well equipped and a decent size and it was also stocked with all the necessities which was a nice touch, all the fittings and furnishings were of very good quality and we were even left a bottle of wine in the fridge. Then we move to the hot tub this was excellent it was large enough in size for 4 adults quite comfortably it was easily controllable and had a large cover to keep it clean when not in use. There is also a clubhouse on site which is open for breakfast and has a bar open and a small shop for some bits if you so need. If you are looking for relaxation a getaway from it all or even a fishing break i would highly recommend this place there is not a lot to do on site if you were taking children but it is a beautiful place for a relaxing break i would very much like to return in the future!

Room Tip: if you can get a property direct on the lake they are good for views and feeding the local wildlife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllesmerePortWav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Willow pet friendly lodge. This place is absolutley amazing. One of the best places we have ever stayed. Site just a perfect size with only 12 lodges. Hot tub amazing especially when the snow is coming down at night. All the little extra touches make it that little more special the wine in the fridge and treats for the dog. We have already booked up for next January and considering booking this november with our friends. Lovely place to walk the dog and have a real good chill. Great having gates on the decking so the dog can run free. Bar area good and free dvd rental which was good aswell. Melton Mowbray itself not very nice but was worth a visit for some pork pie. Cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love18WestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We (My Boyfriend, my sister and her husband) stayed in Cedar Lodge on 18th January for 3 nights.

Everything was perfect! Possibly the most snow we have had this winter fell on the way down there, but with the hot tub, and the full size sauna, we were more than happy to be snowed in for the 4 days.

"Checking in" was so easy, the keys were already in the lodge door waiting for us, so we just went to reception in the club house and let them know we had arrived, no forms to fill in, nothing, just so simple. As was checking out, same procedure, just left the keys in the door.

The 5 star lodge is just perfect for 2 couples, its the only one with 2 double bedrooms, both with huge comfy beds, an en suites from both bedrooms. Luxury touches to the lodge included a button next to the bed which starts the shower, and then it beeps when its up to temp!

There was a bottle of champagne chilling in the fridge, i think this is a feature of the five star lodges, also there was a pint of milk in the fridge, which we weren't expecting.

The kitchen is fully equiped with everything you would need for a weekend or week away, and there was also tea coffee sugar in the lodge.

The little hut in the garden has a patio heater, and outdoor lights, so this would be fab for a summers evening!

Entertainment includes a TV in both bedrooms, and in the lounge, all with free view. A wii, a DVD player, and a stereo with speakers in the sauna. There was also several books, and boardgames in the lodge, cluedo etc all fab, couldn't ask for much more.

The club house has dvd's and wii games to borrow, and free wifi.

All in all had a fab time and already working out a date we can all go back :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettyfeet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The caravan site was good. Overall well kept and tidy. The caravan had fresh towels and duvets, all very clean and up together. We had a lot of rain during our stay which did put a downer on the break, but that is just the risk you take when you holiday in the UK!
There is plenty do do and see in the surrounding area, although it may not be the best option for very young children

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
4.0 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
813 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
4.7 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
270 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eye Kettleby Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eye Kettleby Lakes

Address: Melton Mowbray LE14 2TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Melton Mowbray
Hotel Class:4 star — Eye Kettleby Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eye Kettleby Lakes is a family run fishery which has been running along side the farming business for over 11 years. We have 12 luxury self catering log cabins all with outdoor hot tubs and some with indoor saunas, which have been graded four and five star by visit Britain. Also, brand new to 2016, we have our adult-only luxury Glamping Pods, each with their own en-suites, kitchenettes and outside seating area with fire pits. An ideal retreat for the fishing enthusiast or couples just wanting some time to unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eye Kettleby Lakes Hotel Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing