We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak
Nearby Hotels
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
$89
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$84
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
$96
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Link Hotel(Loughborough)
$62
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Court(Loughborough)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
255
68
14
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
68
14
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroyal oaksharing platterfish piepuddingbelly porkbeer festivalsunday lunchham hockscallopsbooked a tablecooked to perfectionpie nightwalk in showerbrownieeast midlands airportlovely meal
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 347 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited for a Friday night away. What a brilliant little pub. Very nicely decorated and presented. A nice welcoming feel to it as soon as you enter.
We got shown to our room which was very pleasant, beautifully clean and by the looks of it only recently built. The bathroom/wet room was very nice, lacking a bath but thats no problem for us.
We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar area before our meal, the selection of cask ales, lagers, wines and spirits is good and pricing is pretty standard.
The food was really good, we had a sharing started with different cold continental meats all well presented on a flat bread, not usually my cup of tea but i would really recommend it!
For the main course i had the trio of lamb and my fiancé had a rump steak. My lamb was fantastic and the accompanying veg was beautiful. My fiancé's steak was good she tells me and came with really nice hand cut chips.
We didn't have room for a desert unfortunately.
The meal was reasonably priced given the quality and presentation of the food. I would thoroughly recommend this place for a meal or an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We live nearby this hotel/restaurant and have therefore never needed to stay there although we hear good things from those who have. The food is what takes us back there and it just keeps getting better. The attention to seasonal food and good presentation by the chef is admirable. We had the breadcrumbed soft boiled egg with new season asparagus spears - delicious and very attractive looking. That was followed by Hake on a bed of ham hock and a confit egg yolk - not a combination I would have thought would work but it was fabulous. The fish pie was chosen by others and went down a treat. We didn't have room for anything to follow! Very nice and friendly staff and no surprise that the restaurant is very busy even midweek. It follows the winning formula of offering good food, service and value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in April 2013. The hotel is in a beautiful location, and the rooms are great (huge bathroom/wet room) and everything was immaculately clean. All that you need is provided too - wifi, iron, hairdryer, kettle and free mineral water in the fridge. You can tell the owners make an effort to add those special touches to complete your stay.
We also ate in the restaurant and have to say that the food was utterly gorgeous. We had the antipasto sharing platter (divine) and then we both had the beef fillet (it was quite expensive but worth every single penny - absolutely delicious). Breakfast the next morning was fabulous too.
The last words have to go to the staff who provided great, friendly customer service from the second we arrived until checking out. Stayed in a Hilton last week and enjoyed this stay much more.
If you are in the area you must check this place out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with disabled access and the wet room was great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineandandy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went there today for Sunday lunch and it was absolutely amazing! We had the sharing roast platter and it was absolutely amazing,the meats,vegetables and trimmings were lovely and we couldn't fault a thing.The surroundings were lovely and staff very attentive,we will certainly be going there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A birthday meal with my family. Food delicious and really hot. We went for the early bird menu and real value for money. Service very good. The reason for very good and not excellent was due to the time waiting before our plates were collected, then having to wait again before asking if we wanted to see the dessert menu. Some people actually like to wait, but not for me. Staff very friendly and helpful. I recommend this restaurant and I will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews