We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good day out but not a great deal to do” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conkers

Conkers
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Good day out but not a great deal to do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We found we spent a lot of time wandering aimlessly trying to find places from the map that wasn't clear!

Animal show was good. Enchanted Forest was fun but beware of the holes in the floor. There is a mind the hole sign but as there is little to no lighting you can barely see it. There was so many kids racing around unsupervised it became hazardous so we left.

Many of the interactive displays were out of order too.

In a nutshell, I feel ripped off and we won't be going here again. I appreciate on a nice day there are some nice walks to be done but then again there are many free parks that offer this and would save you a small fortune.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank teggtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConkersAttraction, General Manager at Conkers, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience, children should be supervised at all times by their parents but unfortunately on some occasions that is not the case which causes discomfort for other visitors. I can assure you that we address this problem on a daily, weekly, monthly basis. Some of the responses that we receive from parents I can assure you are not the best but we will continue with the same policy of parents supervising their own children whatever the response we receive. We have had a complete new area put into our exhibits area and have been working constantly on the rest of the exhibits to ensure they are of s standard fitting the award winning centre that is Conkers.

Kind regards
Chris Sturdy
Regional General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    296
    182
    146
    90
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not bad but a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

we went as part of the stay, play explore pass and my partner said he would not have paid teh price for a family ticket. we had an alright day but then we are an outdoorsy family so are happy in the fields and trees and don't need to be entertained. However given that it was half term it would have been nice to have had the repairs done before the kids were off school, we were looking forward to canopy walk which was closed for repairs. We enjoyed the barefoot walk but three taps for cleaning dirty feet and one semi working drier was not a good end to it. We appreciate that the weather and time of year makes things difficult for an out door attraction. But as a family with two teens we got a little annoyed at the fact that despite the signs for the activity trail, which the boys really enjoyed, we were constantly having to wait for more ignorant parents to take their children who at times were not older than 3 over the obstacles. Teens don't often have the opportunity to have an attraction that caters for them, there is plenty of stuff there for younger children. If you are going to have an age limit, especially for health and safety reasons then you really need to have the staff there to enforce it. Also we had a meal at the waterside center, the food was lovely when it finally arrived and this is not a criticism of the frontline staff who are lovely but the food choices mean that people cannot just point to something and put it on a tray take it to a table and eat it. they are given a number and a member of staff has to wander round looking for them when it is ready. It has the potential to be an absolutely amazing day out with a couple of little changes but at the moment it is merely ok.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Meltom0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConkersAttraction, General Manager at Conkers, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. In regard to the canopy walk during the winter period we do carry out some essential maintenance work, I am pleased to say that work has now been completed on that section and is fully open. I am sure you agree this is only a very small part of a 120 acre site - I was please to hear that you enjoyed your food, unlike some other attractions we cook all food especially at waterside to order as it is the nature of the product we sell in that restaurant. In our other restaurants we do sell the usual fast food offering, we do appreciate all comments good and bad to help us strive to a better experience for our visitors and without true reviews like yours we would not be able to do this. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Chris Sturdy
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day out - StayPlayExplore deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visited today as part of the Stay Play Explore short break package. Really good activities which kept the girls occupied. Additional activities are available. Good value for money. #stayplayexplore

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trinj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConkersAttraction, General Manager at Conkers, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have many people that have used the Stay, Play Explore promotion and have enjoyed staying in the area and exploring all the things that are to offer. We hope to see you again soon at Conkers. Please check our website for forthcoming activities and events

Kind Regards
Chris Sturdy
Regional general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Groupon offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had great day out at Conkers, granted the weather played a big factor as if it had been raining we would have left much earlier. I would take own sandwiches and not bother with the restaurants, play area was good after a short train ride . kids happy , what more can you ask for?

Helpful?
1 Thank roobey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ConkersAttraction, General Manager at Conkers, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, Groupon has been a fantastic success for us with many people taking advantage of the annual membership passes available. We hope to see you again soon, check out our website for all future activities and events.

Kind Regards
Chris Sturdy
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We went there before the start of school. The weather was not great but the indoor activities were very boring and when the weather improved and we went outside, the trails and walks were very monotonous and the younger ones got bored quickly. Overall boring and unimpressed

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConkersAttraction, General Manager at Conkers, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. Conkers covers 120 acres and unfortunately if the weather is not great guests are reluctant to explore the full value of the centre. We are based on a natural British woodland with many trails and tracks leading through separate areas of specific trees. We also offered a free puppet show pantomime and ranger crafts during this period in case of wet weather days. In line with other attractions of this kind conkers is excellent value for money and is still continuing to invest annually to improve the facilities available

Kindest regards
Chris Sturdy
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conkers also viewed

Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Boundary, Ashby de la Zouch
 

Been to Conkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing