We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horse burgers Neigh problem!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horse burgers Neigh problem!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Being a regular at the Royal for the sunday carvery (which is always second to none), i saw the sign for the horse burgers and thought, brilliant gimic, great sense of humour. So the family and i decided to try one. I can report that the burger was fantastic, lean, tasty with great accompaniments. Id like to reference the previous comment about serving horse being a disgrace - i find it no more of a disgrace than serving pig, cow or sheep. Horse meat is very popular in France and is at the moment very fashionable in London. It is also very low in fat and tasty. To the previous comment i say, "dont knock it till you've tried it", live a little, you may discover something that you enjoy!!!

Beautiful old listed building, just needs a little decorating - no problem! Staff quite chatty and friendly. Good nosh, reasonably priced. First class!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    56
    39
    50
    55
See reviews for
39
66
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel has shocked me as we arrived we went into the bar to be served by a very rude lady who turns out to be the bar manager. She kept leaving the bar so we couldn't re order drinks. Then we looked at the bar menu and it seemed very nice until we noticed the bar manager was advertising 'horse burger' what a disgrace after all the horse meat scandle.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanH855, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
While we are sorry that you found the fact we were serving horse burgers a "disgrace", we make no apology for doing so. They were put on the menu as a special and all of our customers who ordered one were extremely happy. The burgers, as with all the meat we serve, is responsibly sourced from local suppliers and is of the highest quality. The only "disgrace" of the "horse meat scandle" (sic) are those restaurants and supermarkets who attempt to pass horse meat off as beef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashby de la Zouch hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

When you walk into the Royal Hotel the first impressions are quite good, a lovely original sweeping dual staircase where you can imagine the gentry folk making grand entrances in the evening. The reception staff as with all the staff I met, wre very helpful and friendly in an olde world charm type of way. Then... 3,2,1 you are back in the room. The whole building is very tired and needs a vast investment to bring it up to 21st century standards. The rooms are OK ish, very basic indeed and the heating is very hit and miss. The restaurant food is fine in a very predictable steak and chips sort of way, although the buffet breakfast is pretty good. In general I prefer old and creaky to new and plasticky but there are limits and the Royal is just about on the tipping point. The FREE Wifi is very welcome and it is difficult to be too scathing as the staff do try hard to please, but owners take note, you,can only push your customers so far. Finally the adjacent car park (which may it be owned by the hotel) is dire and full of ruts and pot holes. It brings to mind visions of a World War 2 bomb clearance site.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanH855, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. The owners are very aware of the issues relating to the fabric of parts of the building and you can rest assured that plans are in place for a total refurbishment of both the hotel and the car park, with work hopefully due to commence later this year. Once again, many thanks for your custom and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was recommended to us by our family who live local to it. My husband and I were in Ashby to attend a funeral. There was plenty of free car parking.
When you enter the building the first things that stand out are the grand Regency staircase and chandeliers. The reception staff were very friendly and we had our cases taken upstairs for us by the duty manager. Now, I have to say there isn't a lift so if you have mobility issues let them know before you book. This is a listed building so be prepared for the quirks that go along with that. Our twin bedroom was spacious and simply furnished to suit the house. There were tea making facilities, biscuits and the usual toiletries with the addition of a shoe shine cloth ( well you are in a grand house lol).
The TV was a bit ancient but functional, and the room was warm. Nice to see the original style of sash windows. Water pressure in Ashby is poor anyway so it would be money well spent if they could get power showers in there. We ate in the newly refurbished restaurant and the food was good and there was a good range on the menu and also a 2 meals for £10 offer. The waitress and barstaff were friendly and efficient.
We had a problem with the beds but the Duty Manager sorted it out quickly and without fuss, and we had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was a hot buffet with a full English on offer and plenty of options including a fresh fruit salad.
On the whole a comfortable stay. I took a little look downstairs and the conference and wedding rooms look good. I think the grand stairs would be perfect for the wedding photo shoot. It is a lovely building but it would be great if the company would spend a bit more money on sympathetic modern renovations in the bedrooms as in places it looked a little tired. Even so, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems do tell them before you book as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oratory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is clean and tidy but very dated. I found the staff friendly especially at breakfast. Stayed in Feb and the room was very cold, even the the backup portable electric radiator didn't help much especially when the heating went off about 10ish. Would be a good hotel if it had a makeover. Stayed a few times due to work but looking for an alternative due to rooms being cold. The showers can be hit and miss depending on which room get, either too hot or cold.

Room Tip: Haven't found a room that has all the basics right, tv, shower and heating working. Had 3 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoich_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for my birthday. We expected a joyful stay.... But the room was COLD very dated with chills coming through the window... The only thing that was ok was the breakfast in the morning- it's very overpriced! I will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamam576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belper derbyshire
Level Contributor
273 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Royal for one night as part of a company Christmas evening (we didnt eat here just stayed over). We eat at Wnkies (chinese which was just as dated buy the way)

As everyone has stated this is a very old and out of date hotel. In its support it was very clean but the rooms were very old. The decoration was clean but very dated. The shower only has a trickle and the hot water took an age to come through. In actual fact the shower when in use (and this was a cubicle, no bath) flooded the bathrooom floor which meant I had to mop up the water with the bathroom towels. Leaving no dry for the next day. Probably when the vinyl skirting was missing around the cubicle.

The breakfast was okay not terrible but my disapointment was when I was asked to move from my table half way through eating because they needed a table for 4. I started to pack everything up then the waitress said I didnt have to bother because there is no table for me anyway.

I would probably stick with what I know best and go to a preimer inn for the same money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashby de la Zouch
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby de la Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ashby de la Zouch LE65 2GP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Ashby de la Zouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ashby de la Zouch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Ashby De La Zouch, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing