We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean comfy hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here with 2 children and a baby for a charity function nearby. The hotel catered for most of the families travelling to the function which I believe was up to 26 families. Our room was very spacious which was ideal for the baby to explore. We were not crammed in even when the travel cot was up. The bathroom was a lttle small but the larger living space made up for it. Reception staff were very friendly and always paid an interest in our days. We ate at the pub next door who also catered for our large function as well as regular customers. The food was typical Faye and square bar meals but did the job. The staff serving us on the charity day were able to get all food out hot and never seemed stressed coping with the demand. The pub has a little park which was a bonus to keep the children occupied. I thought the breakfasts were expensive but having the children with us we just paid rather than driving around to find somewhere cheaper. We will be staying again in the future for further charity functions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    110
    42
    11
    6
See reviews for
136
118
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this Premier Inn as a stopover on the way home from Scotland to the South West. It's proximity to the Motorway was excellent and instructions to find it were very good. We initially parked in the pub car park, not realising they had their own. But when we moved it we felt the car was much safer. Very welcoming staff on reception. Very comfortable room. We had one at the back overlooking horses, lovely. It was extremely hot during our stay, but the lady on reception offered us sheets in place of our duvet. We didn't take the offer up, but it was very thoughtful. The fan in the room was very welcome. Breakfast the next morning, served in the pub next door was very good, and the staff attentive and helpful. Value was excellent, we had booked it early as £25 deal. We will certainly use Premier Inns again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leysla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice place for stopover on way South. Very polite staff and lean comfortable rooms.
Pub food next door is ok. Pub needs a bit of a refurb as a little grubby and used. Hotel probably needs a little refresh, but staff re great.
Wifi signal in rooms (ground floor middle) too weak to use.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ret40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I needed a one night stopover on a long journey and selected this Premier Inn for its proximity to the motorway. The hotel accomodation is good and clean, with all the required facilities, including 30 minutes free WiFi. Of particular note was the large and comfortable bed and the well lit desk.

I chose an evening meal of soup and scampi and chips from the very extensive bar menu in the attached Charnley Arms. I found this to be of mediocre quality.

The hotel can be recommended but I would hesitate to eat in the Charnley Arms again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff, man that checked us in was very enthusiastic even though we were checking in late at night. Made us feel very welcome. Bed was very comfy as always for premier inn room there beds are better than hotels we have paid a lot of money for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Premier Inn is situated close to the M6 so ideal for a stopover. This is a relatively small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were spacious and I would recommend this hotel but probably fine for one or two nights only. Ideal for closeness to M6 motorway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My sister and I (ladies 'of a certain age') recently cycled along the towpaths from Liverpool to Leeds and stayed at the Premier Inn, Wigan. We were very impressed by the welcome and friendliness of the staff - who really didn't mind at all that we were rather wet and dirty - and they went our of their way to ensure that our cycles were stored safely inside the office. We had a very substantial meal in the restaurant - which was approx 10 meters from the door of the hotel) (ideal for us as we were very weary and hungry!) and a really good night's sleep before setting off again the next morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is clean, warm and the genuine friendliness of the staff was second to none!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy-harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
0.9 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Premier Inn Hotel Wigan (M6, J27) and you'll be in the perfect location to get to Wigan town centre. So whether you're here on business or just getting away for a well-earned break, we're a handy place to stay. The picturesque North West countryside is on your doorstep too. Spend the morning strolling the streets of Liverpool, perhaps visiting the historic Albert Dock. Or take a walk through the majestic grounds of Haigh Hall Country Park. In the afternoon you could catch some sport, either rugby or football at Wigan stadium, or try your hand at go-karting at Three Sisters. Then come back for some great food and a lovely comfy bed. Car Parking: Free on-site parking with ample room for coaches and caravans. Disabled Facilities: This hotel has rooms adapted for customers with disabilities. Beds are arranged to enable easy access. Please note all rooms are subject to availability. Wi-Fi:Free Unlimited browsing or upgrade to our faster connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan (m6 j27) Hotel Standish
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing