We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped off here overnight on our way down South at Christmas and we found the staff to be extremely helpful, the rooms to be comfortable and clean. What more could you ask for for £29 per night!

Car park is a little small and slightly dodgy looking but there is CCTV and our car was fine.

Room Tip: We got a room that overlooked the car park so it was good to keep an eye out on the car (which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly and efficient and only £29 per night. Was visiting family just a couple of miles away so very convenient too. Booked the stay a few weeks in advance so was able to get the cheaper rate, however a friend tried to book just a couple of days in advance to their stay and the price per room had doubled. They stayed at The Britannia directly opposite for £25 and had a very comfortable night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

stayed here boxing day and had a typical northern welcome , friendly , polite and extremely clean and comfortable room. would definably recommend a visit to the local pub , the silver tally.
excellent location although the car park was on the small size.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at this Premier Inn because I was travelling from Scotland down to London. It is the second time I have stayed there as it is exactly half way in my journey and it is ideally located near to the motorway. Sadly, there was no space outside the hotel to park, but I found a space at the restaurant next door. When I arrived, the receptionist was polite and friendly. My room was clean, comfortable and warm. It had a functioning TV and offered 30 minutes free internet. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Considering what I paid for the room, I consider it to be very good value and I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeJames2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

stayed here whilst attending a wedding nearby ,we have stayed at many premier inns and have never been disappointed,and this was another gem,clean rooms big comfy beds ,super shower,and hearty breakfast,and the staff , all premier in every way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin.eastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at hotel in October 2012 and whilst the hotel is ok (bit tired but functional) I was woken in the morning by the Police to say my car had been broken into in the car park (causing several thousands of pounds worth of damage) during the night. The Police warned me that this was a common occurence at both this Premier Inn and the hotel opposite - seems being near to the motorway is handy for all those wishing to get away fast!
The Premier Inn staff (of course) denied that there had ever been any problems - seems they know better than the police.
They then started off by insisting that I check out by 11.00 (even though my car was undrivable) but when I growled at them they decided to let me stay for anoher hour and even without charge!
I had thought maybe someone from Premier Inn management might have contacted me after the stay to apologise but none of it.
I had deliberately parked right under the CCTV camera but it was of no surprise to the police that the system was not working (the CCTV system is actually in the attached pub not the hotel) - seems it had not been working for some time.
So my advice, only stay if you dont care about the safety of your car or you arrive by bus. If Premier Inn cared about your safety they might take a more pro-active approach at this hotel.

Room Tip: One with a good view of the car park so you can stay up all night to check the safety of your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were attending birthday party in this area and this was ideal place right off motorway. Unfortunately because it was heavily booked I was given a room for disabled. I did not like it. It had a strange smell. I had to keep window open and the room was frozen. The heater did not work either. It didn't feel right being in room. We ad to go out in rain to building opposite for breakfast, which was very mediocre. At 72 50 bed and breakfast it certainly was not cheap. Would I stay again. No. If I had done the booking I would have been complaining more but my friends booked this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MusicbirdUdddingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
0.9 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel

Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Premier Inn Hotel Wigan (M6, J27) and you'll be in the perfect location to get to Wigan town centre. So whether you're here on business or just getting away for a well-earned break, we're a handy place to stay. The picturesque North West countryside is on your doorstep too. Spend the morning strolling the streets of Liverpool, perhaps visiting the historic Albert Dock. Or take a walk through the majestic grounds of Haigh Hall Country Park. In the afternoon you could catch some sport, either rugby or football at Wigan stadium, or try your hand at go-karting at Three Sisters. Then come back for some great food and a lovely comfy bed. Car Parking: Free on-site parking with ample room for coaches and caravans. Disabled Facilities: This hotel has rooms adapted for customers with disabilities. Beds are arranged to enable easy access. Please note all rooms are subject to availability. Wi-Fi:Free Unlimited browsing or upgrade to our faster connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan (m6 j27) Hotel Standish
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing