We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

only stayed 1 night after our daughters wedding,the room was great although we weren't in it much,the food we had was good,the staff were good,and it is set in nice grounds the pool and spa although only used for half an hour sunday morning seemed adequate,would stay here again,but only downside was same as most hotels bar prices expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dereknewton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    405
    252
    139
    81
See reviews for
259
521
20
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a spa weekend at Kilhey Court to unwind and relax. The hotel is lovely with rooms in the new block being spacious, clean and comfortable. the restuarant in the old house is beautiful. The staff are friendly and professional and the spa treatments perfect. Spa facilities include pool, jacuzzi, steam room etc, all spotlessly clean. Have used this hotel three times now and had a perfectly relaxing weekend on each occasion. Breakfast is amazing - anything you can possibly want!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night on Dinner, bed and breakfast. The room was small and the shower was broken. We orderd a double gin an tonic in the Lounge. The bar man was very nice and chatty but forgot to put a double in our drinks. ( which we got charged for but managed to get that reduced when we complained). When we sat down for dinner.The table next to us was already complaning about their starter. The manager said she would bring out another one for her. Her husband had finished his starter by this point. 20min later we had some bread and water served to our table. The young waiter was very nervous and had no exsperiance and was left to serve the whole restaurant by himself. The couple with the starter then was approached by the manager (25min later) she said the chef was not happy to send out another starter because the quality was not up to standards but would like to offer them complimentary pudding. ( By this point they must of been starving as much as we were) Finally our starter of crab cakes arrived and not what we expected it being a 4 start hotel and a' la carte restaurant. The portion was small and tasteless. Then our mains ( an hour later). I had the fish pie which was watery and small and had only one type of cheap white fish and some frozen shrimp which i ate because i was starving. My partner had monkfish and scollops. well half a peice of monkfish and 3 scollops. We orderd another bottle of white wine which was warm and had pudding because we we're still so hungry. I told the manager i couldn't understand why it took so long with only 5 people in the restaurant all night! she replied well the chef was very busy because all the tickets came at once. i pointed out that retaurant sits about 50 people so how would he cope then? she didn't anwser. During the night i woke up with horrible stomach cramps and hardly slept the night, guessing the chef dosn't wash his hands. The next morning we had breakfast which was average and then got the hell out of there. When we came home the hotel had charged us twice for our stay when we told them at reception we had already paid she said we definitly hadn't and we must pay now.
When my partner phoned the receptionist said we definitely only paid once and that there was no record of two payments.They would not refund us the money untill we sent them our bank statements. I have never heard such rudeness on the phone and nerver had a Hotel ask for bank details before. I used to work for a five star hotel and know that all they have to do is check the card receipts from the card machiene. We will never stay in any Macdonald hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Wigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had our wedding in the Lakeside Suite at Kilhey Court on Saturday 20th October 2012. We decided to book Kilhey Court as both myself and my new hubby had our school leaving party here over 14 years ago..and the venue seemed perfect for what we wanted and could cater for our numbers!

We had a fantastic day and everything went perfect..and the surroundings looked beautiful with all the autumn colours! We had got married in our local church and had the Lakeside Suite for our wedding breakfast. Our arrival drinks were in the main hotel..which was lovely..then our guests were took down the the Lakeside Suite...which was decorated beautifully.

The food at our wedding breakfast was exceptional and presented beautifully; lots of our friends commented on how good the food was and still kept hot....so thanks must go to the chefs and kitchen staff involved in providing such a fab meal for ourselves and our guests. The evening buffet (hot roast) was apparently just as delicious and there was more than enough food for everyone (I unfortunately didn't get to try any as I was busy entertaining guests!)

All of the bar staff, waiters and waitresses were extremely attentive, friendly and remained professional at all times. They all worked extremely hard and were kept so busy. Yet again nothing was too much trouble for them. We had more than enough staff allocated to us throughout the whole day.

Jen was our Master of Ceremonies for the day from Kilhey Court. She met with us beforehand and both me and my husband knew we were in safe hands..still instilled confidence in us on how the day would run! Jen is an absolute star...nothing was ever too much trouble...she is brilliant and very organised!

Our wedding was booked about a year before it took place. We had dealt with 3 wedding co-ordinators throughout this time..which was the only minor let down..having to run through the details a lot..but we always got our emails answered and could meet up with them at any point to clarify any details.

Our room at the hotel was the bridal suite..which was huge..great for us as we had our 4 month old daughter stopping in her cot. A few of our wedding guests stayed over and unfortunately some were a little disappointed with the rooms saying they were slightly dated...so possibly the hotel should spend some money on improving these..given the cost of the room. Breakfast was excellent the following morning. A few of our guests also used the spa facilities which were nice.

The grounds were beautiful to walk round and my daughter loved looking round!

Everyone had a great time at my wedding...and it was all thanks to everyone involved. It holds very happy memories for myself and my husband..and now my daughter too! We will look forward to taking her when she is a bit older to share with her where we had our special day x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I attended a wedding. The food was lovely and the wedding ran smoothly. I liked the venue so much I have just booked my own wedding there. I booked through Hannah. She has been fantastic, answering all my questions always polite and with genuine interest. I also just attended a wedding fayre there which was ran really well. So I am very happy and excited for my wedding there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tippo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We attended the Kilhey Court for a wedding and after having our own wedding there 25 years ago was really looking forward to staying over. The hotel was a fantastic venue for a wedding and everything was perfect, however the room was not! I don't think it had been updated since our wedding. the décor was tired and shabby and the bed was not the most comfortable, i think they need to try a lot harder for the money they are asking!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here just one night - it is close to the M6 so ideal as a stopover. Service from the staff was first class - everyone was very helpful and attentive. The room was pleasant and comfortable, although could do with a little bit of TLC. (E.g. some of the plasterwork around sockets was a bit loose, but nothing major.) We arrived too late to make use of the leisure facilities, but they looked very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,245 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Kilhey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Kilhey Court

Property: Macdonald Kilhey Court
Address: Chorley Road, Standish, Wigan WN1 2XN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kilhey Court 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and relax in the spa at the hotel. The hotel has completed a refurbishment programme to upgrade 14 bedrooms, rejuvenate the bar, restaurant and reception. Following a day on the road or in the meeting room, there's plenty of ways to unwind at Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel. We're passionate about the quality of food that we offer, sourcing fresh, quality ingredients to craft simple but flavoursome dishes. Try our award-winning food in the Laureate Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Kilhey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Kilhey Court Standish, England
Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel Standish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing