We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed one night here on Saturday 15th March first impressions run down and grubby....the dirt and dust in our room was so old it made the carpet look grey.....the room stank of smoke and the fag ash was everywhere,the furniture was ripped curtains were hanging off the rail.....I was with a coach tour Or I would have turned round crossed the road the stayed at Hotel over there. if you are going to have smoking rooms please clean them before putting a new guest in them

Room Tip: Don't even go in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    113
    124
    130
    299
See reviews for
121
245
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Well to start on the positive note the Receptionist was very friendly and that's where it ends everything else was terrible. On arrival at the Britannia the car park and surrounding area is really untidy, on getting to the main doors I thought they had smoked glass but they were just so dirty! The Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful and told us where our room was, once we got into the room I nearly cried with horror the bed was untidy and the room absolutely filthy, you wouldn't have kept a dog there, the curtains were falling off the rail the surfaces were very dirty and the top of the radiator didn't look like it had been wiped in months!!! The bathroom wasn't much better, the tiles were full of mould and the shower rail was so rusty and just generally awful, and the TV is something from the Antiques Roadshow. we went back down to Reception and told the lady that we couldn't stay as the room as it was so dirty and she was very apologetic and gave us a full refund there and then, we then went across the road to the Premier Inn and was totally satisfied with the room as per usual, so if you are thinking of booking the Brittania Hotel, Standish.....DON'T DO IT!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't book a room here its terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRogers1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in this excuse for a hotel on Wednesday and can honestly say if I had booked 2 nights I would have been across the road to Premier inn.On arrival there was no welcome just have you booked im sure Basil Fawlty did have a daughter after all.Our room was a smoking one even though we don't smoke thanks for the offer ....The room wasn't clean mould on floor at bathroom door water not just hot but scolding thankfully we don't have young children.We decided to see if restaurant was open huh nobody around or at bar and nobody to ask so we decided to go across road to Brewers fare .The television in room only worked in black and white and it was about 10 yrs old on tv stand on floor must be we get spoiled by flat screens in hotels we normally use.On departure we weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay im sure they don't get many returning visitors I know I will NEVER use this hotel group again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojo1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed for only one night (thankfully) as part of a Notional Holidays package. First the good points, the bedding and towels were clean and there was plenty of hot water, sadly they are the only positive things i can say. This hotel is the dirtiest i have ever been in. Everywhere is drab, very worn, dirty and smelly. Our bedroom had not been vacuumed for what appeared to be months. All surfaces were dusty. The bathroom floor was filthy around the edges. The bedroom curtain was hanging off the rail, the net curtain was black with grime. It is obvious that the poor stands within this hotel have been happening for some considerable time. National Holidays urgently need to review why they continue to use this hotel and in my opinion have to take some of the blame as they stated we would be staying at a "SELECT HOTEL". I completed two comment cards and on the card it states what can we do to improve things, my husband's response was knock it down and build a new , clean hotel! All of the other detail reviews are totally correct about what this hotel is like.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I filled in a customer comment card but decided not to submit it just in case I won the prize of a weekend break.
When we arrived there was nobody manning reception and we felt almost apologetic to interrupt whatever the miserable looking receptionist was doing in the back office.
Dinner was self service with a limited range of options. We saw no staff in the restaurant until we attempted to "self serve" ourselves to the carvery when a "chef" appeared from the "kitchen", taking offence at us helping ourselves. In order to have drinks with our meal we were told that we needed to get them from the bar next door. Dessert was a meagre selection of defrosted product sitting at room temperature next to the "carvery". The rules must have changed since I was in the food industry.
We went back to our suite and discoverd that the television was not as good as ones that we had thrown out at digital switchover. A shower was not an option as there was neither hot water nor anyone to answer the phone to rectify the situation.
Breakfast came with a similar script to dinner - "it's all self service". There was very little food left, and what should have been hot was cold. Tea and coffee were both in flasks, luke warm and stale.
Checkout was achieved without eye contact, and as at checkin we interrupted the routine of the "receptionist".
There appears to have been little or no maintenance since Moat House abandoned this hotel ten years ago. Windows need cleaning, gardens need tidying, and the receptionist needs to have a rough idea of how to find the manager or their deputy, if one exists!

Room Tip: Pay for a suite upgrade and request "end of corridor" to avoid rampaging coach parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in. I have stayed in hotels all over the world but if there was a price for the worst? This would win without a dought. I can accept that hotel is old and run down and appear to be used by builders as a base to work from? but there is no excuse for the state of the rooms with black mould on the window frames, tiles & fittings, dust so thick you could wright your name in, and thats not on top of door frames and places you cant see? thats on the top of the T.V. on top of the lamps in fact every wear, cobwebs all over the walls and sealing. The tiles in the bathroom were black with mould and a chunk of wood 50mm square supporting the water tank. I booked this hotel at &19:00 hours on the day I traveled for an urgent meeting for early the next morning. I arrived at the hotel at 23:30 had it not been so late I would not have stayed. So be warned all the bad reviews are true, I wish i had taken the time to read them before I booked. This hotel should be demolished and the cleaning staff dismissed. look at my photoes and see what you think??

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Always expect Britannia Hotels to be better than this but the price was good.

Staff - mixed. Bar staff were really friendly.

Room - ok, not the most welcoming, bland and a little dated. Clean and comfortable though.

Food was terrible, had a meal deal that was bland and dry...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.9 mi away
Coaching Inn Hotel
Coaching Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Wigan
52 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Property: Britannia Wigan Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Wigan is an attractive modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Wigan town centre and located not far from the M6 motorway network, providing easy reach to major cities such as Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing