We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A filthy disgusting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A filthy disgusting hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Our room was dirty, bathroom filthy, I felt sorry for staff,99p bar was only good thing about it . We did complain how dirty our room was and we were told it would be blitzed but I came to conclusion they didn't know what that ment because it never happens I couldn't wait to get home for a bath so I will recommend this hotel, but saying that the food wasn't to bad to there's was no organisation in dining room overall score ( 1 )

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    106
    119
    125
    287
See reviews for
115
232
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really did not like this hotel. Horrible views out of the windows, poor decoration, dirty bathroom, broken toilet seat. The rooms are so hot it is unhealthy. I had to leave the window open but considering I asked for a quiet room I had a noisy sort of generator going off all night.

The breakfast had cold food and cold tea, coffee. I had to go in to the kitchen to find someone. However at least it was cool in the restaurant.

Surely there should be some quality control on this hotel for it to be so bad. I normally have an open mind with trip advisor and any feedback but it really is that bad.

Room Tip: I really can't imagine them having a good room after my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff and food at Britannia Standish were excellent. The 90p bar was a bonus too. The rooms however really need a good clean and refurbishment.

The bed linen was clean, but the cleaner really needs to do a better job with the vacuum. There was mould in the bath/shower surrounds.

Rob Taylor was excellent in the restaurant and the other staff coped well with a very busy hotel.

Well placed for trips to the lakes and Southport. Good value fromTtravelstyle.

The same desserts for dinner on 2 nights, is not really acceptable.

Room Tip: A room that has been cleaned properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of an organised trip. Saw the reviews were poor but always think it can never be that bad but how wrong was I. Overall the hotel looked run down and seedy inside and out. On closer inspection it needed a bloomin good clean and redecoration. One side of the hotel was so hot that people could not bear to stay in their rooms and ended up spending the night in the foyer. The staff did not seem to care that people were unhappy and could not even supply a fan!!. As for the food, words fail me! The evening meal was just about eatable. Its only redeemable feature was the beef. It was actually quite good. The soup tasted ok but was lukewarm. The veg was cooked to within an inch of its life and the roasties were dripping in grease and part cooked! Puddings were either tasteless or so tart it was difficult to eat. Next to the dining room was a kick boxing competition and all you could smell was "Deep Heat" because the had the adjoining door open.The only thing they hadn't ruined at breakfast was the cereal! Lukewarm coffee, inedible sausages, burnt baked beans and all of it was just warm! Felt sick and very hungry after that! We asked for extra milk and coffee for the room and had the milk cartons thrown onto the reception desk and told the coffee was "up there" ! Eventually found a big bowl of loose coffee in the bar!! I've stayed in a lot of budget hotels but this one has got to be worst. Hopefully the management will take notice of their bad reviews and do something about it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Room 203 has to be the worst room in this hotel we stayed this saturday night 13/07/2013 the temperature in the room on arrival was 38 degrees c and rising we asked for a change of room and nothing available after dinner the room was over 40 degrees c even with window open as wide as possible i couldnt breath properly in the room and it wasnt as the staff said due to "mother nature" no fans available and no help whatsoever ... discovered the hot water tank adjoins this room no wonder the walls were so hot. couldnt sleep all night ...we even went over the road to the premier inn to no avail as there was no room at the inn. the room was filthy with rot on the ceiling and black muck everywhere. the staff were inexperienced and didnt care about anyone that stayed there. when asked at midnight downstairs if we were ok we told them yet again and then for them to just walk away from us highly disrespectful.seriously thinking of cancelling future booked holidays with this group and national holidays.Good job i was awake all night with the heat as the noise from external generators would have kept us awake anyways.

Room Tip: Any room except 203 unless in the middle of winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHORN48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel on a organised party weekend trip to Lancaster & Southport so did not pick it ourselves. When reading reviews thought it cant be that bad but I have to say the reviews are very accurate. This Hotel is in desperate need of a damn good clean! This is not just about being dated or needing a refurbishment it is about standards of cleanliness & maintenance. Some of the rooms very dirtier than others -with varying layers of dust & dirty bathrooms. The windows were filthy and one half of the hotel with rooms next to the boiler/generator area is like a sauna with no air con or fans. The heat in these rooms was just unbearable & too hot to sleep in & some of our party sat in the reception area all night. Staff blamed 'mother nature' due to the summer weather however our room ( the opposite side from the generators/boiler room) compared to others in the party was cool?! They couldn't provide any floor or desk fans but didn't particularly seem bothered. The food was poor 9and I will eat anything usually!) - evening meal consisted of overcooked veg& greasy partly cooked roast potatoes however I will say the beef was very nice but that was about it! There was some kind of kick boxing competition going on next to the dining area at evening meal time and the smell of deep heat was not pleasant or conducive to eating.Breakfast was even worse. The food was barely warm, burnt tasting beans & the sausages looked & tasted like they had been cooked a week ago & the pots of coffee were luke warm. The staff were miserable & unhelpful & seemed very disorganised. I very rarely complain about hotels as you get what you pay for and I have stayed in some very basic and some old fashioned places over the years but nothing as bad as this. Britannia Ltd should be embarrassed to charge people for staying here-its awful. It needs a damn good clean & some extensive customer service staff training.
If you are in the area....book in to the Premier Inn across the road!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliQ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I arrived around 9pm to find a load of people standing outside the door smoking and drinking, which I had to make my way through. Once inside it got worse it was all very loud and cheap. I felt like I had walked into some workmens club during happy hour. Reception was full of people and kids, the music was blasting and the receptionist said 'sorry but we have a coach in!' I had planned on a beer and something to eat here but I changed and went over the road where it was civilised. At around 12.30 when the bar was closed the noise started, doors banging, shouting and swearing and there was a group of guys staying close to me saying come in my room and have a spliff. Then all you could hear was them talking loudly and laughing until 2am. Didn't complain as I was leaving at 5am so why bother.

Another one to keep away from, but I did only pay £34 room only.

Room Tip: Keep away if a coach party are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscarsmad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Property: Britannia Wigan Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Wigan is an attractive modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Wigan town centre and located not far from the M6 motorway network, providing easy reach to major cities such as Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing