We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like dining in a school canteen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like dining in a school canteen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Would not stay there again. The dining room had no table cloths just bare sticky wood. The whole meals breakfast and dinner were full self serivice and luke warm. Staff were few and far to be seen and when found were surly and not very helpful.certainly needed training in customer serice and politeness.
The room was shabby and needed a good cleaning Put the fan on and all overdust from the fan was blowing around. There was one tiny bar of used soap in the bathroom which again was not clean. Certainly wont go back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    106
    120
    125
    288
See reviews for
116
232
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having lived in the area years ago we were visiting family as decided to stay over, the deal looked ok.
It is now a Brittania hotel I think that they took it over from Moat House group. It seems to be nothing more than a motel. There were two coach trips in on the night we stayed and we were advised by the nice lady on reception to get in quick whilst you still had the choice of foods – not a good start.
The staff were doing the best they could but it did look like they could be short staffed, the only one that looked like he should have been kept back of house was the chef carving the meat – he was either having a bad day or really didn’t want to be there!
The hotel itself was shabby and needs updating the carpets were dirty and the paintwork needs re painting. The gardens outside the windows of the restaurant could do with maintaining.
The walls are paper thin, the guests in the next room seemed intent on partying and I was glad when they went for a MacDonalds at 2.30am, I was at least able to get back to sleep. ( not the hotels fault I know)
Will I go back no I will go to the lodge across the way which whilst not having all the facilities this hotel offers it will be at least clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuneMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed the this hotel as part of a Christmas trip and was a little weary after reading some of the reviews and seeing photos from other people. However, when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted warmly and directed to our room. We had a twin room which was nice and I would complain. It was good condition and the beds were comfy. The only thing if I had to be picky was that the bathroom floor needed cleaning around the edges better.

The restaurant was also clean and the food was lovely. Food was served warm and the waitresses/waiters were on hand if we needed anything extra or different.

We had the benefit of a 99p bar and this was good however very limited choice and ran out very easily.

Maybe we were lucky but after this visit I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondilox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here a part of a coach party for one night. Out room was large, clean and well equipped, I have paid a lot more for a lot less. The evening meal, a set menu, was more than adequate, soup, carvery and a choice of sweet, as was breakfast. The staff friendly and helpful. Having read other reviews on this hotel prior to visit, we were more than pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithB277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

we found this hotel ok the meals were nice and room was fine the staff was polite the canny prices the reception was ok we found the meal was very niced dont know what all the fuss is about it was clean ityour over night stay what do you want the ritz for the price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for one night for a friend’s 40th birthday (thankfully it was not held at this hotel). The reception was tired but clean. We were directed to our room which was a smoking room (we do not smoke), the corridor stank of smoke. The room was dark with stained carpet and walls. The bed looked make shift as if it was on table legs and was rock hard. The duvet cover was stained and ripped. The worst was the bathroom which smelt damp and was dirty, the tiles were cracked with mould in all the grouting.
To add insult to injury the breakfast the next morning was inedible- everything was over cooked and dry. The dining room was not clean and had old food on the floor by the windows which were also smeared with dirt!
I would not mind as much if it had been a bargain price but we were charged £85 for this experience!
Britannia what are you doing? Do the management care? Do they not read Tripadvisor?
DO NOT stay here- there is a Premier Inn across the road-go there instead

Room Tip: Just dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for a business lunch, not the place to host a meeting or order lunch, Ordered sandwiches 40 minutes later after asking about their whereabouts they arrived, but were unfortunately inedible. After discussion with the duty manager he wiped the bill. Would have preferred to pay and have the food edible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stoodytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Property: Britannia Wigan Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Wigan is an attractive modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Wigan town centre and located not far from the M6 motorway network, providing easy reach to major cities such as Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing