We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas shopping break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Reviewed November 27, 2012

As part of a coach trip we stayed for 2 nights. Although a little 'tired looking' the beds were very comfortable, and the overall cleanliness of the room was good. The evening meals and breakfasts were really excellent value for money. We had a problem with the cold water tap in the bath, told reception and it was dealt with immediately. We found all the staff to be very helpful.Was in a family party of 4 so we made our own entertainment as, unfortunately, there was none at the hotel. However, we would all go again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviacousins314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_ManagerWigan, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your honest evaluation of the hotel.
We are undergoing a programme of renovation at the minute, with over half of the hotel rooms decorated, hopefully you will be able to give us your opinion during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 735 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed one night after visiting liverpool ,the room was comfortable ,every thing we needed but we wanted a glass of water with our evening meal and was told ,if we could get a glass from the bar ,they would fill it for us ,There was a wedding in the bar and a queue in the bar and by the time we got back to our meal ,it was cold!!its a shame the food was good , would not stay again though.

Room Tip: The lift was broken the weekend we stayed so a ground floor ,would be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just had a trip away with national holidays. Keep away from this hotel folks. Hotel room needed a good clean.Tea-bag, lip liner, biscuit bits and battery left down by the side of the bed. I can accept the room been tierd looking but dirty and smelly NEVER. Had our evening meal about 8-15 in a freezing cold restaurant. The seating in the bar had cigarette burns and rips in the chairs. On the plus side the breakfast was ok and we were leaving!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank kpwilliams31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

we went on a coach to the brittania hotel standish with mixed feelings after reading some of the reviews, we were in room 159 on the ground floor.there was everything we needed,hairdryer tea and coffee making facilities really comfy beds and plenty of room. i must say though i was very concerned about the fire door at the end of the corridor which was left open, i remarked to my friend we could be murderd in our beds. that was the only complaint i could make as service was very good also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well I honestly don't know where to start! We stayed here on Saturday night with National Holidays.It is the worst ever hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been all over - this country and other parts of the world.

Our room was dirty(Room 261)The bathroom seemed to have a plague of small flies all around the sink and toilet area.They were like fruit flies - but there wasn't any fruit. The window ledge in the bedroom was covered in dead ones as well as dust.The window was filthy and covered in mildew on the frame and obviously hadn't been wiped recently.
The lino in the bathroom was filthy and definately only the middle of the floor had been cleaned as the outer edges were thick dust and curling up at the edges.

There were cobwebs in the bedroom and I don't think anything had been moved to clean behind or in corners.
There were marks on the wallpaper and the chair at the dressing table had the foam stuffing hanging out of it! Very impressive I don't think.
The only good point we could find were the comfy beds which thank God were clean with clean bedding and the towels were clean.Wow!!

Fire doors didn't close as you went down the corridor so obviously a health and safety hazard that should be looked into!

We went into the bar for a drink before our meal.That was a fiasco .There was one young lad on serving who disappeared when someone ordered champagne.Think he must have run across the road to the Premier Inn for it or else down to the nearest supermarket as he was ages.When he finally got back we ordered our drinks which we thought were expensive.

So onto dinner- and the queues.Started with help your self soup.This was ok .The only other choice was salad which wasn't very inspiring- a bit of lettuce and tomato and not much else to choose from.

Then to queue again for the main course which was hit or miss .You were lucky if what you got was hot and by the time you'd waited for something else to be brought out whatever you had on your plate was cold.It was not very organised and instead of them taking the near empty dish away and bringing a fresh one they just topped it up .
Veg was very undercooked and god help any vegetarian as there was nothing except cauli, carrots and brocolli.
There was rice, chips and roast potatoes .We were told it was chicken curry in a dish but it looked as tho there was no chicken left by the time we got there just a load of mush. The other choice was ham which was carved onto your plate.
Pudding was stodgy lemon , or fudge cake or fruit salad.

Breakfast next day wasn't brilliant either.We had to ask for tea or coffee and then had to ask again for milk.
There was no pepper on any of the tables at breakfast time either - just salt.Why???
You helped yourself to the cooked breakfast which was ok but again they ran out of things and everything else on you plate got cold.
The final straw was the butter which they put a full block on a plate to help yourself near the toasters.When we looked at ours it had a lovely black hair in it.Very appetising I'm sure!!
The jam and marmalade was also just tipped out onto a plate and you had to get a dollop if you wanted it.
We're not posh but surely someone could improve on this sort of standard.

We shall never stay here again or recommend to anyone else.It is a throw back from the 70's and standards are definately poor.If this is a sample of Britannia hotels I will never stay in one again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Found the hotel to be very pleasent and clean. Our room was very nice and comfy and our towels were always nice and clean. Room also very clean. In the dinning room it could have been better; carvery not always hot and tables had no cloths on them. All the staff were very friendly and great price on bar, 99p! I thought this was exceptional!
All in all a great stay and I loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you choose a deal through their e-mail promotions, these hotels have always proved very good value for money. The three day stay we had here in early November was no exception. The room was clean and comfortable, services excellent, shower and television worked beautifully. The room was too hot with the radiator full on but it had a thermostatic valve and it was easily adjusted to get the room temperature just right. The food was always good (although the soup was too salty for our taste) and the breakfast chef was always delighted to be of extra service in the morning if one wanted say a fried egg instead of the scrambled egg off the buffet bar. (He also did a very good porridge!) In fact, the staff were altogether excellent. They were really customer focused, which makes a pleasant change from many hotels and restaurants in this country. They made our stay here one of the best we've had. They could certainly teach other hotels a thing or two.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cv-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range: $37 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Wigan is an attractive modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Wigan town centre and located not far from the M6 motorway network, providing easy reach to major cities such as Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing