We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't know where to start!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Wigan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don't know where to start!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well I honestly don't know where to start! We stayed here on Saturday night with National Holidays.It is the worst ever hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been all over - this country and other parts of the world.

Our room was dirty(Room 261)The bathroom seemed to have a plague of small flies all around the sink and toilet area.They were like fruit flies - but there wasn't any fruit. The window ledge in the bedroom was covered in dead ones as well as dust.The window was filthy and covered in mildew on the frame and obviously hadn't been wiped recently.
The lino in the bathroom was filthy and definately only the middle of the floor had been cleaned as the outer edges were thick dust and curling up at the edges.

There were cobwebs in the bedroom and I don't think anything had been moved to clean behind or in corners.
There were marks on the wallpaper and the chair at the dressing table had the foam stuffing hanging out of it! Very impressive I don't think.
The only good point we could find were the comfy beds which thank God were clean with clean bedding and the towels were clean.Wow!!

Fire doors didn't close as you went down the corridor so obviously a health and safety hazard that should be looked into!

We went into the bar for a drink before our meal.That was a fiasco .There was one young lad on serving who disappeared when someone ordered champagne.Think he must have run across the road to the Premier Inn for it or else down to the nearest supermarket as he was ages.When he finally got back we ordered our drinks which we thought were expensive.

So onto dinner- and the queues.Started with help your self soup.This was ok .The only other choice was salad which wasn't very inspiring- a bit of lettuce and tomato and not much else to choose from.

Then to queue again for the main course which was hit or miss .You were lucky if what you got was hot and by the time you'd waited for something else to be brought out whatever you had on your plate was cold.It was not very organised and instead of them taking the near empty dish away and bringing a fresh one they just topped it up .
Veg was very undercooked and god help any vegetarian as there was nothing except cauli, carrots and brocolli.
There was rice, chips and roast potatoes .We were told it was chicken curry in a dish but it looked as tho there was no chicken left by the time we got there just a load of mush. The other choice was ham which was carved onto your plate.
Pudding was stodgy lemon , or fudge cake or fruit salad.

Breakfast next day wasn't brilliant either.We had to ask for tea or coffee and then had to ask again for milk.
There was no pepper on any of the tables at breakfast time either - just salt.Why???
You helped yourself to the cooked breakfast which was ok but again they ran out of things and everything else on you plate got cold.
The final straw was the butter which they put a full block on a plate to help yourself near the toasters.When we looked at ours it had a lovely black hair in it.Very appetising I'm sure!!
The jam and marmalade was also just tipped out onto a plate and you had to get a dollop if you wanted it.
We're not posh but surely someone could improve on this sort of standard.

We shall never stay here again or recommend to anyone else.It is a throw back from the 70's and standards are definately poor.If this is a sample of Britannia hotels I will never stay in one again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    106
    118
    124
    283
See reviews for
113
231
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Found the hotel to be very pleasent and clean. Our room was very nice and comfy and our towels were always nice and clean. Room also very clean. In the dinning room it could have been better; carvery not always hot and tables had no cloths on them. All the staff were very friendly and great price on bar, 99p! I thought this was exceptional!
All in all a great stay and I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you choose a deal through their e-mail promotions, these hotels have always proved very good value for money. The three day stay we had here in early November was no exception. The room was clean and comfortable, services excellent, shower and television worked beautifully. The room was too hot with the radiator full on but it had a thermostatic valve and it was easily adjusted to get the room temperature just right. The food was always good (although the soup was too salty for our taste) and the breakfast chef was always delighted to be of extra service in the morning if one wanted say a fried egg instead of the scrambled egg off the buffet bar. (He also did a very good porridge!) In fact, the staff were altogether excellent. They were really customer focused, which makes a pleasant change from many hotels and restaurants in this country. They made our stay here one of the best we've had. They could certainly teach other hotels a thing or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cv-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed two nights in this hotel. The bed was really comfortable and the room reasonably clean although I could see a few cobwebs that had been missed and the corners of the carpets were looking dusty it was pretty good compared to some. The food however was excellent. A good choice, plenty of it and hot. I think perhaps a couple more staff in the dining room would have meant the plates being cleared a bit quicker but overall the service was good.

For a one or two night stay this hotel was quite acceptable.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and was at the back of the hotel, I could imagine those at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I hav stayed in many Britannia and accept they are good value for money. Some are a lot better than others.
I had an issue with no heating in the room when i stayed 6 weeks ago. I was offered another cold room or extra blankets!! The staff on duty were unable to resolve the issue.
I wrote to the general manager by name to ask his views on the various reasons his staff had given me for the lack of heating. There were numerous reasons given from the sublime to the ridiculous. The cleaner has taken the key to the boiler room home.... The heating is controlled at head office.... the heating is on a timer. The general manager however had a different reason... it was broken.
It took 6 emails to him, 2 to his Reception to pass to him, a number of phone calls and copies of my emails to head office to get a response; clearly the worst customer service ever. No wonder the 'terribles' outweigh all the other ratings.
Room was freezer. Staff were not interested. Tables stayed covered with dirty dishes for ages. Staff seemed ill trained and unable to cope. Food was very 'school dinnerish'.
We will never stay here again and will do our best to make sure no one we know do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Futuretraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just arrived home after staying 2 nights with a group of 40 passengers at this hotel and try as I did I cannot find where all the bad reviews are coming from, Please take of your dark glasses and come down from your lofty heights into the real world and realise you are getting resonable quality at a very good price and excellent food and quality both Breakfast and evening meal. If you want 5 star and I doubt if it would even please some of the moaners I have read from on this site then go and pay 5 star prices @ four times + higher than this hotel. On questioning all 40 members of our party I never got one complaint from anyone. VERY GOOD VALUE BRITANNIA

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingsenior_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were visiting the beer festival at Crooke, near standish, wigan and wanted to stay locally. There was a choice between Premier Inn, our usual choice, or the local britannia which had leisure facilities and breakfast.
We opted for the Britannia but quickly wished we hadnt. The room was dirty, the bath had soap scum around the ledge at the top, and a pubic hair near plug hole. The hotel itself was not welcoming and in the bar there were a couple of tables piled up, some chairs stacked and it felt like a home for the elderly by decor. One staff member was ordering others about, there was some back chat and all in all i wouldnt stay there or recommend again. I certainly wouldnt get married there which i think is main trade. The breakfast was poor. i didnt eat sausage but it looked like sawdust - hubby said it didnt taste much better. there were three or four coaches of people staying and the breakfast hall was like a rugby match. tea and coffee awful.. All in all a very poor experience. We booked this over the premier inn cos of the pool, but when hubby went down to swim they stopped him getting in and asked him for some cash, it was not made clear on the website at time of booking that this was additional, he did say the pool area was small and not well kept.

Room Tip: Go to Premier Inn across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Property: Britannia Wigan Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Wigan is an attractive modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Wigan town centre and located not far from the M6 motorway network, providing easy reach to major cities such as Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing