We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went to a wedding here in December – the whole venue was decorated beautifully and the staff couldn’t do enough to help. Starters of smoked salmon, main of duck and a pudding that was citrus tart – the only down fall was the pudding it was too torte it was hard to eat and just not very nice. Although one thing out of 100’s really lovely day and thank you again!

We stayed in one of the rooms with the best bath tub ever - breakfast was fab too - really exceptional!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    48
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
58
107
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wild West,Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A HUGE thank you to Natalie and her Team for helping to make my husband's birthday celebration an absolute fabulous time. We were a party of 13 and the entire weekend was outstanding, professional, and just perfect. All of our meals were superb! (-presentation, quality, and taste 10/10) The spacious, comfortable rooms are so tastefully done with gorgeous views and include everything you could want including robes, tea/coffee and even fresh milk. The staff were always polite and nothing was too much to ask. The location is perfect for wanting to get away to the countryside for rambling walks yet close to shops. Our family still raves about what a wonderful time they had and can't wait to come back. Definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriffandWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting the Spread Eagle for the past 4 or 5 years and have never once been disappointed. The daily changing menu means that you can always try something new and the standard of food is excellent for the price.

Also stayed here once and again found the experience excellent. Lovely room and the breakfast was great too.

Overall, this is a really nice restaurant which is well worth the money.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed overnight en route to a funeral in Settle which helped enormously in raising spirits. Drinks are excellent as is the service in a very well appointed and spacious dining room. Dinner was more than satisfactory and the bedroom clean and comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly unheated and had the only hot water tap in the country which moved in a clockwise direction to switch on.The shower, on the other hand, was superb. Breakfast was excellent. Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to avoid roadside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geofffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

First of all I would just like to advise anybody reading these reviews to take absolutely no notice of any negative comments or reviews as this restaurant/hotel is far from a bad experience.
As soon as we stepped through the door we were welcomed by the attentive staff and we were instantly taken care of. Me and my fiancé were taken to our table, a table right next to the window with a beautiful view of the river, and were delightfully impressed by the friendly attitude and politeness of the young waitress who took the up most care of us all evening. Both me and my fiancé had the soup for starter which was absolutely beautiful, I then had the steak burger to follow and my fiancé had the roast beef dinner and we were both astounded by the 5* quality of both meals. Obviously having had two lovely courses already we couldn't resist ordering a dessert which again up held the outstanding quality of the previous two meals we had eaten! I would like to thank The Spread Eagle for a charming evening and the delicious food and the young waitress who kept us in her wonderful hands all evening! We will definitely be eating here again in the very near future and we hope to become regular customers at The Spread Eagle Hotel.
Madison Binder x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The Spread Eagle is a lovely, stylish hotel in a wonderful setting but the lack of attention to detail let it down. When we arrived we were shown to a room which was freezing cold as nobody had put the heating on. The bathroom ceiling was stained from a bad leak and the tiles were coming away from the wall. Only one of the lights worked. We were very quickly moved to another room but really that room should not have been used in that condition in the first place. The second room was much better but again no heating in the bathroom, (and I had to clean the bath before I could use it) the Duvet cover had holes in it and the tea and coffee residue of the previous occupants had not been removed. Small things maybe and other than that the staff were lovely, the food was good and the public areas extremely well presented. However friends of ours have stayed here before and had a wonderful experience so we may just have been unlucky.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Huntyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I have never felt the need or desire to write a review on here or any site quite simply because I haven't been blown away enough (or disappointed to a new low) to warrant a review!

I am making my review debut for the spread eagle at sawley for its absolutely fantastic all round service. I took my mum and dad and wife here for dinner on Saturday gone. It was mine and my wife's second time here and this time excelled even more than last. From the cosy welcome to the knowledgable and friendly bar staff to the attentive waitresses and waiters, to the food being served promptly, to the subsequent food being presented stunningly (see pics!) to the wonderful taste of it, we were all extremely satisfied with what we had. The best bit about it though is the price. In my view it should, for what you get and for the service you experience, be a lot more but I'm certainly not complaining!

I cannot fault this place it is my favourite restaurant by far and I cannot recommend it enough!

Thanks very much all at spreadeagle!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacklfc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawley
2.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
755 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
433 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
7.8 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Sawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing