We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a valentines treat! The staff were really friendly and helpful on arrival and showed us to our room which was beautiful. We had a room with a view of the stream which was lovely. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the staff were again very efficient and friendly. After dinner we sat in the bar which was nice to do a spot of people watching! I had the best nights sleep in a very comfy bed and the following morning enjoyed a very substantial Yorkshire breakfast! I will defiantly be returning and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

THANK YOU FOR YOUR GLOWING REVIEW! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! It really makes our day when our guests take the time to tell us how much they like us! CHEERS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 259 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend for a belated Valentine's thing with my partner. Lovely spot but we decided it was too cold for an extensive walk and retired to the bar...!
Nice and relaxed, but quite busy.
Our room was really pleasant and we had a peep in the others which looked equally pretty and stylish.
Evening meal was great with attentive service.
Breakfast well above average with a nice, if uninspired selection.
The phone in our room didn't work so we had to go down for wine glasses and then an ironing board, but that's a minor quibble.
Good parking across the road and cute ducks on the riverbank opposite.
Overall, a really pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christabelle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

thank you for your charming review! We are chuffed you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from our second overnight stay this month at the Spread Eagle and we enjoy it more every time! The pub is charming with stone flagged floors, a roaring log fire and fabulous views from every window. The service is great, especially from Ed and Adam and the rooms are terrific. Whoever designs the rooms for the Individual Inns deserves a big pat on the back - they are quirky and luxurious at the same time. I have to disagree with the previous reviewer though, as we have eaten twice now at the Spread Eagle and our food has been excellent. The wines are really good and good value (especially the Prosecco) and breakfast is lovely. I am a huge fan of the Individual Inns brand and have already stayed 3 times at the Wheatley Arms and loved it - so we've only got the Tempest Arms, the Mason's Arms and the Fountaine Inn to try out.Going to be great fun trying them all out!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in Rooms 3 and 4. Although 3 is the biggest of the rooms with a dual aspect my favo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you Joy for your lovely review we are so thrilled that you enjoy our Inns! What a great way to spend a night away in an Individual Inn your review says it all! CHEERS!

From all at Individual Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Spread Eagle. It is set in a very lovely part of Lancashire and the hotel does justice to its surroundings. Our room was cosy, elegant, a nice balance of modern and period charm. This applies to most of the hotel. The service is pleasingly old fashioned without being stuffy, the public bar likewise with its easy atmosphere. However our dining experience was very disappointing. The menu is too extensive, choices are hackneyed and uninspired. We waited a long time for a very mediocre meal. We cancelled our reservation for the following evening. Fabulous accommodation, poor food.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BettyBenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that all was not too your liking on your visit to our wonderful Spread Eagle.
I am thrilled that you liked the decor, rooms and of course our setting. But saddened to say the least that out award winning food was not to your liking! I will certainly pass on your comments to our team and most certainly look into all points mentioned.

I do hope that you try us again in the future, I am sure all will be to your liking on your next visit.

With all best wishes Grieg & Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Spread Eagle is warm and friendly from arrival to departure. The accommodation is excellent and bar and restaurant is also excellent. The staff are efficient and very helpful and friendly - would highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the Spread Eagle it really is a lovely place set in a stunning location. We do look forward to seeing you again very soon till then thank you so much.

Grieg and Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a treat after a long day on the road, I arrived very late so missed dinner.
Rooms beautiful, high quality furnishing applied with taste. Although this is part of a small group of inns, there is no sign of the usual penny pinching. water and fresh milk available from communal hall fridge, chocolates too much to see in one short visit, very welcoming, stunning location, will reserve the perfect marks till I eat an evening meal. breakfast great,
Lovely staff. very much a part of the local community , with film nights, guest chefs, all work to make a great venue for business or pleasure.
Thanks for a faultless night.
Will be back again.

Room Tip: Room 4 Stunning views, dont think they will have a bad room, not that type of place.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our little Inn we are extremely proud of our rooms at the Spread Eagle and do hope that next time you visit you will have enought time to enjoy our superb restaurant and wonderful food. once again thank you.

With best wishes Grieg and Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We attended my nieces wedding last week and had the reception at The Spread Eagle. I have never been there before and was stunned by the beautiful surroundings.
It is a perfect venue for weddings as the views are breathtaking and plenty of areas for photo opportunities at it sits by the River Ribble and there are remnants of an old abbey nearby.
The food was excellent, piping hot and the service prompt.
The pub itself looked very inviting especially after a long walk in the surrounding countryside.
I will certainly be visiting again when next in the area.

Room Tip: I didnt stay overnight at the hotel but people who did said the rooms were lovely and breakfast very...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crissie-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you Chrissie for your fantastic review we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and of course that of the many attractions surrounding the Spread Eagle there is so much to mention!

Hope we see you again very soon.

From Grieg and Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawley
2.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
769 reviews
8.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,093 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
9.0 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
449 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Sawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawley
Price Range: $87 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing