We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed one night at The Spread Eagle the room was lovely and as shown on the website.

The staff were very friendly, the inn is in a beautiful setting by the river.

The food was great we had lunch, evening meal and breakfast. The cooked breakfast was wonderful.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just happened to see a sign post off a main road for this pub on our travels. Such a lovely setting, next to a river with ducks and across the road is the ruins of Sawley Abbey. We had a couple of drinks. My partner was impressed with the range of guest ales. As it was lunchtime, we had a look at the menu. A good choice and some different ideas. We opted for a Ploughmans platter to share. It came on a Lazy Susan (revolving wooden platter) and had lots of goodies on it - pickled onions, pickled egg, pate, thick cooked ham, 2 types of cheese, various chutneys and freshly made bread and butter. We ate the lot, it was fab!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

It would be hard to find a more scenic setting for a hotel: hardly surprising to learn that the Spread Eagle is popular for weddings. The River Ribble all but runs through it, and the remains of a Cistercian Abbey are just a very ancient stone's throw away.
The rooms are beautifully set out and well equipped: the design overall is something to be admired. Especially loved the fact that any unoccupied rooms are left open for nosy souls and former chamber maids such as myself to inspect!
The food was good value, and the breakfast selection comprehensive.
Handy hint if you are staying: you will find your kettle in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This hotel is set in a beautiful place, the service was good and food excellent.

There is nothing I can fault about this place

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomerNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited this time for 'Lunch with the Hamiltons' (Neil and Christine) - a 2-course set lunch which was tasty and well presented (all praise to the chef for catering for 50-odd in the function room as well as the main restaurant). There are great views of the river and local ducks here if you bag the right table. There is a set menu and a daily 'Weather Report' of specials.
The Spread Eagle hosts quite a few special events.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalleykay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had a great night out at the Spread Eagle monthly movie night last night. The food was excellent - the movie was fantastic and the hospitality was relaxed yet attentive. If you get chance to book for their movie night meal/movie ticket combo then I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krukrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have stayed many times at this excellent hotel, and cannot praise the staff too highly. The food is of a consistently high standard and the wide selection of beers, wines and spirits will meet any taste. As mentioned by others the setting is beautiful. Note this is a popular place for those in the know so my tip is to book in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwilym E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawley
2.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
769 reviews
8.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,093 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
9.0 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
449 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Sawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawley
Price Range: $87 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing