We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had a fabulous stay. Can't find a fault with the Spread Eagle. Staff were friendly, food great and the room was relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qprbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    48
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
58
106
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and i stayed for three nights in July as we were attending a wedding in Giggleswick. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, we had to change rooms on Sat night and on Sunday went back into the room we were in on friday! We had to get ready for a wedding on sat and we were given every assistance to make it easyto do so even tho we were vacating one room and moving to another.

The whole atmosphere at the Inn is one of relaxation and enjoyment. The food is as good as in any 5star hotel and the waiting staff so very helpful and friendly

Rooms are very tastefully furnished with a lot of thought gone into the comfort of them. Just a first class place to stay, We will difinitly make the detour off of the M6 when travelling to Scotland and break the journey at the Spread Eagle

Room Tip: Room three is superb , as are to two other rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishlass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

After much hunting around for a wedding reception venue, we opted for the Spread Eagle based on flexibilty, value, quality of food, great rooms and above all, the fact that it's in beautiful surroundings and doesn't take itself too seriously.

We had, without doubt, a fantastic experience from star to finish with Kate and her team. The service was excellent, and we could tweak every detail, down to ordering a single extra bottle of wine during the meal, or a couple of last minute extra sausage butties for those late party munchies if we wanted. No fixed packages here.

The food was, it was agreed by all, outstanding. Food is a big part of our lives and we wanted it to be a central part of our day. We were bowled over by the consistent quality which, anyone who's been to a wedding may well know, is a hard task when catering for 100.

The rooms are in short supply unfortunately, as they are all lovely. Fortunately, Kate was able to suggest accommodation options for our guests, many of whom were travelling from far and wide, so all was well. We even stayed an extra night as we loved the room so much.

I would thourouly recommend the Spread Eagle as a wedding venue. The comments we received from our guests (and those we heard second hand via others) were all glowing. Thankyou again Kate and the team. We'll be back for an anniversary meal every year if we can!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Spread Eagle on our way to Scotland. It is in a beautiful little village.
There are 8 rooms all very different, we were in Room 1 which was very spacious, it had a flat screen TV, Tea & coffee and a large bathroom with separate walk-in shower.
The food at the pub was excellent, particularly the freshly cooked breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Website shows pictures of all the rooms, so there are no nasty surprises when you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfLC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

stayed here for 1 Night and had a wonderful meal and the bedroom was beautiful and huge! The staff were very friendly and helpful, i will be returning again soon for more than 1 Night as i didn't want to leave ! Would recommend the Spread Eagle to anyone who wants a relaxing and classy break!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolafreckleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here on the way home from a weekend at the Tempest! My room was amazing , i took my 2 children with me and there would have been room for more! The food and service was truly excellent and the breakfast a really good start to the day! I would reccomend the Spread Eagle to anyone and will be gong back myself very soon! Excellent all round!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a lovely find, been twice now as great meeting place as we live in The Lakes and friends and family live Manchester and Southport way. Been twice and have enjoyed it both times. Great food and service. Outside an old Abbey to walk off your pudding, or simply cross the road to ffeed the ducks. Lovely xx

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pinny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawley
2.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
755 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
7.8 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
288 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Sawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing