We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan's birthday meal”

Northcote Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $139
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Michelin Star restaurant led by Chef Patron Nighel Haworth and Head Chef Lisa Allen. The Northcote restaurant is elegant, stylish and sophisticated with views of the garden and distant hills of the beautiful Ribble Valley.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alan's birthday meal”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very nice restaurant top class service there was not a lot of choices on the Sunday lunch menu as I had the roast beef and asked it to be well done it was served pretty rare for me but everybody else enjoyed it it's probably me being to fussy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    155
    71
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
224 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“As good as it's reputation!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night and took part in the 7 course taster menu with wine. The whole experience was outstanding. The quality of service, the cleanliness of the quirky, yet sumptuous room and the stunning quality of food ensured it was a totally excellent experience from beginning to end.
I would recommend this to anybody who enjoys high quality food and service.
We would certainly visit again. However, we wouldn't do the wine tasters with the meal again, they are too expensive for the quality provided. Also, watch out if you order a cocktail that is not on the very limited cocktail menu. It will cost you an arm and a leg. I ordered a Long Island iced tea and was charged for each individual spirit measure and the dash of coke. It cost over £16!!!
These niggles aside, it was a truly enjoyable visit and one that we will definitely repeat. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank B11boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch - Great food (as expected) - BUT Fantastic staff”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just had lunch at Northcote.

I am obviously aware of Northcote and its reputation for good food - so this was expected and we weren't disappointed. The food was very good, perfectly portioned and amazing value.

The best thing however was the attention given to my party (of 8) by the staff. This was probably a normal Saturday for them but it was a special occasion for us and our reception and treatment by the staff throughout the whole afternoon was truly wonderful. It really made our day special - so thankyou.

Many from the party had travelled far and are already keen to return. I know that we will!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonydUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Celebrating a birthday and wanted a treat and it was just that, made to feel comfortable and welcome from entering- an older man greeted us helped us choose a wine and explained the menu informatively, the food was delicious and we felt like we were on masterchef lol a lovely building, smart,clean and classy fully worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank charlyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First time visit to Northcote and a fantastic evening. The staff were first class, very friendly and welcoming, attentive but not pushy. The food by Head Chef Lisa Allen was superb. We had the five course Gourmet Menu which was very good - the rhubarb and custard dessert being the highlight. Overall, we had a fabulous time and will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan10_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northcote Restaurant also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Northcote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing