We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Experience”
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here in December for my wife's birthday on a Gourmet Break (one night's accommodation plus special meal for two).

We stayed before on a similar deal back in December 2008 and the Northcote Hotel is still as wonderful now as it was back then.

Guests are really treated as someone special; the staff are very professional, but also friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed before and always found the staff to be helpful and courteous, but this is the first time we have stayed since my wife's disability has worsened. The staff were exceedingly helpful without being patronising.

We stayed in a different room than last time and the standards are very high. There was a lovely king sized bed, a large bathroom with separate bath and shower cubicle. All the bathrooms have subdued blue LED lights so you can really relax in the bath without harsh lighting.

There are coffee / tea facilities in the room with real milk in the fridge (not UHT). There are also complimentary soft drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmyTot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay with us back in December and for kind comments about the staff and service and the room and facilities on offer. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Northcote again but don't leave it so long next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Throughout our stay we enjoyed first class service from courteous and attentive staff. We were never overlooked in the bar, lounge or dining room. Our room was immediately ready when we arrived earlier than expected.
Dinner and breakfast were excellent and provide a very good reason to visit or stay again. The dining room is quiet and spacious and has a very pleasant atmosphere. We were more than satisfied with the size of the meals. The savoury cheese soufflé on the breakfast menu was unusual and particularly good.
Our room (11) was very comfortably furnished and had the inspired touch of a professional interior designer. The bathroom was large and opulent. The budget for these rooms and the upstairs public areas must have been considerable. Room 11 also enjoys excellent views with no need to close the curtains for privacy.
You could be fooled by a modest exterior appearance and reception area and you may have the feeling that this hotel shouldn’t be as good as it is, but in fact it’s a perfect example to the great many other “superficially luxurious” hotels who actually fall far below the high stand at Northcote. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay again or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great and you must stay in for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay and for your very kind and complimentary comments.

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay from the room through to dinner and finally breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Northcote for our anniversary and ate in the restaurant. When we booked there was only one room available, the "classic" room, which is apparently the most basic / least stylish of the rooms; however it was still impeccably presented and better than many hotels' best rooms. Proper coffee in the room was particularly appreciated.

Dinner was, as many reviewers have already mentioned, extremely good with relaxed and pleasant service. Whilst not every course was mindblowingly "wow", they were all delicious and well executed with the salmon being a particular highlight. We also appreciated the anniversary message served in chocolate with the petit fours. All in all, a lovely break that we would definitely repeat and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison_and_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. We also appreciate your kind comments about our classic room room 2 which we would agree is a lovely room it is just slightly smaller than our superior rooms and lacks a bath in the bathroom although does have a good power shower.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

As a young couple, my partner and I are pretty new to fine dining but over the last couple of years we have started to try these places out. I decided that we should stay here for a night for his birthday and experience the 7 course tasting menu.
The reception is very welcoming and with warm fires all around you it feels extremely cosy. We were shown to our room which was beautiful (room 14). It was extremely large with a lovely bathroom. We spent some time in our room enjoying the fresh coffee and milk and complimentary drinks in the mini fridge (nice surprise!). We also found out that there is a channel where you can watch the kitchen which was really interesting!
At seven we went to the lounge for appetisers and champagne. You are immediately made to feel like you are the only people there receiving the highest standard of service. We were given a very extensive wine list and were told that there was a sommelier on hand if needed. We were shown into the dining room to our table which had a menu what we were about to eat in front of us.
Whatever I write here will never be able to describe the incredible tastes we experienced. The presentation, taste, portions... everything was so perfect.
We also had a brilliant waiter (who made me laugh because he was so like Sebastian Vettel - for Formula 1 fans) who knew everything about the menu and described each course as it was placed in front of us.
After the meal we moved into the lounge again for our tea and petit fours, as well as this we ordered two final drinks for the night. These drinks were made from scratch by the barman who mixed pretty much everything we liked.
Then it was time for a perfect nights sleep in the comfiest of beds.
The menu for breakfast is larger than any hotel I have stayed in before, with starters offered too. I went for parts of the English breakfast (the sausage and tomatoes were very tasty!) and my partner went for boiled eggs and soldiers, unfortunately one was over done but this is nothing to complain about when the whole evening was so amazing.

We will most certainly stay here again and try a different menu, I recommend it to anybody who wants an unbeatable experience. The staff are so friendly (especially the waiting-on staff) and the food is beyond what you could imagine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to experience the tasting menu and would like to thank you for all your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to read such a nice review and to know that we have delivered on all levels which is all that we can hope to do.

We have all had a laugh about you describing our waiter Christian as Sebastian Vettel!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our third visit to Northcote and even though some of the public areas are looking a bit tired it is still a wondeful place to stay. Our deluxe room was just what you would expect, well appointed with everything you could want.
The food was wonderful served by knowledgeable staff.
All the staff were exceptional giving friendly and efficient service at all times.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcf_lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your review following recent stay with us and for your kind comments about the staff and service. We are really excited about some future refurbishment and extention plans over the coming year or so which will include some of the public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Northcote last weekend we had two birthday celebrations and the food was absolutely amazing we had the Sunday Luch Menu and were not dissapointed. Everything was just perfect the staff were so attentive and made us feel very much at home.
We will definitely return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiniwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Sunday lunch is definately one there to be enjoyed particularly for a birthday celebration or celebrations! We are so pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service and you were made to feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have always wanted to go to Northcote so took friends for afternoon tea.
The welcome was very warm and we were shown into a lovely room. Our order was taken quickly but everything was explained and we were asked if we had any dietary needs.
An enormous pot of tea arrived- lovely big leaf tea which was beautiful .
Four sandwiches each plus scone, cream and jam followed by lovely cakes.
Fresh tea was provided and we never felt rushed.

We had a wander around the garden afterwards and agreed that it had been a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renegades1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to us for afternoon tea which is proving ever popular as an alternative to lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langho
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
246 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range: $253 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned small luxury hotel with a Michelin star restaurant situated on the edge of the Ribble Valley, in the heart of Lancashire. Managing Director Craig Bancroft and the team are dedicated to their vision of ensuring the perfect experience at Northcote. The hotel offers 26 individually styled luxurious bedrooms. Northcote's restaurant is acclaimed for its fine cuisine and serves traditional Lancashire recipes with a modern twist, created from local produce. To add to the experience, the Chef’s Table, in the heart of the kitchen offers insights into how the kitchen operates and the Cookery School provides a unique and intimate experience where you can learn new skills and dishes in a Michelin star kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing