We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancashire can be beautiful....”
Review of Castle Inn Hornby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Inn Hornby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hornby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, on our way to a family gathering and could hardly believe our eyes - not only was the weather in deepest Lancashire absolutely beautiful, but so was this lovely little hotel. Prices are certainly not excessive and the level of comfort and personal attention definitely justified the decision to stay here, rather than the Lancaster Travelodge,

Others have commented on the ear plugs provided to counter the church bells. They are a particular benefit on a Sunday morning, when the bell tolls for a full 5 minutes before 8 am, having struck on the hour as well all through the night. Alternatively, ask for Room 6 (a twin) which seems to be in its own little world, away from outside noise. Our room was well equipped, with a feature bath, but those over 6 ft or with wider than average hips might want to make sure their room has a separate shower too. Getting out wouldn't be easy for everyone....

Breakfast, served from 8.30, was plentiful, freshly cooked and an easy start to the day. We unfortunately couldn't stay for dinner or to sample the cocktail menu but we would love to try those another time.

The owners and staff are extremely good at their jobs - welcoming and friendly without going over the top - and we can only hope that enough people will make the trip to this lovely village to enable them to make this venture a success.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpaStruckSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect week end stay I don't want to make too good a thing if this hotel as it may go to their heads !
Well done every one a wonderful stay go and find out for yourselves !l great family run hotel good food rooms with antiques twist.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDAVIES148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This little hotel is beautiful, relaxed and friendly. The rooms are immaculate , and ours had a double ended bath, which is always a bonus. The food in the restaurant was very good, as was the peroni. Definitely one to revisit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is a gem. Ideally located for trips to the Lakes, the Yorkshire Dales and the beautiful Trough of Bowland. Each room is individually furnished and the hospitality tray was a lovely extra - not only a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and biscuits but also small portions of delicious cakes and luxury chocolates. The Bistro has an extensive and varied menu, and meals are well presented and served. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank she47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for 1 night recently and not only were impressed with the rooms, but also the food, the bar, the restaurant, the staff, and the village it is based in. We were travelling south and wanted somewhere out of a city to stay in and this certainly fitted. Was perfect pit-stop after a long day driving. We had two rooms here, and both were fitted out with quality furnishings, and according to my mother who can be very 'discerning' with the quality of bed she sleeps in, the bed my parents had, gave them one of their best nights sleep. I really am struggling to find something that the place would need to improve on! Well done...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013 and had a lovely time. The food was lovely, the owners were really friendly and welcoming.

The room was nice and the hotel was clean and well looked after. Hornby itself is very quiet - only one other pub but the hotel is near to lots of other interesting places. The owners are happy to recommend places to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We found the hotel almost by accident, but travelling through the dales we needed to stop over and although out of our way we decided to book in at the Castle Inn after rejecting many overpriced due to their location! Looking back so glad we did and it was a shame we could only spend one night here. After a few days in a chain hotel what a contrast in style and comfort.
We arrived, got a very good welcome and were shown our room, twin room at rear, and we both were very impressed with layout and decor. Everything you needed was there including ear plugs as the church clock is supposed to be noisy but we could hardly hear it so no need to worry on that score. Although being over the kitchen we didnt hear them or was bothered by that.
We went down for a meal and the menu was good and the lad who took our order did comment that it might be a while as everything was freshly cooked! This was very evident in the quality and taste of the food. The desserts were very good and my partner went for the unusual ice cream flavours (not your average vanilla, strawberry and chocolate choice here!!) she loved them and a big plus feature of the hotel.
Breakfast was good, cooked to order and well presented and served.
We were well looked after throughout and the owner did talk to us in the bar and how she works and looks to furnish and decorate the hotel everything is thought about and you only have to ask if you needed anything. Having said that everyone was very friendly staff and other guests.
It was suggested we drive through the Trough of Bowland, which was a spectacular drive, on our way home. This is not far from the Hotel and is well signed. Not a drive to be taken if you're in a hurry but is a don't miss if you've got the time.
It would be hard on our finding to give a rating of anything less than excellent. I'm sure we will be looking to stay here when we come back to this part of the world and certainly have no hesitation in recommending it on quality and value.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and very expertly furnished and well appointed We spoke to others and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Inn Hornby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Hornby

Address: Main St, Hornby LA2 8JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hornby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hornby
Price Range: $128 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Inn Hornby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Inn Hornby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing