We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Castle Inn Hornby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Inn Hornby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hornby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is so lovely in so many ways. Beautiful building with very thoughtful decoration throughout all the public areas and the hotel room.

The staff were very friendly and personable and the food was divine.

I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and hope to stay again some day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorpio21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Castle Inn Hornby
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 320 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed on 23rd and 24th December in the fabulous room 1. Our first day was spent relaxing in front of the log burner on the sumptuous sofas, enjoying drinks and the wonderful Christmassy atmosphere. After a soak in the huge copper bath we has a delicious dinner in the bistro where all the staff were very attentive, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast followed a peaceful nights sleep. Late afternoon, mulled wine, sandwiches and yummy cake in our usual spot by the fire. Christmas Eve dinner was as we had come to expect nothing short of excellent, the atmosphere in the hotel was buzzing with families and friends. Jayne,Chris,Tom,Oli and all the staff really made us feel very welcome, a true home from home with all the luxuries too! We look forward to returning again very soon. Thank you folks.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a beautiful copper bath!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed recently for one night and found the hotel to be very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were beautifully furnished, immaculate and warm. We ate in the bistro in the evening and had a very nice meal and lovely bottle of wine. It would have beenthe icing on the cake if one of the log burners had been lit to add the the lovely cosy atmosphere inside but this was not really needed as it was perfectly warm inside anyway. Breakfast was perfectly fine and all in all we had a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Many positives about this place: The sumptuous decor in the rooms, with comfortable beds and crisp sheets with eider down duvets. A beautiful big bath with The White Company toiletries ( hand wash, bath/shower gel, shampoo, and moisturising cream). Friendly staff. a welcoming bar with real ales, and a pleasant bistro serving good food. The character and age of the building ( sloping floors). Good breakfasts with a wide choice of cereals, and fresh fruit available.
It has as the potential to be outstanding, but there were just a few too many minor things that took the edge off it for us- none of them alone would have lost an outstanding rating, but cumulatively they did: The large moisturising cream and bath/shower gel bottles in our bathroom were almost empty as we arrived and not topped up during our 2 night stay-consequently we ran out of shower gel. A damp hand towel was removed from our room on our first morning and not replaced, so we were a towel short. The bistro's food was very good- but the apple and parsnip soup, though clearly full of apple and parsnips was short of spice so became a little bland as you ate it, and the spiced apple and sultana crumble- although delicious- had a collection of crumbs for topping that hand't fused into a crumble ( the custard however was fabulous, as were the venison medallions). The fact that the car park is not accessible from the hotel directly- you have to walk around building... it was raining hard both for check in and check out and so we arrived and left a little wet.
In summary, really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: On arrival unload your luggage at the front of the hotel before you park up otherwise you will have...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

1 night's stay in September whilst cycling the coast to coast route. Pretty room under the eaves but attention to detail superb. An excellent tray of teas, coffee etc. and very comfortable bed and very well equipped bathroom. Dinner in the lounge bar was very good, especially as the bar was pretty busy. We were very well cared for throughout and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have just got back from a perfectly romantic weekend here. This hotel is beautifully boutique but not at all pretentious. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The lounge/bar area with the log burner and soft leather sofas was cosy and homely. Our room was beautiful, I would love to try one of the others if we stay another time as they all look different. First night we had steak pie in the bar area and the second night we sat in the bistro area and had venison followed by lemon posset and toffee pudding. All the food was divine. I loved that the place is relaxed, you can dress for dinner but if prefer to stay casual after a long journey that is fine too.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We're now regulars at the Castle Inn in Hornby and the food and service are both excellent. We have always had a superb meal and Chris, Jayne and Tom can't do enough to help with the overall experience. The beer is always top quality and there's a great choice of excellent wines. We haven't stayed over, as we don't live too far away!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby
2.4 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
116 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
653 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,030 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fenwick Steak and Seafood Pub
2.1 mi away
Brunthill House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn Hornby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Hornby

Address: Main St, Hornby LA2 8JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hornby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hornby
Price Range: $127 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Inn Hornby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn Hornby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing