We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in a beautiful village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Inn Hornby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn Hornby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hornby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a beautiful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was staying with a friend in Hornby and we walked up to the Castle Inn for an evening meal. Immediately I walked through the door I knew it would be wonderful and I certainly wasn't disappointed. Jayne welcomed us and lit the fire in the bar area for us. I asked if I could see the rooms and Jayne was happy to oblige - I'm not surprised, as the rooms are beautiful and so tastefully appointed, definitely 5*. We decided to stay in the bar for our meal, although the bistro looked very inviting as well (next time we'll try the bistro!). The menu was superb, but we decided on the fish and chips which were deliceous, accompanied by a lovely bottle of wine. It was a perfect way to spend my last evening in Hornby, and I'm very envious of my friend who has this delightful place on her doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixieperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    55
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
38
188
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey Village
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Having walked into the 'WOW' factor environment of the Hotel, both my mum and I were welcomed by extremely friendly staff.

Before being seated, for what I can only say was the tastiest roast dinner I have had for a long time, we were able to enjoy a light refreshment (of freshly squeezed orange) from the bar in front of on open flame fire.

We had travelled through from Kirkby Lonsdale and look forward to returning to stay in one of the breathtaking rooms that will be available on our return to the Lakes, in Hornby.
If yhou would like to be surrounded by impressive decor and stay in a place with real character and real history - this place is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: When we stay (and I will probably take a partner next time) I would either stay in the room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Evening meals were excellent, breakfast was first class in terms of choice, quality and service, accomodation top noch, couldnt fault it.

Room Tip: try the room with the cooper bath very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

we were staying at my daughter in laws family home in hornby and called in for a glass of wine while out walking,the house red was lovely as we settled in this wonderful bar for a bit of a rest.it was very quite at lunch time mid week and we were given a tour around the beautiful refurbished accommadation.It has just 6 rooms but each one is a gem and,i offered to test drive them which was met by a polite smile,but i wasnt taken up on the offer.We booked for dinner on saturday night for 4 adults.What a delight.Im not a foodie or veggie but i had the tempura veg,and mushroom stroganoff and was in heaven,the rest of the family had various gastranomic lovliness and dinner was very quite apart from the oohs and ahhs and shared looks of joy.It was quite busy as they had a birthday bash for about 25 or so going on plus other dinners,but the service was superb and we had a wonderful evening.
We ate in the function room which was warm,rustic and inviting.Jayne runs a fab place and both she and her staff make for a fantastic night.
We booked for Sunday roast which was good value and a smashing end to a lovely few days,the house red,shiraz and merlot can be recommended and went down very well.All the food was of high quality and we cant wait to return.Im waiting for a special occasion when i can try out one of those beautiful rooms,who knows i might not ever leave.
I wish them every success in the future,Hornby you are lucky people!

Room Tip: Rooms from £90-£130 Dinner 3 course aprox £25 incl wine coffee and the odd beer Sunday lunch unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueandrich7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Was recommended the hotel by a friend whilst on a shooting trip nearby.
Our ensuite room was fitted to an exceptional standard having stayed in several hotels around the lake district/Dales area recently.
The staff and management were both welcoming and helpfull.
The food in both the bar and restaurant was first class,however the restaurant was very busy
and you would need to book.
We found the stay very enjoyable after being pampered for two days.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npkeltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby
2.4 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
21.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.1 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Fenwick Steak and Seafood Pub
6.6 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lodge Lancaster
The Lodge Lancaster
#2 of 8 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn Hornby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Hornby

Property: Castle Inn Hornby
Address: Main St, Hornby LA2 8JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hornby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hornby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Inn Hornby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Inn Hornby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing