We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Lancashire”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haslingden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sykeside Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haslingden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A former mill owners residence, this country house hotel has very good standards. It was quiet when we visited, and the overall tranquillity was welcome. The room was very comfortable, with excellent toiletries and plenty of tea/coffee etc, and a decent wide-screen TV to watch the Olympics!
Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. Any little niggles? Pretty minor, really. The pleasant bar served many decent bottled beers, but the choice of wine by the glass was disappointing (the white was one of these 'from different countries of the European Community', perhaps Sweden and Ireland?). For the price, it is not unreasonable to expect better.
The bathroom was shower only - no big deal - but there was no soap tray or dish, so there was a bit of a balancing act. A previous guest had left a receipt in a drawer - which we found!
Nevertheless, a very enjoyable stay - a lot of effort has gone in to reaching the high standards, and the owning family deserve a lot of credit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

First class accommodation in a fine building with lovely grounds.The food is excellent and the owners very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After having a lovely meal in the restaurant ( great home cooked food and good value ) we decided to stay the night in the hotel. We were given room 4, which was classed as a standard room, I thought it must be a luxury room, as it had a huge bed, with luxurious bedding and good quality toiletries and good choice of hot drinks, including hot chocolate and horlicks on the hospitality tray ( unlike chain hotels who give you one between you !). It was a cold windy and rainy night, yet the room was lovely, warm and cosy which is unusual for an old building like this one. The bathroom was modern, clean and roomy with lovely furnishings. There was no bath, just a large shower, which was fine by us. The staff are very friendly and very accomodating, we love this hotel having stayed here before a couple years ago and having our daughters wedding reception here too, we'd defintely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeuuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just had a lovely stay at the Sykeside Country House Hotel - fabulous room with a sauna and spa bath in the enormous bathroom. Staff very helpful and the whole place had a really relaxed feel to it.

Room Tip: The room with the sauna and spa bath was lovely - loads of space - quiet - just brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinkHarleyGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife & I, young lad and other family members stayed here last weekend. This is a beautiful period country hotel. We had a warm welcome, an amazing room and en suite with all the toiletries provided. It was clean, tidy and warm. it had all the facilities in the room you would expect ie. tea, coffee, trouser press etc. A great breakfast to start the day (I have paid a lot more for a lot less) Good access from the motorway and to anywhere you would want to go. There are great views across the valley. I would highly reccommend this hotel and will be back again. Remember, you can please some of the people some of the time and some of the people all of the time but not all of the people all of the time. A great place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solodogHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My Husband, myself and our 3 children had 2 rooms at this lovely hotel on the 3rd March 2012, where we met up with other family members in order to attend a Family party. Firstly we managed to arrive a little earlier than check in time, this was no problem and the nice Lady at the desk gave us our room keys straight away. The first impression we had was how homely and inviting it felt there, we were very pleased with the 2 rooms we had, they were clean, tidy, with plenty of space and storage for clothes and bags.The decor was as I would expect for a country style home and I have stayed in a few country house hotels and it was just as lovely here as others I have been to in the past, we felt very relaxed, we kicked off our shoes, made a hot drink, turned on the freeview, connected up to the free wifi (to my understanding the wifi connects better in some places of the hotel than others hence being free), had a nice hot shower and chilled out for a few hours before leaving to party that night.
On our return it was straight up to our rooms where we collapsed into our beds and enjoyed a lovely nights sleep, rooms were warm enough, beds were comfy and clean, I was glad to see blankets, it is lovely to have layers so you can add or remove during the night depending on warmth, so much better than having to fight over the duvet which in my experience have never be warm enough in hotels in the past.
We woke up early and we were sat down for breakfast by 8.30, the choice of food was perfectly adequate and the staff were there to serve us straight away with a smile, full english was yummy and the children liked the fact they they were asked exactly what they wanted so they didn't end up with food on their plate that they didn't like. We were stuffed to the brim after and ready for the journey home.
This hotel is in my opinion excellent value for money, would I return? Absolutely without a doubt! It is also my understanding that the owners are currently making further improvements and they seem to be doing a very good job of it.
All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

As soon as we walked in the room we thought, oh wow! Made a cup of tea, put the tv on, kicked back on to the bed and said "this is just like being at home". Lovely decor, new immaculate cream carpet, amazing bathroom, with big corner shower which was also very powerful. Lovely high ceilings and a flat screen tv with freeview. What more could you want!?
The bed was so unbelievably comfy that I really didn't want to leave and stayed in it til 10 minutes before we had to leave. Check in and out took literally less than 60 seconds as the lady was waiting on us arriving and our room key was sitting waiting. Fantastic service.
Would highly recommend this country house to anyone!! Usually, I would only ever stay in hotels but this little delight has most definitely changed my mind forever!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslingden
4.2 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
526 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
6.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
367 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sykeside Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sykeside Country House Hotel

Address: Rawtenstall Road End, Haslingden, Rossendale BB4 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Rossendale > Haslingden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haslingden
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sykeside country house hotel is a privately owned, family run hotel. found in the heart of the rossendale valley. The hotel itself is set within a late 18th Century building, and has been the home of a number of important people, including the late composer Alan Rawsthorn. The traditional charm and elegance of the building can still be seen within the hotel to this very day, with most of the original features in place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sykeside Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing