We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIDINGS RESTAURANT AT SYKESIDE COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL, HASLINGDEN, ENGLAND”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haslingden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sykeside Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haslingden
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“RIDINGS RESTAURANT AT SYKESIDE COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL, HASLINGDEN, ENGLAND”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have never stayed at Sykeside but regularly eat in their restaurant - "The Ridings". Dining in this beautiful establishment is always a pleasure and I would strongly recommend this to anyone who enjoys excellent food in elegant surroundings. We have eaten there on very many occasions with friends and with family and always come away satisfied and have enjoyed the experience.

On arrival you will be taken into the beautiful lounge, where you may order drinks from the bar and are presented with the menu. Whilst you relax and decide on your orders, canapes are offered to you and when your food is ready you are taken into the immaculate dining room - table always set with crisp linen tablecloths and napkins and your wine ready to be poured.

The food is fresh and home made -really excellent and very well presented and the service is always faultless. After dinner they are always happy to serve your coffee either at the table or in the lovely airy conservatory. Prices are also very good, a 3 course meal usually costs about £22 per person.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    30
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
45
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for one evening only but wished we could of stayed longer. We actually had not booked in advance but found this pleasant grade 2 listed hotel whilst driving through Haslingden. First impressions were wonderful, the driveway was clean an the hotel grounds were kitted out with hanging baskets an flower beds plus there was a delightful fountain just infront of the hotel entrance. The lady behind reception was extremely helpful and as the hotel was quite that evening she gave us an executive bedroom to stay in at a discounted rate. The bedroom was lovely an to our surprise there was a sauna in the bathroom, yes a sauna we couldn't believe it. The bedroom had been recently re-decorated an the ensuite bathroom had too. As some of rhe bedroom doors were open we had a noisy round and I can say that all of the bedrooms I saw were decorated up to a high standard. We did not eat in the restaurant as there was a private dinner party booked so we were recommended a few restaurants in a nearby town but we had breakfast the following morning which was served in the recently refurbished conservatory. It was so relaxing and the service was wonderful. We got speaking to the lady who owned the hotel an she informed us that they are currently refurbishing the whole hotel but it will be a few years yet until they have finished. But from what I have seen we feel like they are nearly there. We were so happy to have found this little hidden treasure and if we ever find ourselves in the area again we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fashionrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Having read other reviews I have to agree with some of not so good. Upon our arrival on the Friday at around 21:30 there was a distinct chill in the air, not so much of a how was your 5hr journey? would you like anything to eat?
We almost felt like we where inconveniencing her when we were given our keys! The next morning after a restless sleep in which my wife and I found to be a very hard bed (maybe good for some but in comparison to 20yrs staying in various establishments not for us) we ventured down for breakfast. The menu (or lack of it) was basicaly Continental or Full English; Oh yes nearly forgot, the choice of mini packet cerals from Kellogs! My wife did try to customize her order a little but this was messed up. We did ask for some extra toast but wished we hadn't after a downward glance to the floor she reluctently obliged. We normally like to have our coffee before any food but didn't dream of mentioning this, we could see she just wanted to get us in and out asap! Lord help her if we had been American (used to good service)
All in all a shame because the rest of the staff where very pleasent. All we can say is if you just want somewhere convenient close to the M-way then there isn't a lot to choose from in Haslingden and this would be the only plus factor with this one. You would think in today's climate the owner would have tried to lead by example and really appreciate the custom.

Room Tip: Room 5 noisy in the morning (above kitchen).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blackburnhamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A special hotel overnight stay was a pleasant experience from telephone reservation (from details found on the internet and a room, chosen from the listed alternatives).This turned out to be splendid in decor, facilities and comfort expected in 4*and 5*establishments. The view from the window overlooked a woody garden aspect that disguised the fact that we were within yards of the busy hub-bub of the area. The bar, dining room and conservatory were all decorated in character with the properties history which itself is interesting embracing Mill owner,Composer and 'Coronation Street'.!
A lovely meal from small but carefully chosen menu was of outstanding quality and presentation. All this presided over by nice friendly staff and a realistic bill made this an unbeatable combination.
Do not be put off by this supposedly wholly industrial setting. North Lancashire has surprising variety with easy access to the most outstanding areas of natural beauty such as the Trough of Bowland' with villages and moorland tops often contrasting dramatically with the valley bottoms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We went for a meal and were thrilled with the staffs politeness, we had a nice conversation with some of the staff who were delightful and funny especially the one with glasses and the red head

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophiemcsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We had our wedding day at the Sykeside. What can i say- PERFECT!! i stayed over the night before where i can a yummy bar snack and quite a few bevys and then we took over the whole hotel for the day venue for our wedding. I can not fault them one little bit, they accomodated everything we wanted. The food was excellent, the staff were brilliant and overall it was a fantastic day. They were so helpful and i will definately be going back there many times to enjoy their cuisine again and again as they do fab sunday lunches as well which we tried out prior to the wedding. The experience has left me on cloud nine!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrigeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

If you're travelling to the North West / Burnley area on business - or indeed for pleasure - then I thoroughly recommend this accidental find.

I stayed in room 1 on the second floor of this eight room period hotel and it was one of the best I've had in the UK. For starters the room is enormous, with a king size bed (great mattress, nice pillows) very nicely decorated and well supplied with the coffee tray. Then we come to the bathroom, again beautifully appointed, the size of a basketball court, with modernistic fixtures (whirlpool bath, twin head shower etc) and - wait for it - a sauna.

My colleagues room (No3) was similarly beautiful but with a four poster bed as the perk rather than a sauna. We had 'executive rooms' of which there are three (I think) but I'd be surprised if the standard (and cheaper) rooms are much below standard.

The owners / staff were wonderfully helpful and the welcome warm.

The breakfast in the morning was simple - and right. Proper sausages (not the horrible flavourless pink things you usually get) lovely bacon and fresh mushrooms. Coffee was good too! Plenty of fresh fruit and cereals as well. There is a restaurant but we ate out as there was a Rotary Club meeting in the dining room that night (went to an Italian a ten minute walk away, also excellent as it happens!)

The gardens and lounge are lovely, the bar intimate and the architecture fascinating.

Now, here's the rub, my bill (including a beer at the bar) was just over sixty quid.

This is only the second review I've left on this site, the first was a crucifixion of a horrible hotel in Poole. I stay in hotels on business roughly once a month so you'll gather that I'm not often moved to hit the keyboard - but the Sykeside hotel impressed me sufficiently to log in.

The only downside that I can report is that the (free) wifi only works adequately in the bar area.

Their website is http://www.sykesidecountryhousehotel.co.uk/index.htm

Unmitigated recommendation. Restful, quiet and astounding value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslingden
3.2 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
4.2 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
488 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Burnley
328 reviews
6.2 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
315 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sykeside Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sykeside Country House Hotel

Property: Sykeside Country House Hotel
Address: Rawtenstall Road End, Haslingden, Rossendale BB4 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Rossendale > Haslingden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haslingden
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sykeside country house hotel is a privately owned, family run hotel. found in the heart of the rossendale valley. The hotel itself is set within a late 18th Century building, and has been the home of a number of important people, including the late composer Alan Rawsthorn. The traditional charm and elegance of the building can still be seen within the hotel to this very day, with most of the original features in place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sykeside Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing