We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stirk House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stirk House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another perfect visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our fourth visit in 13 months, this time meeting up with friends. Food as excellent as ever, with almost too much choice and the inevitable disappointment of not being able to taste all the exciting dishes! Faultless service and great value for money on the Summer Wine and Dine deal. Our Scottish friends loved it as much as we do, so plans to make this a regular meeting point.
The superb staff deserve special mention - they all seem to do that extra bit to make your stay so comfortable and to meet any requests with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    165
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
124
393
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend enjoyed a night stay here Were we got engaged it was amazing they helped him with planning every moment and made me and my fiance feel special the whole weekend excellent stay and the room was massive x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah_beckham1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

A wonderfully warm welcome awaits guests at Stirk House not only from the staff but if you are lucky, as we were, from the friendly, jasmine perfumed local ghost who passes through reception like the mist from an atomiser. The rooms are clean and well-appointed; the beds are huge and very comfortable and the bathrooms have all you'll need. The breakfasts are delicious with a huge variety available. I look forward to another visit so that I can take advantage of the walks in the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3sausagesplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights on a Summer Wine and Dine deal, staying in a Manor House room. The room was of a high standard with a large ensuite (bath and separate shower cubicle). In the restaurant the menu choices and quality of the food for dinner was excellent. Service was friendly and attentive . On each day there was a comprehensive hot and cold choice for breakfast. We were also impressed by the little additional touches which were provided as part of the service e.g.being shown to our room on arrival; being offered canapes before dinner and a complimentary dessert wine during the meal each evening; being offered extras of the hot food at breakfast; and on departure being given two shortbread biscuits for the journey. In all respects the hotel provided a memorable and very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I booked for one night dinner, bed and breakfast and were extremely impressed with the professionalism and high level of service given.
Room was in the annexe but view and comfort of bed more than made up for not being in the main building.
Well equipped leisure facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aalbebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

have just spent a night here was really disappointed. However, firstly I must say that all the staff are lovely - very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. At first sight, the hotel is lovely but later on, it began to change. Our room (24) was very spacious (manor room) and although the view was over the rear of the property, it appeared fine. Unfortanatley, one of the wardrobe doors couldn't be opened fully as it banged into the door retainer on the door. The bathroom was large too and looked quite new although one or two of the tiles were chipped. The bed was enormous and looked so inviting but I had the worst night's sleep in my life - it was like sleeping on a very badly sprung trampoline. The mattress was so soft it offered no support and was extremely difficult to turn over or get out of. The room itself faced east so this morning, even though the curtains were closed, the sun streamed in - black blinds would be a nice idea for those of us who want a little lie in on a Sunday.
The corridors leading to the rooms were decorated in very outdated anaglypta that had seen many coats of paint and the corridor carpet although it was in good condition, needed cleaning. On the first floor you pass a toilet (very strange) which is squeezed in between two rooms. Out of curiosity I had a look! It was very old and grubby looking; in desperate need of a refurb and the net curtain tied into a knot behind the cistern was what I call a "good look"!
Breakfast was lovely - plenty of choice and again, lovely staff; they even came round with a platter of sausages, bacon, tomatoes etc asking if anyone wanted more.
All in all, I'm afraid it wasn't value for money and we left felling very tired, achy and disappointed. Such a shame - maybe if we had had another room, we would have slept better but we'll never know.

Room Tip: don't book room 24 and whatever you do, ensure you aren't in a room near to the toilet on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuntBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to see the Tour de France in Yorkshire. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we set foot over the doorstep. Leisure Club had free access for guests, and we used mainly the Sauna which was clean and well maintained. The room was clean and comfortable, with large ensuite. Evening meal was well priced and menu varied, as was the breakfast - the hotel says it's an 'award winning' breakfast and we can fully endorse this! We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanClinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
15.3 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
18.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirk House Hotel

Property: Stirk House Hotel
Address: Gisburn Road | Clitheroe, Gisburn BB7 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirk House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stirk House Experience - where 16th-century charm meets 21st-century luxury. A 16th-century Manor House complete with 32 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant, bar, function rooms and Leisure Centre, with indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stirk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirk Hotel Gisburn
Stirk House Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing