We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue of the year 2013 (well the best I've been to)”
Review of Stirk House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stirk House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue of the year 2013 (well the best I've been to)”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It is many years since I've been to Stirk House but like fine wine it's just got better with age. This visit was for my son's wedding, and how wonderful it was. The trays of drinks on arrival were well spread so people could get in without queues and the choice was good too. It's also an excellent venue for the photographs as the grounds are immaculate. The reception was fantastic with excellent food and a well organised staff, especially the Maitre D with a list of who had ordered what and were they were seated. Consequently the food was served just like your favourite restaurant, hot and tasty and plenty of it. In fact if I had a complaint it was that there was too much as full plates were accompanied by extra food in dishes, most of which went untouched. After the meal I booked in to our room. We were in the annex (Room 46) but we did not mind as the view was fantastic, and accompanied in the morning by a solo concert from a mistle thrush against a glorious sunrise. The beds were wonderfully soft and comfy, though for someone with short legs they were a bit of a mountain to climb into.
I have 1 minor concern about the room which is that the bathroom could do with a refurb.but it did not change our overall view of our stay.
Breakfast was stunning. Central in the dining room was a handcart full of breakfast starters and cold meats and fish. After a bowl of cereal I succumbed to the full grill. Given that Stirk uses local producers for cooked food it was not a full English but a full Ribble Valley and all the better for it. Again a full plate arrived followed a couple of minutes later by a man with a silver salver with bacon, sausage and tomato asking if you'd like extras. I admit to another sausage. Alas all too soon we had to leave feeling that the staff and venue had added to the joy of our Jimmy marrying his Sara.
One final comment. The hotel deserves praise for the conservation work it's doing, using the amount of land it has to encourage wildlife. Maybe going that extra mile is what makes Stirk so good, long may it continue.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex give you fabulous views and a chance to see the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huncoyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    168
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
124
399
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at this lovely hotel. Helen gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our amazing room. Later we used the leisure facilities which was relaxing as we had it to ourselves. Dinner was amazing, we commented on every course how tasty it was. On the last morning chris the head chef came out to make sure we had sufficient breakfast. Definately going back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaandmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel exceeded all expectations. We had a two night break with dinner, bed and breakfast in a Manor House Room for under £200. The room was excellent with comfortable seating and the food at both breakfast and dinner was brilliant both in terms of quality and choice. Definitely a keeper this one! As a bonus there are plenty of walks and places to visit as well. The staff were brilliant and very helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the Manor House rooms rather than the basic, they are n ot that much more expensive on the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnttJyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Decided on a spur of the moment Sunday deal - bed, breakfast & 3 course dinner. Had stayed before on a Groupon deal and was very impressed. Stayed in the main building in room 10 (forget the name of the suite.) Had stayed in the Lidun Suite before, which was stunning, but not much of a view if that's what you want. Better views from Room 10, sunken double jacuzzi bath, separate shower and massive comfy bed. Spacious lounge area and quirky windows. Check in was super efficient with an offer to carry luggage from the young lady(not many places do this). As it was raining off & on, we decided to chill out until dinner. What a fabulous experience!! Very attentive, but unobtrusive staff, who were well mannered and obviously well trained. All the perfect service without feeling uncomfortable. Can't fault the food... the choice & quality was amazing... well done chef!! After dinner, we relaxed with drinks in front of a cosy log fire. After a great nights sleep, we had a super breakfast. So much choice... I couldn't take it all in. After the previous nights indulgence, I opted for fresh fruit, then managed a tailored "full English". Lots of other choices on offer such as smoked haddock with poached egg. After breakfast, it was camera at the ready and a walk to the hide, to get some snaps of the local wildlife.
All in all, a very nice experience and I have no hesitation in recommending the Stirk House Hotel. I only wish I had taken the names of the superb staff who were on duty on the evening of 14th April, in particular a tallish young man. If management know who it is... give him a pat on the back (or even better a pay rise)

Room Tip: For a touch of luxury, try Room 10 or the Lidun Suite which has two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

i loved the relaxing atmosphere inside and out - lovely countryside, relaxing spa and exceptionally cosy and relaxing communal areas by the roaring log fire and cosy but big bedroom. A delicious breakfast and friendly staff all set in lovely grounds with gorgeous views. Close to Clitheroe and easy access to wedding venue at nearby Eaves Hall, which was the reason for my stay.

Helpful?
Thank gottabekt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights B & B . The hotel and room were really very good , we couldn't have wanted more . The staff were always available and very helpful . Great views and walks around the hotel and if you want to go the extra mile there is a gym and pool .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and friends stayed in a suite - both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Stirk House Hotel. We booked a suite in the annexe as there was a wedding on during our stay and we didnt want to be disturbed by noise.
Our suite was disappointing in some ways - the living area was very tired with awful furniture but a gorgeous view. The bed was fab however - massive and very comfy. The suite could do with a makeover in my opinion. However - as it was at the end of the drive it was very quiet which was what we wanted.
The staff are great, very attentive and the service on Friday night and Saturday morning was amazing. However on Saturday night and Sunday morning the service was more erratic as the hotel was very busy with the wedding. I had to ask for my breakfast order to be taken as I think they forgot about me!!
The food is totally gorgeous - the best bit of the whole weekend. The leisure club is ok, pool nice and warm. The grounds are beautiful and the sunrise was stunning.
Would I go again? Yes, but I would try and get a Groupon deal next time and stay in the main house when there isnt a wedding on!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
15.3 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,048 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
21.9 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
618 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirk House Hotel

Property: Stirk House Hotel
Address: Gisburn Road | Clitheroe, Gisburn BB7 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirk House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stirk House Experience - where 16th-century charm meets 21st-century luxury. A 16th-century Manor House complete with 32 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant, bar, function rooms and Leisure Centre, with indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Stirk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirk Hotel Gisburn
Stirk House Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing