We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Chilled nights stay at the Stirk”
Review of Stirk House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stirk House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have just reurned from one nights stay with my Fianc'ee Susan at the Stirk Hotel and really enjoyed the experiance.
First of all, they accept dogs at no extra cost which is wonderful.
When we arrived, our dog daisy was given a Doggie bag of treats which was a really nice touch.
The owner is a member of the owl Trust and has put in owl boxes in the trees around the hotel grounds ( approx 27 Acres). Being obessed with owls had me wondering around the grounds looking for a sighting and daisy our Jack russell scared off a pair of Tawny owls whilst close to the hotel.
Food was excellant and our evening meal was by the roaring log fire in the lounge. Will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are better than the annex at the rear of the hotel but there is no lift in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 791 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved our time at the stirk house hotel.. We found info of the stirk on groupon and it was worth every penny ! Pulling across the private drive and into the car park its already so beautiful as soon as u walk in your welcomed with a smile and you can already smell the log fire u get shown to your room (we paid extra £40 for a upgrade) then its down for a cream tea infront of the fire.. The bed was queen size it was so comfy we could of just stayed there all day the bath was deep and the room was always warm.. The staff were so well dressed and always had a smile on their faces normally over worked staff are pointless but these staff work hard and don't show it !.. The food was very nice but if your sum1 that likes just pub grub you won't like this food ! Its very upclass.. As far as we no there is no change in menu everyday is the same and I think there is only 5-7 main dishes this is the lunch and dinner menu so it can get boring as nice as it is !.. We booked this break 2 follow another break at blackpool and the lakes as I'm 8months pregnant and we just wanted 1 last trip away before the baby comes to relax and we really relaxed here we were so comfortable from start - finish. The only things that we did have problems with were we rang in advance to check they had a laundry service as we were going strait there from another holiday and we were told yes then when we arrived we were told they didn't although it does state that they have in the rooms file 2nd was a strange smell coming from our toilet in suit no.4 and 3rd was make sure u double check your bill when you leave as we were charged for things that we didn't have and things that we paid cash for but they couldn't of said sorry enough times and refunded us no problem we were also given fresh baked bickys for on the way home which was such a nice touch. We cannot wait for our next stay at the stirk house and planning our wedding there

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeshauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

A group of over a hundred of us were here for our club AGM followed by dinner and dance. The staff were polite, helpful and efficient. The food was excellent and good value with extras being offered (also at breakfast time). Shame there are not more rooms as I booked late and had to camp outside (in late November!) but the lawn is nice and soft! Access and location are great and I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalesman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

From the first contact by phone to the final goodbye, I was impressed by the helpfulness and commitment of all staff, especially Helen on reception and the ubiquitous James who struck the perfect balance between professionalism and friendliness in the restaurant.

Arriving during a heavy storm we were immediately welcomed and shown to our wonderful large room (22) - although it was a bit of a trek through several doors and corridors. The bed was immense and soooo comfortable, the bathroom/ wetroom excellent with generous and quality Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

Afternoon tea taken in the lounge near a lovely warm open fire was the perfect relaxing start to our stay. Our evening meal was excellent - to start we enjoyed a generous portion of gravadlax and melt in the mouth smoked haddock fishcake with perfectly poached egg followed by duo of local lamb perfectly cooked, well-timed and presented with flair and style. Then a really nice touch came with the superb homemade Eccles cake and Lancashire cheese, a complementary glass of Port was served; similarly with the sticky toffee pudding and clotted cream came a lovely glass of Chilean Moscatel dessert wine. Bravo! The wine list offers a good number of excellent reasonably-priced wines by the glass, and plenty of choice in a well balanced and carefully chosen selection.

The hotels's excellent dog friendly policy even extends to providing a bag of goodies and the grounds on the following morning were extensive and perfect for exercising; I was lucky enough to spot a troop of five roe deer just wandering along at the bottom of the lawn.

Breakfast was again superb and it was another sign of the excellent customer care that the boss was on hand to welcome each party to their table.

In view of all the positives it seems churlish to raise anything negative but the decor though freshly done is rather dated - the restaurant colour scheme tries but fails to offer warmth or cosiness for such a grand room, and the acres and acres of magnolia emulsioned anaglypta throughout are so dull; nor does the fearsome cherry red and black swirly carpet help much. Sadly the corridors were actually being repainted the same dreary colour whilst we were there - a pity as a bit of decor flair would put the icing on an excellent cake. Nevertheless it did not spoil our stay in any way and we would love to return soon. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindboggler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent escape for peace and relaxation!
Wonderful food and setting completely spoilt and totally pampered.
Will Definately return. Stayed room 3 manor suite lovely. Huge bath.
Went on a groupon offer £109 for afternoon tea dinner (3 course) and breakfast plus the use of leisure facilites excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Stirk House earlier this year on a Groupon offer and loved it so much we rebooked for 2 nights. We requested the same room - Gisburn Suite which we were delighted to have been given again. The suite is enormous with lovely views from the side and front of the bedroom. The jacuzzi bath is heaven! The service was again extraordinarily good from the reception with staff taking our bag up to the room, bar and waiting on staff, and a very warm welcome from the hotel manager who was extremely visible throughout the hotel. It was also nice to meet the chef who created such superb cuisine. The food is amazingly good and the desserts need special mention! The hotel was very busy on Saturday evening with a party in the function room and a group dinner booking but the service never faltered, The lounge with the log fire is the icing on the cake. The hotel has so many positives - we can't believe it is only 3 star. We will be making trip no 3!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherineonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived after booking on Late Rooms, very stressed due to a home emergency (no water or heat!). From the second we stepped through the door just began to unwind. Shown to rooms in the Lodge, panoramic views across the Yorkshire Dales and Pendle. Softest bed we have ever been in, my husband prefers a firm bed so envisaged back ache, but the bed appeared to be memory foam and we both slept so soundly, added advantage that in the Lodge we could not hear any noise from the party which was going on in the main hotel. Only gripe is the shower was near impossible to get hot and lacked power. Both used the Leisure facilities, steam room was heaven. Both fell asleep in the armchairs by the roaring log fire. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Other hotels could do with sending their staff to observe how we were treated 5 star service from a 3 star hotel. Wonderful stay, just too short. Would love to go back some time.

Room Tip: The Lodge may seem as though it is too modern and prefab, but lovely and quiet with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katymc226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
21.9 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
15.3 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
298 reviews
10.1 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
249 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirk House Hotel

Address: Gisburn Road | Clitheroe, Gisburn BB7 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Price Range: $104 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirk House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stirk House Experience - where 16th-century charm meets 21st-century luxury. A 16th-century Manor House complete with 32 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant, bar, function rooms and Leisure Centre, with indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stirk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirk Hotel Gisburn
Stirk House Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing