We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service ideal valentine night”
Review of La Locanda

La Locanda
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome and friendly atmosphere awaits you in this cottage style restaurant, in the heart of the beautiful Ribble Valley, which offers exciting and genuinely traditional Italian cuisine. To ensure the highest quality only the best local produce is used in our dishes whilst our specialist food products and wines are supplied by small dedicated producers from various regions of Italy.
pendle hill
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great food and service ideal valentine night”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went for a valentine treat and were delighted.Set menu @£24.94 for three courses and glass of prosecco plus super bread basket tremendous value.Despite restaurant being very busy staff were relaxed and efficient

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    89
    43
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely evening, many thanks”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great food in a wonderful atmosphere, we are so lucky to have food like this so close to home, thanks we will be back again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over hour wait for a main course”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

After reading reviews went on valentines. Waited 25 min for starter ( assumed due to bust valentines) and over hour and ten minutes for our main courses went most of the restaurant had left. Decided against sweets and coffees due to a crazy waiting. We booked 8.30 and left a 11 after finishing our main course.
No apologies , no explanation. Shame as it ruined our night

Food was nice though, fish with pasta in a bag was nice starter, don't recommend the papadelle with prawns but the pasta filled with salmon was very good
Be aware we had a terrible experience and food good but not as rated as suggested on here

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinta1967, Owner at La Locanda, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
briefly
booked at 8.30
had drinks
8.45 order taken
25 minutes for starter due to cooking time for meal and off course busy night as you said
about 20/25 minutes to eat and about 20/25 minutes waiting time for your main you paid at 10.43 as the card machine tell me so I do think you got wrong timing, and the restaurant it was very busy upstairs , I do not think this could ruin a nite out unless you are looking for two our out only. you where sat downstairs but the restaurant it has the main dining room upstairs, hope to see you again , all the best for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and bland”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading all of these great reviews, me and my fiancé decided to travel 45 minutes to the restaurant. We were shown to our table and the atmosphere in the restaurant was cold and unwelcoming. I ordered a mushroom salad which was so dry I couldn't eat it and my fiancé had a tortilini soup which was tasted like bovril with bits of ravioli floating around in it! The main was average , fillet steak with peppercorn sauce nothing special. The meal came to just short of £100 it was absolutely shocking, the service wasn't warm at all and we had to ask 3 times for the bill, and always had to ask for a drink, what an absolute waste of my valentines meal utterly dissapointed I will not recommend to anyone

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadeandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinta1967, Owner at La Locanda, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
the restaurant is not cold and unwelcoming, probably you did not like your table but you booked on the afternoon for the evening on Saturday, I am afraid but that was the only table available
Salad....... it is dressed with a generous amount of dressing but if you need more is the same old story ASK! And also on the table it was a bottle of extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
Tortellini........I don't know what is Bovril but I know our BRODO is made in house with chicken and vegetables, the bits of ravioli floating around are what you called tortellini in brodo (it sound a bit like lemony lemonade.....tortellini in brodo with brodo.................what the hell is that!!!!!!!)and I do think you really need some lesson why you are using a knife and fork to eat tortellini in brodo( little suggestion just go on wilkipedia and find out what they are)
Fillet steak......................average what is your judgement of average, probably you need to google peppercon sauce and read carefully our menu which said green peppercorn sauce, but I just wait to do any further comment when you have done your homework about the different peppercorn sauce
Drink ................the drink was promptly asked and served,, always my staff ask for the drinks and if you need something else just ask
you probably ask more than one time for the bill ..but give chance to make it!!!!
Bill.....total £ 89.25 : 2 glass red wine, 2 glass rose wine, 1 basket of bread, 1 tortellini in brodo, 1 mushrooms salad, 2 fillet steak and home made chips, 1 green beans,1 tiramisu, 1 tortino al cioccolato....... my question is where you where when you read the prices on the menu and choosing the most expensive cut of meat on the menu.......no reason to complain on prices!!!!!
I really think we are one the same boat what an absolutely waste of my time to answer a comment with no legs to stand on
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasy tasting menu”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We came here to try the promotion offer for the tasting menu and were not disappointed.
It was mid week and perhaps the staff had the time but they went out of their way to explain the menu and origins of the food fully.It was all very authentic and the attention of the proprietors ,who took the time to chat to us on the way out made the night.
The five course menu was extensive and we were allowed a full choice.
The food itself was cooked superbly and plentiful in portions(unusual for a taster menu).
It was also refreshing to come out and not be ripped off for drinks.
I would certainly recommend this for a visit.
Well done and thank you all at La Locanda

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing