We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real thing,not a pizza in sight,hurrah”
Review of La Locanda

La Locanda
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A warm welcome and friendly atmosphere awaits you in this cottage style restaurant, in the heart of the beautiful Ribble Valley, which offers exciting and genuinely traditional Italian cuisine. To ensure the highest quality only the best local produce is used in our dishes whilst our specialist food products and wines are supplied by small dedicated producers from various regions of Italy.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“the real thing,not a pizza in sight,hurrah”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

A family celebration and the meal was amazing. We had a selection of starters that just kept coming, everyone selected their own main and their were no complaints. The staff were friendly and helpful. The meal set the scene for our son and soon to be daughter in law's wedding. Thank you everyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    89
    42
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with the food and the service from the lady owner”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant tonight for a special occasion we had looked forward to the meal but when the meal came we were very disappointed. The starter was nice but the main meals very disappointing overall. A pasta dish had 7 pasta spirals for £11.95! Another pasta dish very bland and tasteless and the chips were very hard and tasteless. At the end of the meal when the bill came we quoted where we are staying "ribblesdale Park"'to receive a discount. The lady said she would not give us the discount because we had not quoted it before the meal! What difference does this make! Very much a marketing money making ploy I think to get customers in there but not add a nice touch at the end! Due to this I would not visit again and would certainly not recommend this establishment. This place could be ideal if the food had flavour and nice gestures were followed through. You would think a cosy small Italian restaurant would be superb but not this one unfortunately. A very Disappointed party!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank danielle23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinta1967, Owner at La Locanda, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't like our real Italian food.
I need to make few point
1)the pasta is hand made, including the home made ricotta, and was 9 large tortelloni (this is the name of the "spiral") of the generous weight of 250 gr raw pasta. This dish is served only with butter and sage.
2)the other pasta you had was the lasagne (no garlic or mozzarella or herbs) which is more than generous portion and full of flavour, the other pasta was bucatini cacio e pepe wich done with only pecorino cheese, butter, black pepper , and if this is not at your taste(or your guest taste) that what the description of the dish is for , just matter to read it
3)all our recipe follow the traditional Italian cuisine as in Italy, without any compromise, for the classical dishes as Lasagna, Tortelloni ricotta e spinaci, Bucatini cacio e pepe, Cotoletta alla Milanese we found the original recipes and we follow step by step, some of them are provide from the Council where the dish has been created.
4) price for main tortelloni is 10.95 in my opinion is a fare price for the quality and the size of the portion. Your bill total was £160.30 for 8 people, 2 course (included sirloin steak/veal chop/chicken/fish) and 12 drinks. Very expensive?
5)the only reason you need to quote ribblesdale park and your lodge number when booking is because we can check it with ribblesdale park. Everybody can read the offers in our web! You said the gestures wasn't nice, I don't think I was rude and not polite,
6) you have been asked twice before the end of your meal if your food was good for you and the guest, and it was positive comments
7) I think more than anything else it was the discount was bothering you, the rule are clearly stated at ribblesdale park
8) also on the comment left yesterday night you said the service was lovely!?
9)the last point the chips ......nearly forgot, where hard and tasteless you said, none was left.
If you want to come back,...more than welcome, if not..........................................................
I wish you all the best for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Italian cooking in Lancashire”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Enjoyable and tasty Italian food. Slightly cramped downstairs where you enjoyed aperitif but wide open restaurant upstairs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank llouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great food and service, lovely restaurant! True authentic italian cuisine, local produce, fantastic! Would highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Italy on a plate”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a meal as part of a stay in Gisburn. Was OK but limited menu as part of a deal and not offered any alternatives we could have paid extra for which was disappointing. The food was of a good standard. Seems everyone was booked for 8.00 pm so service rather slow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing