We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing weekend”
Review of Ribblesdale Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ribblesdale Park
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing weekend”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Having just returned from a wonderful weekend at Ribblesdale Park, I thought I would share our experiences.
We checked in on Friday afternoon, and within a few minutes we were on our way to our cabin. Approximately 30 mins later someone popped in to see that we were happy with everything.
We chose to stay in a Bronte cabin. Neither of us had stayed in a log cabin and had read some of the reviews in tripadvisor and had mixed feelings which were soon cleared up the moment we stepped inside our cabin.
It was very well equipped and clean with really nice pictures hanging in all rooms. Both bathrooms were large and had spa baths. The shower in the main bedroom constantly dripped which initially was annoying but we soon forgot about it.
Both bedrooms were good sized and our 4 poster bed was very comfy. There is lot sof storage space and wardrobe space.
The kitchen had everything you could possibly need. We had 6 of everything, plates, cups, wine glasses, even shot glasses.
The lounge area had 2 nice leather sofas which overlooked the decked area, a large TV which pleased my other half due to the World Cup being on. The cabin was very warm inside, but for cooler days there is a lovely log effect electric fire. There were a few holes in a wall, which looked like something had recently been removed from the wall. Other than that, the decor was clean and in fitting with the cabin.
Neither of us had been in a hot tub before and were really looking forward to the experience. This was completely enclosed by the garden and we had complete privacy. We could hear low voices from neighbouring cabins, but nothing that was intrusive. ( I have heard much worse from neighbours at home ) We had seen reports on trip advisor about people not being allowed to sit outside after dark.
Every night after dinner, we spent time in the hot tub, listening to our music and drinking champagne ( from plastic glasses we brought along )!
Some night we were still outdoors at 2am watching the stars. We were mindful of other guests and ensured we kept our music at a sensible level.
We had absolutely no issues at all and would encourage any other couples who may be put off by some other comments, to relax and enjoy the tub no matter what time of day or night... Just respect your neighbours !
We were sad to leave today. This was the perfect relaxing few days we had hoped it would be.
We will defiantly be back.
The only thing I could possibly fault, was a lack of towels. We had 2 large and 2 smaller ones for a 3 night stay. Considering guidelines say you should shower before and after the hot tub, towels were well,used and in need of replacement before the end of our stay. We hung them out on the decking to dry so it was no real issue, and I'm sure had we requested fresh ones, they would have been made available to us.

Room Tip: Take plastic wine / champagne glasses with you if you want a drink in the hot tub. Bring some towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 788Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
another extremely generous review. thank you! thank you for speaking some sense about the after 10pm noise rule as some people try to say u can't be on your deck after 10pm. this is absolute hogwash...u can do whatever u want as long as u dont disturb your neighbors. i feel very strongly about people coming and getting a good nights sleep and not being woken up by next doors party. so we make a big point on our website and on the park that if u want to party go elsewhere. we dont take parties of same sex, groups under 25 and take a big security deposit for parties of more than 2 adults...and as far as i am aware we don't have disturbances after 10pm. i am thrilled u enjoyed ur first experience of the lodge as much as u did and hope u come back before too long!
all the best
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    218
    59
    20
    19
See reviews for
292
457
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I cannot fault this holiday park! We stayed in a Wentworth lodge which was spacious, decorated and furnished to a high standard and had a very secluded hot tub, ideal for the romantic break we wanted. The staff on site can't do enough for you, they are all so lovely and the service is exceptional. We used the on site restaurant twice, once ordering breakfast which was kindly delivered to our lodge for us. The food was incredible, need I say more?! The location is so idyllic and peaceful, a real Yorkshire gem! We would eagerly recommend these luxury lodges to anyone, but especially those who are keen for a quiet romantic and comfortable break. Our lodge was chosen for us by staff based on our personal requirements and matched the description perfectly, it wasn't over exaggerated in any way. Can't wait for our next visit, thank you Ribblesdale park staff for a fab memorable trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lozzie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
thank you for your very kind words. especially your appreciation for the team running the show at ribblesdale. they are a phenomenal bunch and i am blessed to have them working at ribblesdale. they make it what it is! well done for calling the office to book...they will match u up with what u want so for those reading this make sure u call the ladies in the office 01200445227 rather than an agency as they can be more specific. come back soon!!!
many thanks
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having just spent a lovely few days at Ribblesdale Park I feel I need to share our experience!! Firstly we arrived for our early check In and was greeted by a lovely lady who was extremely friendly, approachable and on hand for the rest of the week for us, always smiling never did we feel anything was any trouble, we were 2 couples with our young daughters. The cottage was perfect!!!!! Lovely enclosed garden so the girls were safe to wander and free from harm, the cottage was lovely and felt very homely whilst been well equipped and of course the hot tub, well what can I say but heaven! Many a night we would just sit with a drink and chill out! The kids even went in the hot tub and had hours of fun!! The site is lovely and in a very peaceful setting with a small play area for the little ones, there are walks from the estate and we visited Thornton Hall Farm with the kids, recommended by reception and well worth a day out. The hubby's took their bikes and cycled Gisburn Forest and the various quiet country roads and surrounding areas, which they thoroughly enjoyed! The location is perfect to explore the local towns and villages. The staff are a credit to the park one morning I had the unfortunate experience of suffering a puncture on my car, within minutes the maintenance men were there changing my tyre! Can only sum up our holiday as fantastic , lovely friendly staff, a stunning cottage, and all set in an area of beautiful scenery. Thank You Ribblesdale Park for helping us make some lovely happy holiday memories, we are already looking to book again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
thank you so much for such a wonderful review. like i say so many times in these responses thank you for recognizing the team at ribblesdale who do such an excellent job. glad the lads got your tyre changed for u. when running a business like this we need to get everything right and i think ribblesdale does...friendly team, stunning location and lovely accommodation. thank you for acknowledging this and i hope to see u back on the park before too long. call the office for specific lodges...thanks
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

After a long drive, it was like driving into a little piece of heaven. The park is so peaceful and everything very well kept.
The lodge was very big, with a terrace that went all the way around, it was very private and we often had squirrels sitting on our deck. The terrace had a gate so made it great for our dog.
Lodge was overall of a high standard little things such as a normal sized bin and washing up liquid. Also the addition of a dog towel, for when our dog got wet was a very thoughtful touch.
Hot tub was huge, and cleaned daily.
The cafe was lovely, we couldn't stop going back for cake! We had breakfast one of the days and that was lovely and try the homemade pizza too! Dogs are also aloud in so that made the difference too us. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
The park is huge, we spent our time exploring all the beautiful land.
The man who delivered our sun loungers was particularly helpful, he told us where to find the stags and pointed out some great walks!
There are a lot of rules, but I can see the benefit! This is truly a little retreat for relaxing and recharging.
We will definitely be back soon I hope!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank robxx_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
thanks again for such a lovely review...i really appreciate it as does everyone who works there. we all read this website and it means an enormous amount to get appreciated like this. we really value our customers deciding to spend their hard earned money at ribblesdale so nothing is too much trouble for us...thank you again for your kind words and please dont hesitate to call the office for future bookings 01200445227
many thanks
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Booked this park following the good reviews on here and we were not disappointed. Location was great and easy to access Lakes, Blackpool, Skipton etc. Easy check in/out. Stayed in the Bronte lodge, generally well kept and comfortable. Garden was secluded and not overlooked, and the hot tub was well maintained. Hindilinis Café was fantastic. Yes there may be the odd mark here and there in the lodge, Yes you cannot change the temperature of the hot tub and Yes it would be great if Hindilinis Café was open every evening, but these are all minor points, this place is great so if you are after this area, just go!

Room Tip: Bronte was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
thanks so much for such a positive review. hugely appreciated. the brontes are booked all the time and r really popular. they tend to have nice gardens as well as the decks and hot tubs. regards the cafe staying open later we do stay open late on monday and friday and during the summer holidays we will be staying open a bit later everyday except sunday. i hope u book again and please contact us directly so we can ensure the best possible experience. many thanks
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a very large site and the lodges are very close together - whilst a few will have nice views most appear to look straight onto next door. A highly efficient big scale operation but somewhat big brother - you cannot change the heating temperature or the hot tub temperature - both have been boxed in and require a maintenance man to change!
The went worth is an interesting design where the lounge and bedroom wrap around the decking so your hot tub is no more than 2 steps away - must be great in the winter but we felt a little hemmed in and the additional fencing means there is no view at all. Rules mean that unless you are here in the winter you cannot watch the stars from your hot tub. There are also no decent windows so it can feel claustraphobic - probably cosy in the winter
There is literally 2 of everything so the dish washer gets a hammering and the plates have to be negotiated out of the cupboards as they doors cannot open fully due to the handles/design. No decent wardrobe or chest of drawers but the bath and shower are very good.
The on site restaurant is lovely - we had a great breakfast one morning.
We would not go back

Room Tip: Discuss carefully with the site before booking what lodge you are having as only a few have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheWildCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
ouch...i am sorry you felt this way. ribblesdale is not a big scale operation its a family run business with 50 or so lodges a third of which are owned by private owners. the lodges are all spaced out generously so they have gardens and decking areas. yes some have more than others but this isn't an issue that i have heard before. regards the views someone just posted a pic on our Facebook group of the view from a wentworth and its a panoramic of the yorkshire dales. i appreciate that the wentworth may not have been for u...its our most popular lodge but its not for everyone...the idea is that its unique, modern and nothing like anything u will have stayed in before. nothing like u live in at home so hopefully making your holiday more memorable. regards the rules - the only rule is that you dont create a lot of noise after 10pm. u can star gaze all night long from your hot tub if u want so i can't agree with your comment about the rules. i am glad u liked hindelinis and certain aspects of the lodge but sorry u didn't enjoy the wentworth. we have a wide variety of lodges here so can i suggest u try a chatterley...its totally different to the wentworth and might be more your thing. please call us in the office to discuss as i am confident i can change your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were recommended to try out the lodges at Ribblesdale park for a girly weekend with the added bonus of a hot tub in the garden. we were not disappointed. the lodge had everything we needed for a great breakaway. however it did lack a few kitchen essentials like mixing bowls ,sharp knives and a decent frying pan .Bedrooms complete with on suite bathrooms and jaccuzi baths were a delight, both bedrooms also had TV/DVD players, if you feel inclined to sit in bed and watch them.
The garden was huge and secluded and not overlooked, and the hot tub was well maintained whilst we were there.
Hindilinis Café looked very nice but we didn't eat there. we came with enough supplies to last us. a walk around the estate is tranquil and the deli in the village of Guisburn is worth a visit too. More an adult place than for families but we did see a few well behaved children whilst we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilae64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
thanks so much for your very positive review. its hugely appreciated. i am not sure which lodge u were in but many of them have huge gardens and private hot tubs which is what u want! please join our facebook group and there will be lots of special offers going on there this weekend.
all the best
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
1.0 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
756 reviews
5.7 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
260 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
9.8 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
957 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribblesdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribblesdale Park

Property: Ribblesdale Park
Address: Mill Lane, Gisburn BB7 4LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gisburn
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ribblesdale Park - a holiday village on a private estate on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ribblesdale Park Hotel Gisburn
Ribblesdale Park Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing