We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”

The White Bull Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Gisburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Not as expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked the White Bull online as I fancied a nice village pub atmosphere. I was breaking a long journey from Aberdeen to Somerset. I was pretty upset to find the pub shut when I arrived, the excuse given that the staff needed a night off as they had worked the bank holiday the day before. I was received Ok and shown to my room in a separate block at the back. So no nice beer, and no pub food, in fact I was the only person there that night, no staff or anything. The harassed lady who met me and let me in suggested the local Italian . Which I did go to. It. It was excellent in fact, and good value. The room was Ok, although the ensuite was very basic and pokey, and I could not get any hot water to shave. The electric shower was just OK. There was no reception on the TV. Breakfast next morning was good, although I did not appreciate the cheap spread and packet jam. There was no choice or continental option though.
Overall this place was rather average and not worth the money, and I thought it was disgraceful they should accept bookings when the place was not even open. The evening was saved by the Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
20
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went to this public house/restaurant with a large party. Had contacted the White Bull previous as we wanted to reserve a table (being such a large group), and asked if he would be able to put some balloons etc up. The food was a regular menu or a special menu, most decided on the special menu, as it was a three course meal at £13.50. The food was quick, but on the whole was average pub food, the best was the homemade chips. The host was so friendly and helpful and couldn't have been any more attentive. Probably worth a visit for an average pub meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Amazing place me and my husband went to the white bull after waiting an hour at the local Italian restaurant (not happy) we were welcomed by very friendly people and was even given free pizza because we explained what had happened and I must say it was lovely. cheap drinks, great company from staff and locals and tasty food what more could you ask for A++++ thank you for making us welcome Natasha and lee (the newlyweds)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Yet again the white bull has excelled in providing a superb meal. The vegetables were cooked beautifully and the service was spot on. At the moment they have an excellent special menu which offers 3 courses for £13.95 which is outstanding value. Hassan and Rachel are excellent hosts and are very attentive. The real fire sis beautiful and certainly helps you to beat the winter blues. We will be back again very soon :) xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilikefoodandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I come to Gisburn quite a lot and always go to the White Bull!! Love everything on the menu and always have a good chat to the staff. I'd highly recommend this to anyone visiting Gisburn...one of the highlights in this quiet town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We thought we would try the White Bull in Gisburn as we have not been in since the new owners took over - very good decision - we had a fantastic meal. I had the "Hot One" Pizza which was delicious and my husband had the Lamb Meat Balls which were also delicious. All the food is fresh and well prepared. Large portion sizes, so excellant value for money. Will definately return very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Didn't stay here but decided to pop in for lunch as it had changed hands some months previous (the last owners practically wiped out the trade) The food was a mix of English and Mediterranean. I opted for a spiced chicken kebab with rice or chips, pitta home made mayo and salad. It was delicious and you got plenty. Partner ordered fish chips and peas with home made tartar sce. Both very impressed, the home made chips were delicious. Prices were slightly above normal pub grub but well worth it considering it was all fresh and not out of a jar/packet. will definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
1.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
5.3 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Foxhill Barn B&B
Foxhill Barn B&B
#3 of 3 in Gisburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Long Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.5 mi away
Harts Head Inn
Harts Head Inn
#1 of 4 in Giggleswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Barnoldswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bull Hotel

Property: The White Bull Hotel
Address: Main Street, Gisburn BB7 4HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Bull is a grade II listed building, used as a coaching Inn over 100 years ago. It has a excellent reputation for, great food, warm hospitality and a superb range of wine and beverages.We have 8 fantastic letting rooms that can suit a business traveler or a quiet few days away.The hotel has a superb function room that can accommodate all types of occasions such as weddings , business meetings and conferences.The White Bull has something for everyone and we look forward too seeing you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Bull Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing