We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst Hotel Ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crofter's Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crofter's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Worst Hotel Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

I have stayed in a few hotels in and around Preston. I could not get into my favourite one so I took a chance and booked into this one. I wished I had pitched a tent in nearby Knot End! How this place has a star rating is beyond me.

My 'room' was DIRTY, pubic hair in the drain hole, scum in the sink...the bedding stunk....I would have checked out there and then but I was so tired I could not be bothered. I did however book out the following morning. I did not even bother showering or with the breakfast. So much for customer service as nobody asked why I was checking out before I was due to; mind you it may have been something to do with the total lack of customer service in the place.

Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    46
    41
    20
    23
See reviews for
38
85
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

I attended a fantastic wedding at The Crofters last Saturday. Venue was lovely, food was to die for and it was all helped along by the glorious weather! Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the staff. When a dirty plate was picked out by a guest, a member of staff was heard to say to another staff member (infront of me and a 4 year old boy) 'Just put it back on the pile because by the end of the queue, they will be too p****d to notice!' I tried to speak to the member of staff but he refused and didn't apologise. I then spoke to the manager/owner who was even more rude. Bare in mind I am 8 months pregnant (and not drinking) I was told (before explaining my complaint) to come back and discuss it when I was sober!! The manager said she had heard the member of staff's side of the story and had no reason to disbelieve them! Absolutely disgraceful if you ask me! I heard it with my own ears!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemarie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garstang hotels

cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

stayed over for look at lancaster uni open day and the hotel was so relaxing that we made it a 3 night break as its so handy for the lakes and lovely scenery. The rooms were large and comfortable and clean. The cooked breakfast was hot and fresh. So nice to see hotels that still cook to order instead of those dried up buffet things.
The food in the Tavern is wonderful and the staff were quite happy to change the menu around for my fussy husband. I will definitely be back especially if we can get the same rate.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CumbriaJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I recently stayed there to attend a wedding to start the room was in bad need of repair with wallpaper coming away from the walls in general a disgrace.
The actual wedding was a civil ceremony as the bride walked in 2 members of staff were sat on a seat switching a cheap and nasty cassette deck on and off as appropriate.
The meal was a buffet style and set out in only e very small area of the bar and people kept asking if there was any more as it was set out on roughly a 6ft tressle table, People where still gettting thier main course as people were queuing for thier sweet dish.
Bar prices were extortionate with a pint shandy and a diet coke costing £4.50 a glass of diluted orange and water for kids £1.75
After the meals that finished about 5pm the tables were still left with dirty food plates and cutlery on them when they brought the buffet out at about 10PM.
The evening buffet which consisted of bacon butties and chips bringing only about 8 at a time and people were queing waiting for the next lot to be cooked. The bridegroom asked for another 10 bacon butties and he was told that the bill would be £120 for the extra ones NOT BAD £12 EACH.
If your planning a WEDDING there FORGET IT if your planning to stay there then avoid it like the plague certainly not worth it.
Would i recommend a friend SORRY not even my worst enemy needs a lot doing to it

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank larrynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed at the Crofters in January 2010. The hotel is in need of an update, overall in a good location if you use the M6 motorway, we had Serloin steak for the evening meal, the meat was very tough and for the food quality poor, customer service left much to be desired. We felt it was an overpriced and expensive meal. We complained to the manager about the food but the staff atitude seems to be if you dont like it dont come again, so we wont.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebtrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed only one night at Crofter's but wish we could have stayed longer! The hotel owners accomodated our every request, such as a second bed in our room - because of our small child and even kept the kitchen open a few minutes later as one of our friends who was meeting us at the hotel was a little late. By the way, ALL the meals were fantastic, even something as "simple" as the Fish & Chips. (Love that plate presentation!!) All areas -including restrooms - were exceedingly clean and the Bartender, Rachel, was FRIENDLY and top-notch in dealing with our many drink requests.

Not sure when we'll be back in that neck of the woods, but the Crofters Hotel was a hit and we'll be back!!! Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Thanks for the wonderful hospitality we received! The management was terrific and the rooms were quite comfortable. The food in the tavern was excellent and the prices were outstanding! Would definitely stay here again and would encourage all other travellers going to Northern England to book a night just for the atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobeyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garstang
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
5.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
7.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crofter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crofter's Hotel

Property: Crofter's Hotel
Address: Crofters Hotel Garstang By-Pass Road, Garstang PR3 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crofter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel, ideally situated for Preston, Lancaster, Blackpool and the Lake District. We have an on site free-house Tavern, with home cooked, award winning food, function room to accommodate conferences, weddings and parties and a team of lovely friendly staff. We are able to organise golf trips, cheese factory visits, walking tours and even skydiving. Although all our bedrooms are on the first floor and we don't have a lift, we are always happy to help with bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crofter's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crofters Hotel Garstang
Crofter's Hotel Garstang, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing