We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service”
Review of Crofter's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crofter's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad service”
Reviewed March 3, 2009

was unimpressed with girl on reception. ignored me whilst on her mobile. room was old and tired.
looks impressive on the outside, but inside isn't good. old fashioned. room was cold

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelondon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    50
    44
    21
    23
See reviews for
42
88
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Having recently attended a conference at Crofters hotel felt I must write a review to congratulate the staff and management on great customer service.
People are quick to complain but rarely praise things that go well.

From the start our delegates were welcomed, room already set as per previous correspondance to our needs.
Bedroom lists correct and all rooms spacious and clean wit free internet,

Dinner on first evening was casual in the adjoining oub and food first class.
breakfast next morning was punctual and hot.

Conference was great with timings and lunch all to a very high standard All our needs dealt with quickly

First class service and faciities will definatley return for all our conference meeting needs return

well done

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpoollass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

After having read the Hotel's own website description of the facilities we were quite disappointed with the Crofters Hotel.
Checking in we were greeted by "Dial Zero for attention", not very welcoming, response to this took ages.
The room cost us £75 for the one night, a long trek upstairs to find a dimly lit cold room with tired furniture, not really what we expected. On the plus side the room was clean, the small screened TV had Freeview and the coffee and tea making facilities were adequate.
Having read the Tavern menu in the room we decided to eat in the hotel, it took an age to get to order the food at the bar, but I must admit the meals arrive quite quickly. I ordered an 8oz beefburger with BBQ (something) my wife ordered a Barbequed rack of pork ribs with chips, both were frozen food dishes and the chips had also been frozen, this is despite the notice outside claiming home cooked food.
We were just staying for one night and decided not to make a fuss, however, we were asked 4 times if everything was ok, too much in my view, so I complained that the food was bland and frozen, I was assured that my comments would be passed on but feel sure that nothing would happen as a result.

The hotel boasts free wifi, I could not get a signal in my room at all, I was invited to either take a seat on the stairs landing or sit in reception, neither option offered a strong enough signal, I gave up.
On Sunday morning we went for the full English breakfast, one fried egg, one sausage, one slice of bacon, half a cold tomato and a few over cooked fried mushrooms, not what I would call full. The tea and coffee were weak, the toast was thin sliced bread, I have had far better for far less in cafes, the general quality of all of the breakfast items was low.
We eventually checked out, strangely we did not have to "dial zero" for attention or wait to pay the bill.
My only advice to the Crofters management would be to attend to the quality of the food and service. If they are going to continue to offer home cooked food then it would be good if they were to serve it, the area offers a multitude of good fresh ingredients, why not use them? Also as a side comment, please weight the "8oz burger" it was quite small and no doubt was underweight.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeoffPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garstang hotels

carlisle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Our party of 6 stayed over the weekend to attend the golf at Birkdale and we were so glad that we found the place. The food in the Brasserie was exceptional and the service was friendly and helpful. There is a lovely pub attached where the staff make you feel totally like a local. We had lovely refurbished bedrooms which were very large and comfortable. We will definately be back.

  • Liked — wonderful food
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank philipCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The manager/chef tried to dish up beef and pretend it was lamb! my partner, a butcher, knew it was beef straight away but the manager got very aggressive and shouted at us when we questioned it.
the bread was frozen solid, the wine was warm instead of chilled and took half an hour to get to us. we still had to pay £80 for an absolutely horrendous meal after such an angry and aggressive confrontation with the manager that we decided it would be safer and easier just to agree to pay part of the bill. he made me feel incredibly uncomfortable for the rest of the stay - so much so that when i scalded myself on the shower (because there was no where to hang the shower, you had to hold it and the shower handle was broken), i didn't feel able to go and talk to him about it...
the bath was also cracked in several places, the room apparently had just been redecorated but it was so poorly done it looks incredibly shabby. the room was freezing and i didn't manage to sleep at all.

overall an utterly depressing stay.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank suziechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICKSHIRE
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

On your website there were mixed reviews, but more good than bad, so we booked.
Room was clean, bed comfortable, but squeaky(just turning over!!) Decoration and furniture rather tired.
Having worked all day until 6pm and then driven for an hour to get there, we were ready for a drink and nice meal.
Food was a big disappointment.Both meals were with crusty bread, which was a small soft white roll! Ploughmans at £7.50 was a miniature pork pie(I think they are 4 for a £1 at Morrisons)
3 slices of "plastic" ham, full of water and tasteless.Mixed pickles, a spoon of picalilli.The cheese was good.A few green leaves, half a tomato, 2 strips of pepper and 4 slices of cucumber.When I complained I was told "they had been very busy due to local show and had to get what was left at the Supermarket".No price adjustment offered.
Back to the bedroom and the TV didnt work, no signal vailable I was told.
Breakfast was very good, but not somewhere I would recommend or return to.All staff very pleasant.

  • Liked — COMFY BED
  • Disliked — VERY THIN WALLS.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONYHIDEAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I took my husband to the new Brasserie at the Crofters for what I have to describe as the best meal ever. The steak was to die for and the brulee light and delicious. I treated him to a nights stay and glad I did. The bedroom had obviously been refurbished and had the most gorgeous headboard. The room was clean, dark and quiet - what more can you ask? I thought it was good value for money (£75 for a double room) and have booked again for New Year.

  • Liked — the restaurant - very classy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterTomdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garstang
1.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
5.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
207 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
7.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crofter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crofter's Hotel

Property: Crofter's Hotel
Address: Crofters Hotel Garstang By-Pass Road, Garstang PR3 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crofter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel, ideally situated for Preston, Lancaster, Blackpool and the Lake District. We have an on site free-house Tavern, with home cooked, award winning food, function room to accommodate conferences, weddings and parties and a team of lovely friendly staff. We are able to organise golf trips, cheese factory visits, walking tours and even skydiving. Although all our bedrooms are on the first floor and we don't have a lift, we are always happy to help with bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crofter's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crofters Hotel Garstang
Crofter's Hotel Garstang, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing