We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, staff very helpful”
Review of Crofter's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crofter's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, staff very helpful”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and i and our two year old son stayed here for three nights, and the staff were very helpful during our stay. Location excellent for all the usual suspects in the area - Blackpool, manchester, liverpool are all within an hour drive.
The rooms were clean and the family room was very sizeable, with the tv/dvd player being a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent.
The star of the place is the Crofters tavern, an absolutley brilliant pub grub place. Good for families, and couples alike.
Recommended and very reasonably priced

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbyboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    50
    43
    21
    23
See reviews for
42
88
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Rooms are clean and comfortable food & choice is very good, have stayed here twice now and will be back again, Good hosts and breakfast, great parking ideal for car club weekends!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The positives: well located; equidistant between Blackpool and Preston. The room was well-appointed with modern fittings and spacious bathroom, with an ample-sized bath.Comfortable bed, despite the well-pubicised squeak! Brasserie and pub on hand should you not be inclined to go further afield for food and drink. Breakfast was plentiful and served promptly.

The negatives: souless, tired, oldfashioned and at times narrow corridors, that led to the bedrooms. A television that worked then decided not to; the integrated DVD player would not accept a disc as it seemed to have one jammed in it already. On arriving in our room, it would've been classed as too hot for a Swedish sauna - only after opening the one window that did and going to the pub for an hour and a half, did the room cool down. A difficult to open wardrobe, what with the key being missing and to top it all off, a pair of a previous guest's tights were found in one of the drawers. What staff we encountered were friendly and efficient but their numbers were thin on the ground.

All in all, a bit of a bizarre experience. By no means a terrible hotel; a quiet and reasonably-well rested night was had. The hotel appears to have been renovated in parts, grossly neglected in others. At the price paid I cannot complain too much but a bijou character-heavy bed and breakfast could be found nearby, for a similar tariff, without too much effort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Manager at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. As a privately owned hotel we take all comments on board. We encourage guests to approach us at any time to give us an opportunity to rectify any issues, whilst realising that some guests prefer to go straight to review sites. We hope that you will return to the Crofters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Chose this hotel becuase of its quite location. Decor of room and bath room very tired and seen better days . Beds very squeaky. Breakfast quite good . Light bulbs missing in rooms and not replaced . Quite location for sleeping but beware the sueaky beds .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeks068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review. We have found that the majority of our guests have appreciated our modern refurbishment. The Crofters always strives to give good value based on its extremely competitive pricing structure.I thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garstang hotels

blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Our room had a nice four-poster bed, two TV's (one in the room and one in the bathroom), a nice bath and shower and complimentary tea and coffee making stuff. We only sampled the pub food, not the restaurant, but it was to die for! We both ordered separate dishes and were very pleased with what we had.

Service was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stopover or short break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to see a review sites being used in a positive way,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010

If you are thinking about coming here for a wedding, don't. This hotel lost the reservation for me, the bridesmaid (even though I was the second person to book, after the Bride and Groom), the owner refused to discuss it with me or accept responsibility for any fault, then accused me of spoiling the Bride's day. The owner was extremely rude and would not apologise, she even suggested that I had not booked in the first place and that I must have been a last minute addition to the guest list, despite standing in front of her in my bridesmaid dress! There were no rooms left in the hotel and I could not join in with the full wedding celebrations as there was no where to stay, the owner had no thought for me or my young sister, we were basically just turned out on the street, we were two and a half hours away from home but the owner did not seem concerned or bothered at all. This is the worst example of customer service I have ever seen!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

we stayed on a Saturday night for a wedding and payed only £69 for the two of us in a huge room, including a full English breakfast! I know we're Southerners, but I didn't know prices like this still existed for a great little hotel.
Need to advertise themselves better as we found it difficult to find on internet, but then again the place was packed. - would be at the prices they charge.
Food was good and the pub has local ales. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JELLYBELLY19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for your comments. It is great to see that Trip Advisor is used in a positive way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garstang
1.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
5.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
198 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
621 reviews
7.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crofter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crofter's Hotel

Property: Crofter's Hotel
Address: Crofters Hotel Garstang By-Pass Road, Garstang PR3 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crofter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel, ideally situated for Preston, Lancaster, Blackpool and the Lake District. We have an on site free-house Tavern, with home cooked, award winning food, function room to accommodate conferences, weddings and parties and a team of lovely friendly staff. We are able to organise golf trips, cheese factory visits, walking tours and even skydiving. Although all our bedrooms are on the first floor and we don't have a lift, we are always happy to help with bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crofter's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crofters Hotel Garstang
Crofter's Hotel Garstang, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing