We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having just returned from a 3-day golfing break, I would just like to say how much we enjoyed our time at Garstang Country Hotel. The accommodation was very comfortable and quiet, the food was good, the staff were extremely attentive and friendly, and the golf course was in great condition. We had the added bonus of brilliant weather on this occasion, but have all agreed we will be back at some time in the future! Many thanks to all staff of both the hotel and golf centre who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for making our hotel your first review on TripAdvisor, we are so pleased we made it a good one. This is one for the staff room wall as I am sure all the staff will be pleased to read your comments.
The only disappointing aspect is we cant guarantee the weather for your next stay with us.
Thank you again for your kind words.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    117
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
106
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way home from Scotland. It is nice and quiet, as there is a golf course attached so plenty of green space. It is quite modern and the bedrooms were large and spacious. We always have a superior room, so the standard ones may have been smaller. We ate in the restaurant where the food was average, I suspect a lot of it was bought in ready prepared. My only complaint was that people weren't shown to a table at breakfast so you weren't sure whether you had to wait or just find a table for yourself. There was a good selection of cereals and muesli that you could make up yourself with lots of dried fruit. However, it fell between two stools as it was supposed to be self service but there were no plates available and the staff had to get a plate and put on what you wanted. The cooked breakfast was very ordinary and you had to do your own toast which ended up burnt at the edges. The staff just seemed to stand around. But it was generally OK and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra for a superior or executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pleased you would choose us again.
I am sorry you were not greeted when arriving at breakfast we will look at this to improve for the future. For the benefit of Tripadvisor users and for your peace of mind I can assure you that all food is prepared in house and using the best local ingredients I am sorry that on this occasion we didn’t exceed expectations. As we like to serve our cooked breakfast on warm plates for breakfast, and do not yet have the facility to provide warm plates straight to our guest we serve this part of our breakfast this also helps ensure our guests are served quickly and buffet items are refreshed. We have only recently introduced the self service toast as feedback told us our guests felt rationed when being served, we have had teething problems in getting the settings right for the level of browning but think we have got it about right now.
Thank you for your comment about the rooms, all of which are identical in their quality of fixtures and are all the same size, you can rest assured that whatever room you book with us they are all ‘Superior’ standard.
Thanks again for your review and hope you find my response helpful.
Kind Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

just returned from a golf holiday with 27 friends , the staff are all first class the food was good and my room was of a very good quality ,this was our second visit and we are sure to return the golf coarse needs a little upgrading but have played on worse

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities, the staff will be thrilled to here them called "First Class". I hope you will contact us direct with your recommendations for the course but rest assured the green-keepers are always upgrading, I believe in the last few years they have added countless meters of additional drainage, moved 3 tees and built a practice green. Those are just what I know about, thankfully the greens are in championship condition and ready for some sun this summer. Fingers crossed.

Thanks again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at Garstang en route to Scotland and were delighted with the welcome received and the overall appearance of the Hotel. Room was clean & quiet and everything worked in it.
Had dinner in the bar which was quiet and again clean and tidy and there was a good selection of typical "Pub Grub". We could have eaten in the restaurant which had a different menu but the bar meals were adequate for our needs.
Breakfast was served in the bar and again there was plenty of it and the staff were polite and attentive.
All in all excellent value for money with the added attraction of on-site golf for those that do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HassocksOldfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for you review, I am pleased you found us excellent value for money and enjoyed the service of our staff and appearance of the hotel. I hope you will find yourself visiting the North West again and hope we can again be your choice of hotel.

Kind regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a fantastic time at a friends wedding excellent service and considering the massive choice guests get you would think someone would have complained about the food but there wasn't one. The staff were really well turned out and well spoken, each one was polite and considerate to mine and my families needs. The function room has its own bar own bathrooms and own floor so you didn't feel like you were interfering in the hotel side of the business. great grounds which should make for some cracking photographs, very peaceful ambeince to the whole hotel and although it was a cold day the hotel was lovely and warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayb471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We believe we offer our guests some things you cannot get at other venues and it is rewarding for us all when guest note these in a review. I will put your review on the staff room wall so all the staff get to see their efforts are noticed.
Thanks you again for your review
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent four nights in the hotel and found it very friendly and charming. It is a little dated but very clean. We were here to tour the country side around the Lancashire area. The breakfast was good and cooked to order and the dinner meals were quite good. We will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. After four nights with us and being a seasoned reviewer I am sure TripAdvisor users will find your review helpful.
We are very grateful for your complimentary words and will look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Lancashire.
Kind Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A well positioned hotel to the M6 if journeying to Scotland. Clean room, nice big comfortable double bed and huge towels. Food well cooked and reasonably priced. Good breakfast but the golfers may put people off wanting a quiet start to the day. Shame the view over the countryside and golf course is dominated by a wind turbine. Purpose built hotel that is functional rather than aesthetic but it serves a purpose. Would use it again as a stop over for one night.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3, quiet near to reception and no stairs or steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We like you believe we have a wonderful location and convenient stop over point for long journeys, thank you for sharing this and your other compliments with TripAdvisor users. We have grown to like the wind turbine but understand that they are not to every ones taste, unfortunately they are becoming a dominant part of the UK countryside, on the positive side we have rooms that look out over the gardens instead. Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garstang
4.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
6.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
6.5 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Address: Bowgreave Drive, Garstang PR3 1YE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat into the Lancashire countryside and enjoy the benefits of a family owned purpose built country hotel which is small enough to care but large enough to deliver on your expectations. Our central location ensures that our guests can enjoy all that the Northwest has to offer. With 33 well equipped bedrooms, lounge, restaurant, brasserie, 18hole golf course and floodlit driving range we can accommodate and cater for most needs with a warm personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre England
Garstang Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing