We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Pub - In a Good Way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
out rawcliffe
Level Contributor
209 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub - In a Good Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nostalgia in abundance at this traditional pub/ hotel. Loved it. It was like going back in time. Cosy country bar, small dining room with table cloths and comfy chairs. Good menu and specials
board, good choice to suit most tastes. I had soup and a main course with coffee for about £18 but there was lots of cheaper things to choose had I wanted to. Portions not skimped and it was delicious. No room for a pudding. Friendly staff.
So much better than the "trendy " pubs in the area.
Would I go back? Oh yes!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Arrived New Year's Day at 3pm had booked table for 7 people ther was about 4people in had a couple of drinks and asked if we could see the menu wish we hadn't we had a choice of burger or pizza or gammon or a salad asked if there was a special board they said yes but when we ordered must of the specials had sold out my partner settled for beef and ale pie with seasonal veg he got about 8 sugar snaps that is not seasonal veg ihad a black pudding turnover starter which came out the smallest pastry parcels you have seen thr rest of the family had a burger but said it was just a burger in a bun nothing special our total bill was 148.99 pounds but we will not be rushing to go back need a bigger choice menu with cooked meats

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Got to be one of the best in Garstang - great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was extremely busy as it was Christmas but the 4 of us felt like there was lots of room. The service was friendly and attentive and the food came out quickly (not too quickly!). The Gammon & lamb were excellent and we were very impressed with the décor, sometimes places in Garstang can look a bit drab, but this place was warm, clean and comfortable. Highly recommend taking older people there as good parking at the back, good light for those with bad eye sight and spacious enough to hear yourself think. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire_Freckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best pub food in Garstang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Royal Oak is a great place to eat excellent food in pleasent surroundings. To me an oldie worldie pub spotlessly clean and well managed with lovely staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I had a day out to Garstang with a friend on Thursday 28 November and, as usual when we're in Garstang, we had lunch at the Royal Oak. We both had sandwiches (1 chicken and 1 ham), with salad garnish. They were excellent, and I finished off with Sticky Toffee Pudding, with toffee sauce and icecream - wonderful!!! Very efficient, friendly staff, in a lovely olde-worlde pub - highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

 
Garstang, Lancashire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing