We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok.....”
Review of The FIG Tree

The FIG Tree
Ranked #9 of 9 things to do in Garstang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The FIG Tree; the world's first international Fair Trade Visitor Centre located centrally in the world's first Fair Trade Town. The people of Garstang voted for their unique status at a public meeting in April 2000 and since then over 1,000 Fair Trade Towns in 23 countries worldwide, including London, Paris, Rome, Madrid, Brussels, Copenhagen, Oslo, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Vancouver and Wellington in New Zealand have all followed in Garstang's footsteps.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok.....”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a coffee and cake but with two young children and no baby change facilities it was a bit of a struggle when the youngest needed it. The coffee was ok, the cake (waffle) was ok'ish but my children loved the ice cream. If you want to learn about Garstang it's a good place to start but if you want a brew in a relaxing atmosphere this isn't it. The office building decor and harsh office lighting are not what you want to relax in.

The staff may be volunteers (not sure!) but if you don't want to be there don't volunteer, a smile costs nothing!

Helpful?
Thank Hunny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treat”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a lovely cafe, and a true 'find'. The coffee was delicious and so was the home-made soup. My daughter who accompanied me, said it was as nice as my own home-made tomato and basil. Our dog was allowed to accompany us and he too enjoyed a treat from the friendly staff. The decor was light, airy and modern and we'll definitely be going again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on a rainy day. Had coffee and a toastie both of which were very good. Not sure why other people on here have said the decor was uninviting - the cafe is very welcoming and spacious, the toilets are in the old council area and so were the usual council style but were clean and functioning.
The cafe is also dog friendly. I will definitely be going back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Clean and Fresh”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe is a delightful welcome to the smaller let town of Garstang.

As the first FairTrade town in the UK, to have such an "ethical" cafe is only proper. The food is wholesome, fresh and ethically sourced.

It has a lively atmosphere and is an oasis of peace. Well done on such a wonderful venture which is both a pleasure to visit whilst at the same time knowing you are doing some good by supporting ethical trading,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bosco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fig finder at Garstang”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a reasonably priced cafe, with discovery/meeting room upstairs. Although I've only been to the cafe. It is well situated, close to the car park, with a short walk to the river , which also is an enticing part of the visit.
The Fig Tree Cafe is well presented and accessible for all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The FIG Tree also viewed

Garstang, Lancashire
Garstang, Lancashire
 
Garstang, Lancashire
 

Been to The FIG Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing