We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Garstang
Post
Inbox
Search

“***AVOID AVOID AVOID***”
Review of Th'owd Tithe Barn

Th'owd Tithe Barn
Ranked #2 of 3 Quick Bites in Garstang
Price range: $1 - $18
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dating back as early as 1710, The Tithe Barn is a charming and characterful inn situated in the bustling market town of Garstang, adjacent to the River Wyre. Originally a post medieval tithe barn for storing grain and corn, the pub today offers a large range of high quality dishes alongside extensive portfolio of cask conditioned ales, fine wines, spirits and continental bottled beers. Our Head Chef and his team at the Tithe Barn have carefully sourced the best of this season's produce to ensure everything on our menu is grown, reared, caught, picked or churned by one of our local food suppliers within a twenty mile radius. We have sourced quality, fresh ingredients from the best local producers to lovingly create these dishes for you. So relax, make your choice and enjoy!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited this establishment for a number of years as we have family from garstang.
Unfortunately i am led to believe it has changed hands, I have to say it is appallingly bad,the food which we had was disgusting, under cooked veg, raw meat and a complete waste of money, prices are ridiculous and the atmosphere has been destroyed, the staff are under educated and extremely rude.
I requested to speak to management and this fell on deaf ears, after speaking to a few friends in the area they all agree, and advised to avoid.

Please don't waste your money.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank O9079VGsamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connector12168317790, Owner at Th'owd Tithe Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am slightly at a loss as to a number of discrepancies in your review.

You said the pub lacks atmosphere where we have background music playing, an open fire, and decor which has just received a £100k cash injection in September.

As regards to your comments about the vegetables being undercooked, that is down to personal preference. Undercooked meat will NEVER leave our kitchen. All meat is probed before going out to reach the safety temperature required. We follow the safer food, safer business policy in line with procedures set out by the local authority.

Prices are down to each persons perception and affordability, and we are in line with all the other pubs in the area and are actually cheaper on certain products.

I find your comments about my team being uneducated inappropriate, and highly inaccurate and they have received training wether it be in-house or by external assessors.

There is always a duty manager available to speak to on site, so I find it hard to understand why no one brought this to there attention.

If you had called or emailed a member of management, we could have tried to resolve this differently.
Unfortunately this day and age, people tend to take to social media to vent There frustration.

I am sorry you feel that that your experience was below standard and not up to our strict standards.

We wish you all the best

Andrew- Business Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 635 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2019

I would just like to thank andrew and his team at the thithe barn Garstang for fantastic Christmas the food served was of the highest standard presentation excellent and taste amazing the starters mains and sweets all so tasty the young staff were so helpful kind and friendly nothing was too much trouble the staff were organised and efficient thank you so much for making such a good Christmas the atmosphere was so nice well done everyone you all worked so hard we will definitely be back

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Mhfun68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connector12168317790, Owner at Th'owd Tithe Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your day with us. And what a lovely day it was too. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Best regards

Andrew & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

We have just had the most fantastic Christmas dinner at the Tithe Barn in Garstang ,the food was absolutely superb the staff where so friendly and helpful. The pub was so christmassy . The roaring log fire was very nice too. Yes we put the car reg in the terminal and have never had any problems so far. So thanks every one we will definitely be back ,cheers

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sp1bigred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019

The food, staff etc is very good. Unfortunately even if you put your car registration number into their machine they may still fine you £60.00 as they did me, SO BEWARE

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KrisConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019 via mobile

An excellent range of food and drink! Loved the views of the canal out of the window and the staff were really friendly and helpful! I like the medieval style too! Would recommend! 5/5

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank TravelingSieve101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Th'owd Tithe Barn also viewed

 
Garstang, Wyre District
Scorton, Lancashire
 
Garstang, Wyre District
Garstang, Wyre District
 

Been to Th'owd Tithe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing