We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food special requests with food all met”
Review of Th'owd Tithe Barn

Th'owd Tithe Barn
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Garstang
Price range: $1 - $18
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dating back as early as 1710, The Tithe Barn is a charming and characterful inn situated in the bustling market town of Garstang, adjacent to the River Wyre. Originally a post medieval tithe barn for storing grain and corn, the pub today offers a large range of high quality dishes alongside extensive portfolio of cask conditioned ales, fine wines, spirits and continental bottled beers. Our Head Chef and his team at the Tithe Barn have carefully sourced the best of this season's produce to ensure everything on our menu is grown, reared, caught, picked or churned by one of our local food suppliers within a twenty mile radius. We have sourced quality, fresh ingredients from the best local producers to lovingly create these dishes for you. So relax, make your choice and enjoy!
1 review
“Excellent food special requests with food all met”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Much improved from previous visits.food was ace. The staffand new manager very pleasant. Good polite service and nice lolocation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whyeyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    111
    51
    50
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greater manchester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very satisfied with food and service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Called for lunch with my wife 12/9/13 .We always enjoy lunch here when visiting Garstang and this time it was still superb .Batterd Haddock for me and smoked ham sandwich for my wife.My wife would have preferred thinner slices of brown bread on her sandwich other than that good meal.Will continue to visit for lunch whenever we visit Garstang.

Cronkey

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cronkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Poor service - indelible 'gourmet burger' - stale bread - nice location but seriously needs attention would have given no stars if I could

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kidsontrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worst food I've ever attempted to eat”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the Tithebarn this afternoon with work colleagues for lunch and had, without doubt, the worst food I've ever eaten. I shouldn't use the word 'eaten' really, as the chargrilled Cajun chicken sandwich I ordered was actually inedible. The chicken, if that's what it was, was so hard it could've been used to knock nails into a wall.

The inedible food also took an age to arrive, although one wonders why considering it was so obviously microwaved. On a final note, I wouldn't recommend microwaving frozen chips as they tend to still remain frozen in the middle. Genuinely terrible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worst food I've ever eaten”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visited the Tithebarn this afternoon with work colleagues for lunch and had, without doubt, the worst food I've ever eaten. I shouldn't use the word 'eaten' really, as the chargrilled Cajun chicken sandwich I ordered was actually inedible. The chicken, if that's what it was, was so hard it could've been used to knock nails into a wall. The inedible food also took an age to arrive, although one wonders why considering it was so obviously microwaved. On a final note, I wouldn't recommend microwaving frozen chips as they tend to still remain frozen in the middle. Genuinely terrible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Th'owd Tithe Barn also viewed

 
Garstang, Lancashire
Garstang, Lancashire
 
Scorton, Lancashire
Garstang, Lancashire
 

Been to Th'owd Tithe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing