We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farmer Parrs is better”
Review of Old Holly Farm

Old Holly Farm
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Holly Farm is a working dairy farm, located just north of Garstang on the main A6. The farm also has a small visitor attraction on site, with an indoor soft Playbarn with café area, traditional stone courtyard Café, Farm Shop and an open farm. Coolcow Ice cream is made on site using the Old Holly farms cows own milk. Visitors are able to watch the cows being milked at 4.30pm daily from the dairy viewing gallery. The farm is open 9am - 5pm, all year round (closing Christmas Day, Boxing Day, 27th December and New Years Day only). Entry to the open farm and car parking is free (exc. December), there is an admission charge of £4 per child to the indoor soft play. Please note there is a small entrance fee to the farm during December when the Reindeers come to stay. Picnics are not allowed on site. Please don't forget that Old Holly Farm is a working farm so visitors are reminded to use the hand wash facilities to keep safe. If visitors have any concerns please speak to the team at Old Holly Farm directly. The farm also offers children's parties and school visits. Please visit the farms website for details on any special events, half term activities and for further information. .
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Very tidy little grounds but lacking in content . The farm and the animals is all we came to see, the animals looked happy and well looked after and a good amount of enrichment was seen.
The fact boards located near the animal enclosures also a good idea and very informative, I think all f the larger cows where out at grass. The chickens looked like they live a life of leisure as they are all pretty chunky !
We did not eat the cafe as we did not have time and the prices seems abit much. I was tempted to buy a bottle of chilli sauce but again cheaper online.
All in all a nice "little" farm . Not suitable for a day out though farmer parrs on the A585 near fleetwood has much more to offer the visiting guests but it does also charge admittance which is well worth it.

Thank Chadlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to read your comments about our animals and the standards which we work hard to deliver. We have always tried to protect the free entry and car parking, as we feel this offers great value for a family day out. We will certainly take your feedback on board regarding the size of our offer as we move forward as a business. We're very lucky in Lancashire to have some other great local attractions, which are all different in their own way and all worth a visit.

Thanks again for the review, and hopefully you'll plan a visit to us again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play barn"
in 44 reviews
"ice cream"
in 34 reviews
"soft play area"
in 14 reviews
"cows being milked"
in 9 reviews
"per child"
in 8 reviews
"free entry"
in 10 reviews
"keep an eye"
in 6 reviews
"my son"
in 12 reviews
"few times"
in 8 reviews
"small children"
in 7 reviews
"fantastic value"
in 4 reviews
"baby calves"
in 4 reviews
"home made"
in 8 reviews
"delicious cakes"
in 3 reviews
"lovely place"
in 10 reviews
"milking shed"
in 3 reviews
"animal area"
in 3 reviews
Filter

175 - 179 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great place to visit with a toddler. visited today with my 18 month old grandson and he loved seeing all the animals. Calves ,lambs, chicks ,rabbits, pigs, donkeys,hens and even alpacas.The animals are well kept and there are lots of hand washing stations around the farm. Best of all entry and car parking are free.there's a small free outdoor play area and some small sit on tractors to ride.The soft play area is well maintained and my grandson had a great time in there - there is an entry fee of £4 per child for this area. Please note you are not able to take your own food into the farm - which seems fair enough as it's free to park and enter. The farm cafe however serves good quality food at reasonable prices.Would definitely recommend a visit especially with toddlers as there's enough to keep them amused but it's not too big for them to walk around.

2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, its especially pleasing to read your comments about our animals and hand washing.

I'm not sure if you're aware, but we do have a Playbarn loyalty scheme where your 8th visit is free. If you would like to join just ask the team on your next visit and we'll get one set up for you.

Thanks again for the review, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My families first visit and what a lovely place. All the regular animals you would expect, with alpaca to. It was lovely for Andrew, 3 to get close up to them and hear their noises, we especially loved the big talking pig grinding its teeth. The calves and lambs were lovely. There is a fantastic play area and seating in the cafe with great views into it to watch your little ones running around. We only had drinks as we were having a meal out later, but the food looked great and we will certainly try it next time. A lovely little shop with lots of goodies.

Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your comments, and its great to hear Andrew enjoyed his day with us.

I'm not sure if you know, but we do run a Playbarn loyalty scheme, where the 8th visit is free, so if you are planning on visiting us regularly its definitely worth joining - just ask one of the team on your next visit and we'll get one set up for you.

Thanks again for the lovely post, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a working farm so if you're expecting Alton Towers, you're at the wrong place.

You could visit and spend nothing. It's free entry and free parking. We tend to eat there. The food is great. Not cheap but good quality.

Kids can see and touch calves, lambs, rabbits, chicks and pigs. All the animals are clean and the whole place is spotless. Plenty of handwashing facilities too.

There's also a small playground, kid's tractors and softplay. Softplay isn't free but again is clean and well-maintained.

There's a similar place off the M6, Lancaster area. Nowhere near as nice as this. A lovely morning out.

1  Thank MrsBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your post, and especially the comments about our team, food and cleanliness. We work really hard to look after what we have and as you said we are still a working farm, so its important that we promote a positive image.

I'm presuming you have a loyalty card for the Playbarn (8th visit is free)? If not, please ask the at the counter the next time you're in and the team will be happy to sort you out.

Thanks again, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited with my other half and 6 month old yesterday and it as very pleasant indeed, especially when its free.
Some of the animals werent in the paddocks due to bad weather....but its a working farm n animal welfare needs to be priority i guess.
The cafe is a bit on the pricey side for meals (but the attraction n parking are free so balances out) but we were just having home made cakes and tea which were very tasty and staff very helpful.
I'd say our baby is a bit young for it yet but will definitely return in summer when he can interact with the animals more, see more animals and go in the playbarn. We'll also come at milking time next time so we can watch.

Thank motty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I was really pleased to read your comments and its great to hear you enjoyed your visit. I'm sure when your little one gets going you'll get much more out of the visit.

Thanks for your comment about the paddocks, the welfare of our animals is of the upmost importance, as is the management of the land for the future months. During the winter / spring we do have less animals outside, as the ground is too wet. However the paddocks should be full in the next week ready for the half term.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Holly Farm also viewed

Garstang, Wyre District
 
Garstang, Wyre District
 

Been to Old Holly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing