We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty food - lots to love”
Review of Da Carmelo - CLOSED

Da Carmelo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Hearty food - lots to love”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Food was kind of rustic on the whole, but very very tasty. We had lovely parmigiana and nice creamy mushroom ravioli. For starters, I had caprese which was a delicious milky buffala mozzarella a little let down by under-ripe tomatoes. No room for pudding! We went on a Sunday night and the place was quite well occupied (although it's a huge restaurant). As vegetarians, we were well catered for - three dishes on the specials menu, plus regular menu pasta, risotto, and pizza. This means we'll be back soon. Usually, if there's only one or two vegetarian dishes you don't want to eat the same again too soon. Staff were nice too. Definitely gets my seal of approval.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    6
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not recommended poor quality and well over priced considering the quality!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Very poor service miserable and rude also one member of staff called my grandmother old!!!! Ordered anti pasta which arrived with luncheon meat on lovely little face in meat like a childs meal, olives non existant. Ordered steak for main which came out black ( burnt to a crisp ) tasted dreadful, asked for medium rare. Was replaced reluctantly once again the same!!! Rubbish all round. first review ever but I felt the need terrible experience.

Helpful?
Thank nato1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Lovely atmosphere. The staff were great with our daughter. It was later on in the evening and we called in on spec on the way home from a few days away, but nothing was any trouble for them. Great food, freshly prepared. One of the best Italian meals I've had outside of Italy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsACumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sardinia”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The manager was from Sardinia. Delicious Cannelonni, Tiramisu and Crema Catalana. Very authentic Italian. Good ambience and friendly staff.p

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gilljo073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Get Together”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

14 of us met up for a memorable meal - good company, excellent food, prompt service, wide choice on menu - it all looked delicious and everyone enjoyed the evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellembell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Carmelo also viewed

Garstang, Lancashire
Catterall, Lancashire
 
Garstang, Lancashire
March, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing